We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really understand service here”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The hotel is central, pleasantly furnished and everything works. Whilst one can be grateful for that it is not a particularly special characteristic. The special thing for us about Dukes Hotel is the quality of the service. This is not just being friendly and helpful, you can occasionally get that elsewhere too. Here it means anticipating requirements before being asked: enabling an early check-in, going outside to see if we had parked in a permitted area, suggesting alternatives to their own restaurant, asking if they could look after our bags and extending the validity of the parking permit on the final day.
Yes, you do have to climb a couple of flights of stairs and the hotel is expensive for what it is (this being Bath). But the level of service makes it all worthwhile – oh yes, and there is free wi-fi! All in all, an enjoyable stay – we would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel was right outside our normal price range, but having decide to splurge a bit we were glad we did so. It's wonderfully located for exploring Bath on foot, and has residents' car parking passes for on-street parking.

Our room turned out to be a mini suite, and was large, clean, comfortable and very well equipped.

Breakfast was really good, with ample 'continental' options, plenty of fruit and well-
presented cooked options. The menu had all the usual options, plus kippers!
This hotel does not have a lift, so visitors need to be able to tackle stairs. But that's an
inevitable consequence of staying in a lovely old townhouse (in fact more than one house,
I'm sure).

We thought that staying at Dukes was a really great experience, and complemented the impact of Bath itself.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Dukes Hotel a few weeks ago. Our room was beautiful and the staff, especially the Reception Manager (Mike Jackson), were incredibly friendly and helpful. In addition, the hotel is ideally located, a short distance from the station and some of the wonderful sites (the Roman Baths and Bath Abbey) in Bath. It's also an easy walk to restaurants and shops. We have traveled in North America, Asia, and to a number of cities in the UK. Some hotels make you feel like a number. The Dukes made us feel like we were important and that our stay mattered to them. When we return to Bath, we intend to stay at the Dukes once again. Simply wonderful!!

Room Tip: The Web site is very good. The Reception Manager, Mike Jackson, proved invaluable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watkins726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed in a charming room with a view of backyard gardens and Bath three flights up. It was clean and I felt quite safe. The historic Pulteney Street location is impressive. It is a pleasant 10 minute walk to Bath city gardens and center, but don't overlook the Holburne Museum at the other end of the street. I appreciated the free computer internet service so I could check my email and search for touring information. Iveta is a gracious, helpful hostess/receptionist. If you can do stairs and do not have mobility concerns, this is a great choice. The breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor if stairs are a problem. There is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here at the end of July on a business trip. On arriving we parked on the road & my colleague went in to get a permit, all of which happened quickly & with no fuss. On getting into the hotel I was shown to my room, the Montrose. The room was gorgeous, with a lovely wooden bed & lovely furniture, as well as a great view onto Great Pulteney Street. The room was very well equipped & I was really impressed. The only slight criticism I would have with the room is that there was no clock at all, which was a bit of a pain as my phone had run out of battery & I could not check the time. Also the television was digital but with an awful reception, all I could get was Dave, not BBC or ITV.

The staff were lovely & very welcoming & hospitable, service was great & the courtyard area really is lovely & secluded. It was in a great location for the centre of Bath. I loved this place & will certainly be going back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here overnight on a business trip to Bath and found the staff to be extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. The Richmond room, standard double, was on the top floor, not for the frail or short of breath, there is no lift. The room itself was very clean and tidy equipped with shower only, no bath. Smallish sized room but perfectly adequate for my individual needs. Good bed, good tele, unfortunately no real view from this room - more roof than anything. Breakfast VG and well cooked. I didn't use any common areas in the hotel. Parking was on the street outside with the use of a residents pass issued by the hotel booked in advance.

I would highly recommend this for in-town business stay for colleagues. However, if you are slightly disabled you would need to request a room on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We decided to visit Bath to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and chose Dukes Hotel because of the excellent reviews on this site. We booked a standard double room and I mentioned on booking through the hotel website that we would be staying on our anniversary.

We arrived at the hotel at 12pm after a short walk from Bath Spa train station (10 mins) to drop our bags off. We were greeted by Mike Jackson who was extremely welcoming and very sweet about our anniversary, and gave us excellent advice about exploring the city. We returned to the hotel to check in (after a brilliantly relaxing visit to the Thermae Spa) to discover that we had been upgraded to the Norfolk Suite on the ground floor. The room was beautifully decorated with gorgeous antique furniture and tasteful period decor. Mike had even arranged for champagne on ice in our living area! We were absolutely thrilled.

When we settled down for the night after eating out in the city centre we discovered that the bed was very comfortable and the bed linen of a very high quality. We could hear music playing quite clearly (presumably from the bar downstairs) and were concerned that it would disturb our sleep. The noise from the road was also bothering us, so we ended up closing the window. However, the music musn't have gone on long as we both got to sleep quickly and slept extremely well.

Breakfast in the Cavendish restaurant was of a very high standard- good quality with excellent service. We left our bags at the hotel after checking out while we did some more sight seeing. Our stay at Dukes was really delightful and a lovely way to celebrate our anniversary. Having been upgraded to a suite it really was good value for money based on the price we paid. We were very impressed with all aspects- extremely professional service (particularly from Mike), a beautiful, luxurious room and a great breakfast...what else could you ask for!

Room Tip: Norfolk Suite was beautiful. Possibly not right for a very light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bex876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £87 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing