We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic silver wedding break”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic silver wedding break”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I chose Dukes hotel because of the reviews here, and I have to say that it lived up to the billing. It was our silver wedding celebration, so we stayed in the fabulous Atholl 4 poster suite. What a room! Absolutely massive, and so full of character, and with a comfy, if very firm, bed. The staff were great, very friendly, and despite other reviews about the lack of portering, we were offered help with our bags both arriving and departing - useful as there is no lift. It's location is a real advantage, being so close to the centre of Bath that you can walk everywhere. The full English breakfast was well cooked, and well presented. Overall, a highly recommended hotel. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    190
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
181
826
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at Dukes Hotel. The room was great, very spacious, provided all the facilities for a comfortable stay.
The breakfast was superb, can't praise it enough. Apart from choice of cereals, pastry, juices, fruit there was an option of a cooked breakfast done according to your order.
Overall the service was exceptional, the staff was very welcoming and went out of their way to ensure our stay was great.
The manager also recommended places to visit (restaurants, shops and places of interest) which was greatly appreciated (as we only had a short stay in the city).
We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TatyanaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We had a most enjoyable two night stay in this elegant town house. The room was magnificent; the breakfasts lovely and the staff attentive. We thought it good value. It is in a good position in a lovely street and we shall certainly return if going to Bath again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We’re regular visitors to Bath and decided to stay at Duke’s because of its location - near to the centre of town but in a quieter area (unlike some of the more centrally located hotels).

Despite the absence of a lift (and although the stairs were hard work) we enjoyed the large bed/ sitting room high up in on the third floor and far enough away from the street not to be troubled by any noise.

Special mention to the staff at Dukes - without exception all very pleasant, welcoming and friendly.

We liked:
- location – a short walk to the centre of town
- large, quiet and well furnished sitting room/ bedroom
- capacious, comfortable bed
- tea and coffee making facilities
- plenty of drawer and hanging space
- friendly and welcoming staff
- excellent breakfasts
- internet facility in reception area
- 12:00 check out time and being able to leave our bags at the hotel for a couple of hours after checking out

We didn’t like:
- only being able to stay for three nights

Regretably we didn't get around to trying out the Hotel restaurant which we'll be making a point of doing the next time we're able to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany/UK
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The hotel is central, pleasantly furnished and everything works. Whilst one can be grateful for that it is not a particularly special characteristic. The special thing for us about Dukes Hotel is the quality of the service. This is not just being friendly and helpful, you can occasionally get that elsewhere too. Here it means anticipating requirements before being asked: enabling an early check-in, going outside to see if we had parked in a permitted area, suggesting alternatives to their own restaurant, asking if they could look after our bags and extending the validity of the parking permit on the final day.
Yes, you do have to climb a couple of flights of stairs and the hotel is expensive for what it is (this being Bath). But the level of service makes it all worthwhile – oh yes, and there is free wi-fi! All in all, an enjoyable stay – we would go again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel was right outside our normal price range, but having decide to splurge a bit we were glad we did so. It's wonderfully located for exploring Bath on foot, and has residents' car parking passes for on-street parking.

Our room turned out to be a mini suite, and was large, clean, comfortable and very well equipped.

Breakfast was really good, with ample 'continental' options, plenty of fruit and well-
presented cooked options. The menu had all the usual options, plus kippers!
This hotel does not have a lift, so visitors need to be able to tackle stairs. But that's an
inevitable consequence of staying in a lovely old townhouse (in fact more than one house,
I'm sure).

We thought that staying at Dukes was a really great experience, and complemented the impact of Bath itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Dukes Hotel a few weeks ago. Our room was beautiful and the staff, especially the Reception Manager (Mike Jackson), were incredibly friendly and helpful. In addition, the hotel is ideally located, a short distance from the station and some of the wonderful sites (the Roman Baths and Bath Abbey) in Bath. It's also an easy walk to restaurants and shops. We have traveled in North America, Asia, and to a number of cities in the UK. Some hotels make you feel like a number. The Dukes made us feel like we were important and that our stay mattered to them. When we return to Bath, we intend to stay at the Dukes once again. Simply wonderful!!

Room Tip: The Web site is very good. The Reception Manager, Mike Jackson, proved invaluable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watkins726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing