We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved our trip!”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Saved our trip!”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed for two nights in late January at the beginning of a 6week trip around the UK and Europe. Found our way here at the last minuet due to our booked accomodation being a disaster. But Mike and his team were brilliant. Could not speak more highly of them. The breakfast
was amazing and the rooms and location were perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Semily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    190
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
181
826
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This is a good-value, character hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Well worth the money and the climb up the stairs. One for the romantic winter break!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This hotel is centrally located, so you can walk everywhere, which we did. Very charming, nice breakfast in the morning. Located in a very nice area, as well. Only downside if there was one was that it was difficult to find parking in the area. There also isn't a lift, but that was ok with us.

Room Tip: We had a smaller room than our friends did, but ours was still a nice room. We had a lovely view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindylane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brugg
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We recently spent six nights at the Dukes Hotel, staying in the Somerset suite on the top floor. We have only praise for the hotel, our room, its location, and the staff.
When we arrived early in the afternoon and asked for a snack, tasty little sandwiches materialized in practically no time at all. We had an excellent dinner at the hotel restaurant one night. The hotel is close to Bath and yet in an quiet street. There was no noise to be heard from other guests and practically nothing from the street.
Mike Jackson the manager is the guiding spirit here, ably assisted by his second in command, the charming and efficient Lisa. He is knowledgeable about the many attractions of Bath. He made suggestions for excursions (with itineraries), recommended restaurants and pubs and was always at our disposal when we needed something. He also warned us to place the Residents' Parking Permit the right side up, so we had only ourselves to blame when we got a fine.
Any drawbacks? - Perhaps the 72 steps to the top - no lift but then this is a historic building. Or the sliding windows, which can only be opened a good ten centimetres - this may be a problem in a heatwave.
All in all an attractive and inviting hotel in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schilplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed for one night (saturday). The hotel is ideally situated for Bath centre literally a few minutes walk into the very centre of the city.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The room was nicely decorated. However when we retired for bed I noticed a rip in the pillow case. The pillows were terrible. Im not that fussy with pillows but these were awful. They were clearly very old and virtually solid. There was no give in them at all and they were lumpy. The last time I came across pillows this bad was in a backbackers hostel many years ago. The one pillow that wasnt solid was still lumpy and contained so little stuffing you could see through it!
We both woke up with stiff necks!

The complementary bottle of water hadnt been checked by person preparing the room as it was already used and was open with the seal broken. I know its not major stuff but sort of takes the edge off what would have otherwise have been a result of 5/5.

Breakfast lovely with great choice.

Room Tip: rooms on the front are very noisy when the pubs close but you are in a city centre so you have to ex...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vestas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have just spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. The building is lovely and the staff courteous & helpful.

The hotel is situated within a 10 minute stroll of the city centre but far enough out not to be noisy.

The breakfast was delicious with tasty bacon & sausages.

Room Tip: We had the Beaufort Suite on the first floor, it was very nicely decorated, was very spacious and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Duke's Hotel is simply beautiful. The rooms are exceptional and sumptuously decorated. It was a real treat. We were there only one night but enjoyed every minute. Breakfast is included with the room rate. It is conveniently located for the free walking tour of Bath as well as near shops and historic sites. The hotel provides a parking permit (for a small fee) so you can park on the street outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing