We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep going back to the best bargain in Bath”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stay regularly at Dukes, having tried other hotels of the standard in Bath. It wins out for its good value and the professionalism and warmth of its staff. Full breakfast included in the price; not tied to two nights minimum at weekends; having fresh milk for the tea and coffee making in the room, so, unlike other hotels you do not have to pay £5 plus for hot drinks to be brought to the room. Quiet and comfortable rooms and beautiful outlooks either down one of the most impressive streets in Bath, or else up to Prior Park.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bendico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

For those who like charm and comfort, this is a very good hotel. Well located only few minutes away from the centre of the city. Spacious suite very nicely decorated, comfortable bed, living area with a second tv set. Friendly staff. Water in the bathroom was not very hot, but still warm enough to take a shower.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tersparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed for a couple of days in December.
We stayed in a lovely suite (upgraded to 4poster) with large bathroom and separate sitting area. The room was nicely decorated and very clean and warm.
We took our little dog - they were very accommodating but you would never guess dogs were there (no hairs or smell).
Breakfast was in the restaurant in the basement and was a lovely choice of hot and cold.
The hosts were lovely and chatty and helpful with questions - very warm welcome. Handy permit given for parking on the street outside (£5 for stay).
Overall great stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The warmth of Dukes hospitality and the integrity of the welcome were shown by the staff always doing their very best to meet our wishes - which they did throughout, most successfully - the reception team, the cleaning staff, and the staff in the restaurant were all sensitively attentive to us. The well-appointed rooms are a true pleasure to spend time in, and the convenience of a fabulous restaurant just down some stairs was a treat - as ever. Nicely-situated both for muddy walks leading to good views of the city, as well as convenient for the spa, shops, restaurants, etc. Great shower, luxury toiletries, powerful central heating, and I always appreciate a hotel which even provides towelling-robes!

Room Tip: We have experienced three great rooms (out of three stays) - but do remember that where there are bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed here in the summer of 2011 and enjoyed our visit so much that we decided to squeeze in a return trip between Christmas and New Year 2011. On this occasion we opted for a four-poster room (the Atholl Suite) which we found to be very comfortable and relaxing.

As usual the staff in the hotel were all very welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

Nothing to add to our previous review other than to say that we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed a night in the Devonshire room. Unfortunately it was far from 5*. The shower screen was tatty and dirty, the bedroom which was due to be a twin was really a double, with ripped curtain, stained floor and not sparkling clean! On the upside the staff were friendly, helpful with the parking permit, and the breakfast was nice (though not fantastic). It was a quiet location and we weren't disturbed in any way. Overall, OK, but definitely a disappointment, not worth the money, and we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank YouAsked_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Would recommend hotel - nice atmosphere, helpful and attentive staff and well-located. Room and en-suite bath room were rather small though, plus on the third floor without lift. For that a bit pricey. Otherwise great.

Room Tip: "Bedford" is on the third floor without lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillsecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £88 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing