We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Three Star Stunner......”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed at the Dukes Hotel for just the one night in the Athol Suite, the room was absolutely lovely, very in keeping with the city of Bath and was just what we wanted. The reception was very warm and welcoming and the manager, Mike was a real pleasure to meet. The hotel was within walking distance of all the attractions in Bath and met all our needs. We only ate at the hotel for breakfast which was in the Cavendish restaurant which was in the basement of the hotel and could not fault it. In our opinion this hotel is definitely worthy of its three star status.

Room Tip: The best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBlueSky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

We had such a lovely time here, two nights weren't long enough! We were upgraded to an absolutely beautiful suite on arrival and the staff were very helpful. Perfect location too. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The Wellington suite was beautiful and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Less than a mile from the centre of Bath, lies this beautiful victorian hotel. Ozzing charm, elegance and romance in buket loads!

Would i return, - absolutely yes, would i reccomend this hotel, well if you want a warm welcome , your privacy respected, and a tasty full English breakfast, with uddles of elegance to boot; then head straight for this hotel and don't pass the oppotunity to stay in one of their clean large four poster suites.

Room Tip: Always pre - purchase a parking permit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cocoa1993795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

An XVIII th century house. Greatly maintained, extremely high ceilings. Big rooms. Beds are soft but no pain in the back *I am sensitive to that). A very good shower. Breakfast was not great. Vry few options to chose from the buffet and often underserviced. Manager and service extremely polite and service oriented. We tried to have dinner at the restaurant but could only find for us 5 *3 kids( preset menús at 50 or 60 pounds, or a bar with 20 rounds hamburguers. The Desk officer said several times that if w did not fancy the manu, we could have very good options...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed here in July for our wedding anniversary. We absolutely loved it! The staff were extremely helfpul, the hotel was beautifully and sympathetically decorated in keeping with its era - the location was ideal, very handy for the centre of Bath. Breakfast was lovely. If felt a very special place and can highly recommend it. Can't wait to return!
P.S. The bed was huge and the comfiest bed I've ever slept in!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was a great little hotel. Right in the centre of Bath - which worked well as we have a baby. We were able to go into town, look around and then come back for her naps.
Skip the breakfast - it's basic - enjoy one of the many cute little cafes instead.
They provide much sought after parking (on the street with a permit) for a very reasonable price.
The hosts are amazing, the room clean and the location fab.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panfarfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My girlfriend and I had high expectations of this place and we were no let down.it's a little gem although a bit hard to find so do yer homwork.Anyways parked up in the pouring rain and noticed a figure scurrying out from the hotel under the cover of an umbrella to our car.Mike gave us a permit and showed my fiancee inside while i parked close by.We were all soaking despite best efforts of Mike (great bloke- very "Mr. Hospitality " but there ain't one in every Hotel) .Great room nice bar did,nt do the restaurant eat at Hudsuns Steak House.Bath is a great City although a bit pricey !The stay was the staff at Dukes as they were all friendly and very welcoming.We will be back at Xmas - well done Dukes
and Mr.H !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £99 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing