We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have loved to have stayed at Christmas!”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Would have loved to have stayed at Christmas!”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We had booked for this Christmas a good three months ahead, but were informed in early November that the restaurant would be closed a few days later and not open over Christmas, meaning only a breakfast service would be available. This was understandably diasappoinitng as well as very odd, as there was no clear explanation what the reason was for the closure of the hotel's kitchen.

The hotel offered to pay for a taxi to a restaurant on Christmas Day, but we had been looking forward to the full Dukes experience, i.e. Christmas Day lunch in the hotel itself. When I asked if they would be able to provide anything to eat in the hotel on Christmas Day evening we were offered the option of ordering sandwiches the night before! Not quite the festive experience we had been looking forward to.

This was all extremely disappointing as up until this point the hotel staff had been extremely professional and helpful, but once the restaurant closure was decided it seemed they weren't interested any more. Hopefully they'll be able to provide more than just breakfast early in the new year.

We are now staying in The Abbey Hotel where the Trip Advisor reviews are nowhere near as good as Dukes, but at least we can have all our meals in the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetPeasSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Sweet Peas of Southampton,

Many thanks for your review and comments of November 2012. We are sorry that you chose not to stay at Dukes Hotel. After many years of operating as a full service hotel the decision was taken in late 2012 to close the restaurant. Considerable effort was taken to minimise the impact on those guests who had booked for the Christmas period. I am pleased to read that you found alternative accommodation. We trust that you enjoyed your stay in Bath and we very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you to Dukes in the future.
We pride ourselves on offering a unique range of bedrooms, complimented with a freshly prepared breakfast and helpful, friendly service
Once again many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    190
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
181
826
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The Duke has got everything you need in a hotel:

1. Great Service/Friendly Staff
2. Clean Room (with so much character/Georgian Style)
3. Excellent location (5-minute walk to the city centre)

Carrying heavy bags up the stairs could be a challenge, however it's worth it!
We stayed here for 3 days, breakfast was really good with a wide choice of food.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try requesting for a room with a view. e.g. Grafton Room in 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This hotel was expensive, although I doubt any good hotel in Bath would be anything else. I have to say that the service was first rate and very friendly. We had a suite which was very large, quiet and comfortable. The bath was enormous and soft fluffy towels provided. We had much needed relaxation so can't ask for more! We looked forward to returning to the hotel in the evenings as it was so homely. I can't say I have stayed in many hotels where I would say that.

The location couldn't be better and we found a parking space easily on a Friday. This was during the bad weather and flooding which meant the trains from the south west were not running but having said that Bath is very busy.

We loved the city and can't wait to return. I would highly recommend the individual service you get in a hotel like this and also the elegant surroundings. If you want all mod cons, everything perfect, it may not be for you but we like character and the facilities could not be faulted.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank justhadtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Lovely place!!

Arrived late afternoon to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist who showed us to our room. We were upgraded to the four poster suite which was very nice!!

Room was tastefully decorated with adequate amenities. No fancy things like iPod dock that you may expect from a luxury hotel but wouldn't really fit in with the style of the place.

I can't comment on breakfast as we opted to eat out in the morning.

Parking was a bit tricky as we arrived when there was a rugby match in which was right behind the hotel! However, once the game had finished there were spaces nearby. Don't forget to preorder your parking permit!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Sometimes you come across people who genuinely seem to want to help you and make you smile, and Mike Jackson at Dukes Hotel is one of those rare people. From the very first contact, when I tentatively enquired about a parking permit (no problem at all) to the last, this gentleman did everything he could to make our stay in Bath even more pleasant than a break from the children could be anyway. Full of advice about the best shops, eateries and experiences Mike made sure we got the most from our short break. The hotel is ideally suited for exploring the town, beautifully and elegantly furnished, sumptuous robes and comfortable beds. The whole team at Dukes Hotel were welcoming, friendly, professional and a pleasure to deal with. I would definitely come back and stay here should I ever be in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

After staying at the Dukes Hotel in Bath, there is no other choice for me. Great location, very nice rooms and the nicest staff members. A very warm hotel where you feel home away from home.

Hector Moreno
Madrid, SPAIN

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I have been meaning to leave a review for a while but hadn't got round to it. So here it is!

Great staff, really nice rooms and a great location. It would be my first choice hotel if I was to go back to Bath.

We were upgraded to an Oriental style room which was full of character and a good size. We also got free parking right outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 804Chris555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing