We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend!”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend!”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel for a 2 night anniversary treat this weekend. I booked the hotel direct due to the amazing reviews I had read on here and I wasnt dissappointed.

The hotel is in a great location very central, only 10 minutes walk to the centre of all the main sights, we didnt need the car at all.

We had a double standard room which was very nice and spacious, I only wished I had booked a room now with a bath as the standard room only has a shower, so if you like a bath upgrade your room.

The Staff and owners Carol & Chris could not of been more welcoming and helpful and I would have no hesitation in highly recommending the Dukes Hotel, we hope to return very soon.

The breakfast was lovely plenty to choose from and the perfect start to your morning ahead.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for writing a smashing review and we too look forward to welcoming you back! We are fortunate to be so conveniently located on Great Pulteney Street, you are correct, a superb location, though not one we may really take credit for – thank you anyway!
Our guest house relies on a small team. We will share your appreciation with Mike, the breakfast team and our wonderful chambermaids. We offer a range of rooms from ‘compact’ to ‘grand’ with corner showers, walk in showers and deep luxurious baths. When you next visit we will ensure you choose one with a bath!!! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    185
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
175
802
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had a family get together in this lovely hotel - we took six rooms in total, including two suites to accommodate children, and all were beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff and owners could not have been more helpful - we had asked for a private room in which to have breakfast en famille so they gave us a stunning red, Georgian room with a big table set for the 12 of us. We had our own waitress for the whole meal and champagne was laid on, on the house, to help celebrate my mum's birthday! Everything was done to make us feel welcome and comfortable and I can honestly say it was a most memorable weekend, thanks, in no small part, to the Duke's Hotel and it's owners and staff.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so ask for a ground or first floor room if you want to avoid climbing the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you ever so much for writing your kind and complimentary review. We all thoroughly enjoyed being involved with the wonderful birthday celebrations. All three of your family generations filled Dukes with happiness and laughter – so our thanks to you all! The ‘Kent’ is indeed a grand room, wholly befitting the importance of a major family celebration. May I assure you that the entire team are aware of your review and your thanks are warmly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

My husband booked this hotel as a 2 night weekend birthday treat for me. (We left the children with their grandparents). We were upgraded on arrival to a fabulous suite; totally un-expected and very much enjoyed. Mike, on reception, was charming throughout our stay. He even phoned from home, to make sure the flowers he'd organised on behalf of my husband, had arrived from the local florist. The hotel is in a fabulous location. Very central, yet just far enough along the street for a brief stroll and to walk off dinner at the end of an evening in town.
I have already recommended Duke's to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an appreciative review. All our rooms are unique and have a great deal to offer – however we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the suite. Pleased that we were able to assist your husband in making it a ‘fabulous weekend’ for you both, after all it is what we are here for!! Thank you for your recommendation and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I visited Bath this past weekend for a lovely short break. We left our kids at home and had a very nice, romantic stay at Dukes Hotel. It was in a great location and we were able to walk to all the main sights. We had a lovely suite, which I would highly recommend. The breakfast very nice and Carol and Chris were quite accommodating.

I would highly recommend the hotelq.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an appreciative review. We are delighted that you enjoyed a relaxing and romantic break here with us at DUKES. Being located in the midst of the magnificence of Great Pulteney Street offers guests a first hand experience of the style and grandeur offered within a substantial Georgian property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I have stayed at The Dukes a few times now and have always enjoyed our stay...and this time with The New owners Carole and her husband (sorry didn't get his name) it was just as enjoyable.The new owners went out of their way to be pleasant and the owner even gave up his parking slot so that our friends who joined us had a space close to the hotel...( the hotel has its own permits...so no worries with parking). The rooms are beautifully decorated with individual themes in each room. They seem very spacious, with all the facilities and extras you could want. The staff are always very friendly and efficient and are even there with a smile when we returned from a late evening out. I would thoroughly recommend this lovely Hotel which by the way is a few minutes walk from the Centre of Bath....Perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMasonsofLymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you for your tremendous review. I think you have ‘hit the nail on the head’. DUKES is a house, home, guest house…..call it what you will, a destination for guests, friends, customers ‘old and new’. We are custodians of a fabulous Georgian property and along with our talented team take great pleasure in the happiness sharing this grand and elegant property may bring. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back to Bath. Many thanks........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Two very comfortable nights at this hotel.
We were given a parking permit on arrival by the reception,which was great as parking in Bath is not easy.
Our bedroom was a bit small but very comfortable,no bath but a big shower and lovely towelling robes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many guests share their appreciation over the parking permits; abandoning the car for a couple of days and being able to walk freely around Bath from a central location helps make it all so easy and relaxing. We offer a range of bedrooms and bed sizes with options on showers or baths. We hope that on your return to Bath you will allow us to better match one of our unique rooms to your expectations. Pleased that you found the check in ‘perfect’ and enjoyed the indulgence of the complimentary big white bathrobes. Thank you for your generous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We returned to Dukes for a 4 night stay over Christmas. We love the hotel & the staff. It's also perfect for us as we have a small dog & Dukes permits dogs, which is a rarity in Bath!
We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Bath.
The ownership had recently changed & the new owners are lovely & welcoming. As are all the staff, who they have kept on. Nothing is too much trouble.
Incredibly comfortable & spacious rooms (we have stayed in 'Buccleuch' twice). Breakfasts are fantastic. Great location, very close to Pulteney Bridge, but the hotel remains nice & quiet.
See you again soon!

Room Tip: Buccleuch Room. First floor. Masses of space with separate sitting room. No street noise. 4 post...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Duchess_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your helpful and thoughtful review – kind and appreciative comments give all of us a great boost. We also like the Buccleuch; as you so rightly say a quiet and easy room to live in for a few days. Pleased that you both had such an enjoyable stay and relieved to hear that you found everything to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you all here once again – if not over the summer then for next Christmas. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing