We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service and value”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Excellently located, less than five minutes walk from the centre of Bath, on the corner of Great Pulteney Street and Edward Street.
Animated, friendly welcome on arrival, and accommodating service throughout our stay which we couldn't fault. Carole and Christopher, Duke's new owners, were friendly and very happy to stop and chat, whilst obviously working hard to fine tune the service the hotel offers, including the new (excellent) website, a new booking system etc.
Our four-poster suite on the first floor was quiet, warm, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast, included in the room rate, was delicious; cooked to order using good quality ingredients, and served alongside a well executed continental offering of pastries, cold meats, cereals and juices.
Dukes, almost uniquely among Bath's independent hotels, does not enforce a two-night booking policy at weekends, is dog-friendly and provides a residential parking permit at no additional cost for the length of your stay - noteworthy fillips to a gem of a hotel.
We will certainly return, and recommend Dukes to family and friends without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in Buccleuch, a four- poster suite on the first floor. Quiet, spacious, with high ceilings...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for writing such a generous and considered review. We are indeed blessed by a superb building in a most wonderful location. The Buccleuch is a tremendous room as it offers glimpses of Great Pulteney Street and Edward Street, though due to its location within the property is tremendously quiet and peaceful. Our website is new and we have endeavoured to ensure that guests are aware both of the magnificence of a Georgian property though also of her shortcomings; no lift; rattling sash windows and impenetrable walls for Wi-Fi in some rooms! Once again thank you for an insightful and constructive review – we have an excellent team who share a commitment to offering the best experience that Dukes is able to deliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
There are newer reviews for Dukes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

I've just spend a couple a days at Dukes for my birthday and it was just an excellent experience. Everyone is friendly - when they found out it was my birthday they upgraded our room and gave us a bottle of champagne to celebrate! - helped us to find and book a restaurant for the night. Despite being a bit cold, the hotel is cosy and has a wonderful fireplace in the reception.
Wonderfull experience that I hope that I can repeat soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebNK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for writing such a supportive review. We are delighted when guests choose to be at Dukes for a ‘celebration’. The open log fire, high ceilings and Georgian décor are greatly enhanced by the excitement of a birthday, anniversary or family gathering. Pleased that you enjoyed the room and we look forward to sharing a future birthday with you! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Couldn't have wanted for a better service, accommodation or location. Excellent welcome from Mike who clearly loves his job, and the owners were on hand to offer a superb service. Do not hesitate to book as we certainly won't in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcberryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for your very generous review. Delighted that Mike was able to make you feel so welcome and at ease. Thank you for your high praise and recommendation. As a team we look forward to being able to welcome you back to Bath and Dukes in particular! Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

I recently recommended this hotel to a colleague, having never stayed in the hotel myself I found it through trip advisor. Last weekend we spent 2 days working from the Dukes and found the new owners with their team of excellent staff very helpful. The hotel feels warm cosy and welcoming and certainly follows in the tradition of being a home from home.

The breakfast holsome and well presented and please to say the chef passed my litmus test with a perfectly poached egg.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our intention is to offer a warm, welcoming and accessible guest house location close to the very heart of Bath. Delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you had an enjoyable and successful stay. Thank you for your comments over our breakfast, our full time breakfast chef takes enormous pride in each and every breakfast that leaves the kitchen. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Despite the weather being bitterly cold, the hotel was lovely and warm. Our room was very comfortable and contained everything we needed. Breakfast was cooked to order and was fresh and hot - very nice indeed. We had never been to Bath before and Mike the Reception Manager gave us some great information and help in finding good restaurants and shops. Overall, could not fault and will certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review – we appreciate your kind words!!
On colder days we always like to welcome guests with a lovely warm open log fire. We feel there is little more appealing than a crackling wood fire after an enjoyable walk out in Bath. Great that your room was a success and that we provided you with everything you needed – we are always happy to entertain individual requests. Our professional breakfast chef is passionate about his craft and will appreciate the recognition – thank you. Delighted that Mike helped you both have a truly enjoyable time here in Bath. We look forward to seeing you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This place was an amazing little find. I booked last minute for my Partners birthday and just wanted somewhere cheap but beautiful.
the price was amazing and it included a freshly cooked hot breakfast that you choose off a menu.
and also coffee,tea, juice and a cold buffet was included!!! the waitress and chef were doing an amazing job in a full dining room to make sure everyone was fed and had a hot pot of coffee or tea and toast.
reception manager mike was friendly, informative and made use feel at home and went out of his way to help us celebrate my partners birthday.
we also bumped into the new owners who were lovely and then came to our room with a box of chocolates and two brandys for the birthday boy!
the room was absolutely beautiful as we got upgraded to the four posted bed suite.
5 min walk from the town centre.
most comfortable and quiet sleep we have had in ages.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ksparksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you for you for taking the time to write such a kind review. Great news, that you both shared such an enjoyable and successful birthday celebration at Dukes. We have seventeen unique bedrooms and will always try to make best use of the rooms available – delighted that we were able to offer you the four poster room on this occasion. Equally pleased that you had a wonderful nights sleep; all too often new surroundings leave one a little alert; so very pleased that you slept so peacefully. Our breakfast team are passionate - with each breakfast using high quality ingredients, freshly prepared to order. Very pleased that Mike helped you both to feel immediately at home and relaxed – and that this easy hospitality prevailed throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Bath!! Many thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My partner Gary and I have just come back from a 2 night stay at dukes for my birthday. What a wonderful hotel it really is.
We were met by the hotel manager Mike on our arrival, who was very friendly and accommodating (which can be quite rare) . We had never been to bath before so did not know the area at all. He gave us a map and outlined all the good areas to visit, which was very helpful.
The owners Christopher and Carole were equally helpful, friendly and chatty which made us both feel very at ease. They told us that they had only been owners of dukes for 9 weeks, which surprised us a lot. You are doing a fantastic job.
The food was gorgeous. Gary and I had a full English breakfast which was made with quality ingredients. The black pudding was lovely. The service at breakfast was also very good.
The room was lovely too. The bed was just the right size as I like my space. I didn't use the pillows as I brought my own from home (I'm a bit strange) however the cases on them were lovely and soft. Good quality bedding and a wonderfully comfortable sleep.
We had a free parking permit which was extremely helpful ,so left the car in the same place for the whole 3 days. The hotel is very well situated and is only a 5 minute walk into the town centre.
I would thoroughly recommend dukes hotel for a wonderful stay in bath. Infact one of my friends has already contacted me for their details.
Thank you once again Christopher, Carole, Mike and all the staff at dukes for making my birthday get away fabulous.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Marlborough.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali1980_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review. We were very pleased that you chose to be at Dukes for the celebration of your birthday. I think all of us here feel that the property is a fantastic ‘backdrop’ for a celebration. The high ceilings, spectacular chandeliers and wonderful staircase all make for a little bit of theatre. Thank you for your compliments for our breakfast chef. He has selected some world beating suppliers for our smoked salmon, haddock and kippers, however the ‘black pudding’ sourced from the isles off Scotland is a favourite; delighted that Gary enjoyed the gourmet treat. In particular thank you for the word of mouth recommendation and we trust that your friends enjoy their visit as much as you both did!!!Once again thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £97 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing