We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My wife & I stayed for 2 nights using the Spa special offer.
Although it's not a huge saving, the hotel provides you with a bag containing a robe, towel & slippers. This is so convenient & these items are miles better quality than the ones you hire from the Spa itself. Totally recommended.
Staying at the hotel is wonderful. The parking permit was given on arrival. We never had a problem finding a space opposite the hotel.
We stayed in Montrose. Good sized room & bathroom. Floor & bed a bit creaky, but this is an old building & we felt that it added to the charm of the place.
As others have said, breakfast was outstanding.
What made the difference for us, was the friendliness & courtesy of the staff. Nothing too much trouble & no stuffy attitude.
We've been to Bath before & stayed in a hotel rated higher than this on TripAdvisor. In our opinion Dukes was a level above. 100% recommended.
By the way, we arranged our visit to go to the racing at Bath. Definitely worth a visit too & less than 15 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gram4020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed and informative review. We wanted to enhance the experience of visiting the Bath Thermae Spa for our guests and so we are delighted that you chose to take advantage of our special offer. The Montrose is a lovely room overlooking Great Pulteney Street and as with all the spaces at Dukes a little bit ‘creaky’ and part of the antique Georgian charm. Thank you for your ‘100% recommendation’ and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Dukes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

981 - 987 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Friends called - come and join them for a night in Bath. Leap in the car, and zoom down the M4. Where to stay?? Remembered a great stay over New Year at Dukes, so called and got the last available room. Suddenly thought...would it still be good? Would Mike still be beaming at the door when I got there?
I should not have worried! As I walked in, I was greeted by Christopher who remembered me from New Year, Mike still welcomes old and new friends with his beaming smile, Dukes seems to have been re-born into a more comfortable niche as a boutique b and b, and I had an excellent time...phew!!!!
Try it. There are loads of b and b's in Bath - Dukes is SO much more.
Simon

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRjetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you – good to see you back in Bath. As a team I think we like to feel we have no pretentions, no airs and tell it how it is. We are fortunate to be offering accommodation within two superb Georgian townhouse properties a few minutes from the heart of Bath. Whilst the doors may show the patina of many visitors and the floors may be a little unlevel – features one might expect in a 200 year old property; our interest is in offering a warm welcome and ensuring that our guest have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your open, helpful and honest review and we look forward to seeing you back at Dukes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We just returned from a weekend here and I felt compelled to do my review while everything is still fresh in my mind.

Firstly, I could tell from correspondence prior to our stay that the owners and staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. They recommended things to do and restaurants.. Also about booking ahead which we found to be extremely useful advice!! They only exceeded expectations on arrival.. We had a good few chats with people and they were friendly, interesting and helpful.

We found a parking space easily and collected the pass.. Free and convenient parking is a great plus. One of the owners, Carol, talked us through the best routes to walk and suggested things to do until we later returned after check in time.

The location of the hotel was great.. A 10 minute walk on flat ground into the centre (at a slow pace) where we saw more traditional architecture, the river and small local shops and cafes.

On our return our bags had been delivered to our room, Argyle, which had typical Georgian high ceilings and was bright and airy. The bed was comfortable and the bath and shower were good.

The breakfast was lovely, with a good range if the full English isn't your cup of tea. We both went for the full English both days and it was great.

Overall I can't fault them! We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a very generous and thorough review. When visiting Dukes we would like people to feel that they are visiting ‘old friends’ within a large family house. Your review implies that we are being successful! Delighted that you so obviously enjoyed your few days with us in Bath. The Argyll is a lovely room, south facing, overlooking the garden terrace and with no street noise - though these advantages may be marginally offset by the distant views. Our professionally trained breakfast chef takes great pleasure in preparing a breakfast plate to order and will, where possible, accommodate any reasonable request. Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just stayed for a night in the Norfolk room and was very impressed. The people were very friendly, the room was large and everything was very clean. The breakfast was delicious. The location is ideal as it's really close to town, but quiet. The price was very reasonable. It's rated 3 star but the overall experience is first class. A gem, especially at the price. I look forward to staying there again soon.

Room Tip: Norfolk Room very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artifact3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for writing such a positive review. The Norfolk room looks out onto Great Pulteney Street and fully embraces the Georgian ambiance of the property. We have a team of very thorough and committed ‘housekeepers’ who as you point out do a marvellous job of keeping the rooms extremely clean and tidy – so thank you for sharing your appreciation. We look forward to you returning to your ‘Gem’ in Bath – with thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Quiet, convenient for the city centre, wonderful Regency rooms (ours had separate day room and lobby) and nothing too much trouble for the knowledgeable staff. Breakfast excellent. Would recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Delighted that you clearly had a thoroughly enjoyable visit and stay in Bath. Thank you for the very positive recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

As per other reviews, the rooms are beautifully decorated and the breakfast was delicious, but what really made Duke's stand out for me was the fantastic customer service. Everyone affiliated with the hotel was lovely: kind and friendly. It was like staying with friends!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for your review. We too feel we have a very professional and committed team across front of house, breakfast service and housekeeping. We are delighted that you enjoyed a casual, relaxing break, as though staying with friends; we would ask for no more. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed there for business and the service was stupendous.
Friendly and gave good advice on the city.

The room was everything I expected, the bed so confortable.

I do recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bath

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for making the time to write a very positive review. We like to think that we offer an efficient, considerate and reliable service for the business user – thank you for adding ‘great value’ to our proposition. With thanks and we look forward to supporting future business visits to Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £89 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing