We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, charming, well-located”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We loved our stay at Duke's - the property is a beautiful old Georgian building a short walk from the center of the city, with beautifully decorated rooms. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, lining up various day tours for us. Bonus was the breakfast, which far exceeded our expectations (no offense to English cuisine!). Great stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very passionate about the ingredients we use within our breakfast. Fresh fruit salad, pastries baked each morning and a hot breakfast cooked to order; not to mention our gently smoked poached haddock and poached eggs…………exceeding expectations is indeed a compliment that we welcome and appreciate. Enjoy the rest of your trip – with thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

921 - 927 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

What more can you ask for. We somehow managed to grab a weekend away without child and wanted somewhere central in Bath but peaceful too. We had a superior room right at the top of the hotel with a lovely view of the cricket ground (just a shame Somerset weren't playing but we got a good view of the croquet!). Very warm and helpful welcome despite being early and we secured instant access to an essential parking permit. Breakfast was excellent - plenty of variety and well cooked. Would happily recommend Dukes to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandBeccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for the review and your very generous recommendation. Whilst it is a bit of a climb up to the top of a Georgian townhouse the rooms ‘up in the mansard’ do have great appeal. One has the feeling of being tucked away and as you note, the Leinster and to a lesser extent the Roxburghe, offer tremendous views across to the mansion of Ralph Allen and the Somerset hills beyond. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is probably one of the finest hotels that my wife and I have stayed in, (We have stayed in a few!) and as it was a Wedding Anniversary treat it made it all the more special! Thank you to Carole, Mike and all of the staff for a truly wonderful and memorable experience. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Go for the best one there, the Buccleuch!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for a very generous review and your strong endorsement. The Buccleuch is indeed a superb room as it combines the splendour of a four poster bedroom with being somewhat peacefully tucked away. Delighted that as a team we were all able to enhance your Wedding Anniversary stay in Bath. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I and my wife stayed here on saturday 22nd June .we were met by the lovely Carole who made us feel at home as soon as we arrived.She made sure we were given our parking permit straight away and then helped my wife with her bag to our room on the top floor,telling us as we climbed that this house was as it was built that pleased me as i had not being in a real georgian house before,the food was just first class and as for the staff well what wonderful people they were. I will return to Bath as our visit was too short and i will def' stay at the dukes again .

Room Tip: Get yourself an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimoc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Equally thank you for the very strong recommendation – we look forward to welcoming you both on your return to Bath. Delighted that you enjoyed Dukes, a true opportunity to live in a Georgian home. We consider ourselves to be the fortunate custodians of two wonderful, antique Georgian townhouses and take great pleasure in the enjoyment that she offers guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed one night here. It is very convenient to explore Bath Centre. They organised free parking for us. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The room was large, with a good view over the Rugby Clubs side grounds looking towards the opposite Hill where the University is situated. The only drawback was the lack of a lift... however, the main charm of the place is that it is an old building. Despite this, apart from a lift, it was not lacking an any comforts. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast the next morning. And I would go back again.

Room Tip: Sorry, but we were only in one room, looking out the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you for writing a review. As you note we do not have the benefit of a lift and endeavour to ensure guests are aware of this at the time of booking. In many ways this is part of the magnificence and history of these 200 year old antiques. As a Grade 1 listed building we are unable to fashion any enhancements or changes to the fabric of the property. This ‘restriction’ does however prompt a fuller appreciation of the ‘Georgian era’ and the heritage of the property. We are always very happy to assist with transporting moderate luggage – alternatively we offer rooms on the ground floor and lower floor levels. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We visited this amazing hotel again back in May - we just keep coming back!

I don't know what else I can say that hasn't already been said about this wonderful hotel - location is perfect for a lovely stroll into town, amazingly quiet, incredibly comfortable, wonderful breakfast - and the welcome we receive from Carole, Christopher & Mike is always so, so special.

It's safe to say that this hotel is the best hotel I have EVER stayed in taking into everything into account, and we cannot wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybee661_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are delighted that you choose to return to visit Bath and that you stay with us here at Dukes. As with old friends we love to share the comfort (and idiosyncrasies) of our antique property with those who truly enjoy the location, our breakfast and the attentive service that we all enjoy providing. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you late summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend as part of our anniversary celebrations.

Pros-
Excellent professional yet friendly service
Literally a 5 star a la carte breakfast
Brilliant tourist advice
Generosity of a gift and provision of extra amenities (heated) as required
Lovely bathroom, power shower and amenites

Cons
Thin walls/ ceiling so slightly disturbed by a wedding party (although with warning and profuse apologies!)
Very slightly dated room (although we are used to sleek modern finishes- many would find this cute, cosy and of character)

As frequent travellers we do highly recommend this B&B to you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_np05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a very constructive and informative review. I think that you have very fairly commented on your stay. As you mention the property is old, the floorboards do squeak and the rather large sash windows rattle. I think the décor is dated, faded and familiar and we would not hide from these true observations……….all said, thank you for your ‘highly recommended’ commendation and we look forward to your return to Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £98 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing