We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a Bathonian”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here in June and July for a staggered wedding and were extremely happy. Bath is always going to be expensive, especially in summer but two things more than made up for that. Firstly, it was 50% more than a CloneLodge, but felt 800% better. And the fact there was no minimum stay was a absolute boon.

We managed to park right outside the hotel and had a free permit for the entire length of our stay. This is excellent, considering the parking rates in Bath and general fighting for spaces. It was hard to find, but that's only because it blends in with the surroundings which ultimately makes you feel more at home.

The rooms have high ceilings, huge comfortable beds with various pictures and pieces of interesting furniture. I get the impression that all the rooms are different, we saw three in the end. They have clearly spent a great deal of effort on the design, a perfect blend of classic and practical without being stuffy. Considering the central location, it was peaceful and we slept deeply and soundly. In the morning you can walk around Sydney park to clear your head. That's only 5 minutes away.

I was really looking forward to the second and third breakfast. The black pudding was specially selected from Scotland and completely delicious. It's great to see fish on a breakfast menu, upholding the most important meal ethos! Plenty of toast, cereal and coffee also helped to set you up for the day.

Our hosts were friendly and helpful, the personal touch that you just don't get at CloneLodge. I had a problem booking over the web, but this was rectified immediately with one phone call. They were very accommodating of our whole wedding party which had taken over the entire hotel on the first visit. There was a great spread downstairs after the ceremony and dinner in town. The late night munchies were well received!

We have stayed in a number of Bath hotels as my brother lives there. Yours stands out in our minds, thanks very much for having us.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Wellington for the second visit, it was by far the best. Right at the top and huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnm563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive and appreciative review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your wedding party and the occasion was made all the more fun by your return with a further clutch of guests a few weeks later. We like to offer a very personal service and so welcome the opportunity of speaking with guests during the booking process to ensure they secure the room that best meets their needs. Equally, as you state and allow me to reinforce our emphasis is upon the comfy and relaxed; we avoid the stuffy and seek to offer the unforced hospitality of an old unobtrusive friend. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

926 - 932 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Dukes Hotel has old-world charm and is located within walking distance of Bath's many attractions. The rooms take you back to an earlier age, and you can see why the British nobility came here. The staff was very attentive and the breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Dukes is formed from two glorious 200 year old Georgian townhouses and the fabric and decoration though somewhat faded is very much in the style and in keeping with the era. The location, overlooking Great Pulteney Street is unique and does as you suggest, cast one back into a bygone era of Georgian indulgence. Delighted that you found breakfast ‘excellent’ - we take great pride in offering a breadth of freshly cooked breakfast options including gently smoked haddock ,salmon or kippers…….equally a simple continental breakfast or fresh fruit is always on offer. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We ended up at Dukes after our original hotel denied all knowledge of our booking when we arrived. This turned out to be a happy mistake as we had a great time at Dukes. This hotel is a beautiful pair of Regency houses in a famous street, just across the bridge from the town centre and near the lovely Sydney Gardens, ideal for walking into town. The hotel also provided a parking permit for nearby street parking. The hotel is furnished in keeping with the period character of the building which is very charming. Our room was on the top floor and of course there is no lift so if you have issues with stairs you might need to plan in advance to get a ground floor room. This is a family run business who took over in 2012 (all of the poor TripAdvisor reviews pre-date this change, so ignore them) and the service was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was excellent. Bath is a lovely city and when we return we would certainly stay at Dukes.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank john_ramsey_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you note, we are a family run business, superbly supported by a very passionate team of professionals who all take great pride in sharing Bath and presenting Dukes at her very best. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was a great base to see Bath ,its Roman attractions and stroll along the Avon with very friendly and helpful staff. Wifi is just OK but they are addressing that. A very good breakfast and quiet and restful sleep await you at the Dukes. Beware, you need to organise a parking permit. If you arrive after 3.30,you may have to park a fair way away from the B&B, even with the permit. Parking is a major problem in Bath. Don’t miss seeing Number 1 Royal Crescent, a fully restored Georgian Palladian residence with links to the French Revolution .

Room Tip: First floor preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you note our WiFi system is being upgraded in August and will offer guests a greatly improved service. Our parking permits enable guests to park in any one of several hundred residential parking spaces that lie on the streets around Dukes; guests are normally able to park within a few yards of our entrance. Our location on Great Pulteney Street places us a few minutes level walk from the heart of Bath and as you note, one may, with equal ease, stroll out through Sydney Gardens to the Avon and Kennet canal and peacefully wander out from the city. With many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

There are not enough Superlatives for Dukes of Bath, Carole, Christopher and team should be extremely proud of their achievements. Just returned from a three night stay at Dukes with my wife and son, and having been fortunate enough to stay at some of the best hotels around the world I must say that Dukes of Bath surpass all of these. Very warm welcoming on arrival, room excellent and spotlessly, breakfast was simply the best and all the staff were so helpful and friendly, great value for money. Finally a special thank you to the owners, Carole and Christopher, for the warmth you showed to us and all the other guests during our stay.

We will certainly be booking again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you. What a very kind and flattering review. On balance we are a very passionate team who enjoy sharing the wonder of Dukes and magnificence of Bath with those who choose to come and visit. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming the three of you back to Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel is simply superb. The location is excellent, walking distance into town but very peaceful and quiet. The room was exactly as described and they have done well to retain the character of the property. The breakfast was one of the best I have eaten. The staff were very lovely and accommodating.
I stayed with my wife and a group of 10 friends, they all agreed this was a very special hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bondinthehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate the ‘highly recommended’ status that you have awarded us. In truth we have a super team who delight in welcoming visitors to the wonderful city of Bath and take great pride in presenting the rooms at their best, offering a breakfast ‘second to none’ and showing this grand old lady off to her very best. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Dukes is comfortable, well located and the way good hotels should be - that is, staff treat you as an individual and go out of their way to meet your needs, whether that be a restaurant recommendation or helping plan the drive to your next destination. Breakfast is excellent and plentiful. A great place to stay in Bath.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gomworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for a very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 32 in Bath
1,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £88 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing