We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in Bath”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice stay in Bath”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here with my wife for one night. Checkin was quick and friendly. Had a room on the top floor, very nice, quiet and comfortable room although a bit warm due to the unusually warm weather.

Breakfast was fine, we just had cereal which is our usual breakfast.

We had a late train out the next day, they let us leave our luggage while we wandered around Bath after checkout, and called a taxi for us when we returned. Very friendly and helpful staff (or that may have been owner, I didn't ask).

The hotel itself is very convenient to Bath city center, maybe a 5-10 minute walk along Great Pulteney street, which is an enjoyable walk into itself.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet at night with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfmrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a very kind review. We recognise that many guests wish to ‘arrive early’ and ‘depart late’ given the beauty, sights and places of interest that Bath has to offer. We are always happy to try and accommodate an early arrival and equally will do everything that we may to help extend an overnight visit to Bath. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    190
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
179
816
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our family just returned from England and while touring Bath we had the pleasure of staying at the Duke Hotel. I think it is more like a B and B.
The minute we pulled up, Carol, Roman and David greeted us at the door and within seconds began helping us carry our bags up the stairs.
This hotel could not be more accommodating which was a relief because our schedule was a little hectic.
The breakfast was incredible--I loved the porridge and the selection of food satisfied everyone in the family.
Although the inn keepers are always willing to help with bags, I would suggest getting a room on the ground floor if you are traveling with children. Our daughter loved having her own space with pocket doors that closed between our bedroom and her own.
The walk into town is about five minutes and we took a wonderful tour with a guide named Sue from Tours by Locals.
When we left for Oxford, Carol gave us wonderful suggestions on little towns to see on the way.
I agree with another of the reviewers that these people are very passionate about the quality of their hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are all very proud of Bath and take great pleasure in greeting and welcoming guests into the Georgian magnificence of Dukes. We have a wide range of rooms offering tremendous flexibility; delighted to hear that your daughter so thoroughly enjoyed sharing your suite of rooms. Thank you for the very complimentary ‘incredible’ breakfast evaluation. We have a superb chef and breakfast team who strife to ensure each and every guest enjoys a wholly memorable experience. Very pleased to hear the ‘Tours by Locals’ was a success and that your memories of Bath will be fondly treasured. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We recently chose The Dukes in Bath because of the great reviews. We stayed on our 2nd to last night of our 6 week trip away so we could meet up with friends who travelled up from the South for a get-together. I emailed a couple of days before to enquire about leaving our bags at the hotel as we would be arriving a few hours before checkin time. I got a prompt & positive response from David. After managing to grab a parking spot that became free we left our bags with the very welcoming gentleman on reception (which was actually a large desk in a lovely room - so much better than having someone hide behind a high reception desk) and we also got to meet Carol, the owner. It was lovely to meet her and to know she was the owner. When we arrived back to check in, our bags had been carried up to our room and the room was massive and immaculate and the bed was so comfortable and we were able to leave our window open all night without any fear of being woken up by noise (there was a heatwave in UK when we stayed). The hot breakfast was very good (albeit a bit smaller than other breakfasts we had at other hotels, but actually quite sufficient) and the young lady who served us was very friendly and efficient. We were checked out by David who once again was so charming and friendly and we had a good laugh with him. That's definitely the positive of staying in a smaller boutique hotel. Carol told us they had recently taken over the hotel since we had booked and I really got the impression she was very passionate about the building, and ensuring people who stayed really loved their stay. We didn't meet Christopher her husband, but Carol told us his name, and that too makes a big difference. My only regret was that we didn't stay longer. NEXT TIME!!! If you accept that you MAY not get a park really close by and pre-prepare yourself for this then I know you wont be disappointed if you appreciate good service, staying in a character filled room & being just a 5 minute stroll from the gorgeous shops etc in Bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces out down the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a very complimentary review. As your review title confirms; exemplary ‘location, building, staff, breakfast, room’ are core to the satisfaction and enjoyment of guests; I am delighted that we appear to have met your needs so successfully. As a team we seek to be ourselves and look after the well being of our guests as though old acquaintances or indeed friends. With thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We are staying at the hotel for three nights as part of our honeymoon (sadly our last night tonight). The hotel is the cleanest I have seen and the service could not be any better. The staff truly make this feel like a home away from home. We were given the Roxburgh room on the top floor and whilst the stairs were at first daunting, we wouldn't have changed a thing. Being up high was quiet and peaceful (even sleeping with the windows open). The location is fantastic. Far enough away to be out of the crowded streets but an easy walk into the centre (no more than 3 mins and a flat walk). Breakfast was first class. We honestly can't recommend Dukes highly enough and were so thrilled to have seen the trip advisor reviews live up to expectations. In fact, Dukes have exceeded all expectations! We will definitely be recommending this hotel to all of our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sez83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Roxburghe is a wonderful room and superbly suited for a ‘honeymoon couple’; tucked away up in the mansard of the property with distant views across the Somerset hills. Thank you for the very high recommendations and delighted that we were able to ‘exceed your expectations’. We have a superb team who are committed to presenting Dukes in the very best light. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I live in Bath and did not stay in this hotel.
On the other hand I know many of the hotels in Bath and chose this hotel for all my family and for a visiting family from Russia whom I had met in St Petersburg. Great Pulteney Street can just about compete with that beautiful city with the Holborne Museum standing in as a very small Hermitage.
From a temporary booking for four or five rooms arranged some weeks ahead based on whom might be able to come, to negotiations with the family who were scattered far and wide as whether they wanted twin or double rooms, to endless delays with Russian visas, a firm booking was finally made. Receptionists and owner were endlessly patient and helpful. They allowed the luggage to be left until the following evening and went out of their way to arrange transport and answer numerous questions. Needless to say I had unsolicited compliments on my choice from all who stayed there, even from a grandson who pointed out a picture on the staircase showing the heraldic arms of a distant family ancestor which made him feel quite at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for your review. As a resident of Bath we were delighted that you chose us to look after the well being of your family and international guests. We offer a multinational mix of staff and languages and so feel well positioned to welcome and assist visitors from around the world. We are very pleased that you, your family and guests shared such a happy and enjoyable celebration here in Bath and that we were of assistance. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Where in the world...?!
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at Dukes for one night because we were in bath for a wedding and were really impressed. The check in was set at 2pm, but when we rang them up and explained the wedding was at 3 they moved it forward to 12 for us which meant we could get showered and changed without rushing - we were really grateful!
We stayed in a standard room and it was light and spacious with traditional, high quality decoration, and a really big airy bathroom which had an amazingly powerful shower!
The breakfast was brilliant with a huge choice - a buffet with cereals, pastries, yoghurts, juice etc, and then a full menu of hot dishes including porridge, a full english, salmon, eggs of all varieties.
The reception and breakfast staff were very friendly, polite and courteous. Overall we could not recommend this hotel highly enough if you are looking for somewhere to stay in bath.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocypri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
We recognise that ‘weddings’ and milestone ‘family celebrations’ are best enjoyed with calm and unobtrusive support. Wherever possible we will be as flexible as possible. Very pleased that you found your bedroom light and spacious – one of the enormous benefits of the vast Georgian sash windows and high ceiling rooms. Delighted that you found our breakfast ‘brilliant’ and that it helped re-charge the batteries after a thoroughly enjoyable wedding day. Thank you for the ‘highly recommended’ commendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Like visiting Bath itself, finding a place to sleep there resembles time travel to the 18th century. Quaint little hostels dot the streets, one more picturesque than the last. For a 21st-century business traveler like myself, entering Bath requires some degree of letting go. Fortunately, Dukes Bath hotel offered a constructive combination of the 18th century and the modern, resulting in a thoroughly pleasant stay.

The walk from Bath Spa station to the Dukes was a delight. This is not the place for a travelogue but suffice it to say that the sights were worth seeing. Dukes itself inhabits a historic building that is characteristic of Bath’s 18th century history. One highlight (can’t resist including it) is the entire modern duplex flat in an 18th century building that we viewed from street level looking down. The huge below-ground windows – similar to those in the hotel – looked like they provided plenty of natural light even at the lower level.

Now to the hotel itself. After the four-flight climb to the Devonshire room (18th), the mattress (21st) was comfy, the feather pillows (18th) a plus. Bathroom had all modern amenities including hand shower, wall shower and soap, shower gel & shampoo (21st) (but no conditioner – 18th?).

And on the contrasts went. Breakfast was outstanding. Served in the below-ground but naturally lit dining room, the food items were traditional ones (scrambled eggs for one, porridge for another) with modern twists (delicious smoked salmon with the eggs, whisky and brown sugar on the porridge, exotic and alluring).

Noise from the adjoining room was an issue. We heard entire conversations clearly through the walls (18th). Earplugs solved that problem (21st). My wife (no earplugs) said that because of the mattress and the pillows, it was the best night’s sleep of the week’s UK holiday for her.

The location was perfect. Every sight we saw and every restaurant we visited was a pleasant stroll away. An unexpected bonus was the sold-out rugby tourney being played under lights just off the road to the hotel. We watched some through scaffolding. Quite a spectacle.

Back to the Dukes: it unexpectedly offered the best Wi-Fi of our UK trip (a remarkable 7 Mbps for those keeping track). This was unexpected not only because of the contrast to the ancient dwelling but also because the owners kindly warned us that Wi-Fi___33 would be spotty and perhaps entirely unavailable. Carol, an owner, explained later that there had been days in recent months when too many guests at once had slowed the network to a crawl. We had much better luck. Carol told us that a Wi-Fi upgrade (40x faster!?) takes effect next week (22nd?).

One FYI: As other reviewers have noted, this is a family run business that changed hands in 2012. So ignore the poor Trip Advisor reviews that pre-date this change.

Bed and breakfast. Quaint but durable concepts. Five stars if not for the earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonFrequentTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive and detailed review. I am delighted that Dukes and Bath have prompted so much interest and engagement. We are blessed with our location on the majestic boulevard of Great Pulteney Street. We take great pride in our breakfast preparation – thank you for your appreciation and ‘outstanding’ evaluation. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing