We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly.”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very friendly.”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely, comfortable and friendly hotel. Perfect location, only 5 minutes walk from the town centre. Stylish and very spacious rooms. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. There is no car park but we were given a parking permit and parked on the quiet street right outside. Would definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for the very clear endorsement and we look forward to your return !! Delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    190
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
181
826
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for one night and I wish it had been for longer. Dukes is terrific because it does the important things beautifully. The staff are hugely welcoming and helpful. Our room [Somerset] was large, comfortable and the decor was delightful. Everything worked. The hotel building itself is charming and set right on Great Pulteney Street, one of Bath's greatest streets, and therefore you are only five minutes walk from the centre. Breakfast was excellent. Here's a tip - parking in Bath is a challenge at the best of times. Dukes provide you with a car park permit on arrival - this is marvellous. A great find of a hotel and we will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for a warm, wonderful, complimentary review. We welcome your return !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Bath – Dukes

Our two-day stay at Dukes Hotel in Bath was one of the highlights of our UK trip, and we dream of returning. The staff was excellent, warm, and always welcoming (Mike, especially, is a personable gem!). Our room (the Argyll) was beautiful, with great windows and an utterly comfortable bed. The bath and shower were terrific. We were delighted to park our car and be able to stroll Bath’s elegant streets, as the hotel is quite conveniently located. The staff also gave us great recommendations for evening meals--some of the best food we had the pleasure to enjoy on a fun, food-filled journey. We have recommended Dukes to friends in the UK and US, and we will visit again someday.

Room Tip: Visitors will need to use stairs to enter the hotel, to go to their rooms, and to reach the breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mco2dca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for the comprehensive applause and appreciation. Mike is indeed a 'personable gem' with an innate ability to welcome and help place guests immediately at ease.
In particular thank you for generously recommending Dukes to an international audience – welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here for one night to visit the Christmas markets, and we were delighted with it. It's a lovely hotel in a very handy location for Bath city centre. Our room, Somerset, was really well thought out with a very comfy sofa, and the bed was very comfortable. The room was also really quiet and had glimpses over the parapet of the lovely hills in the distance. Our only slight comment was that the bathroom could do with a bit of sprucing up - but nothing major. A real high was the cooked breakfast which was by far the best I have had in many years. All the staff were very friendly yet professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curatorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for the very positive review. We agree with the bathroom requiring a little sprucing up. Somewhat akin to the Forth Bridge we always have another door, bathroom or window frame to decorate. Our decorator visits regularly and your room is next on his agenda – very pleased that this did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay. Thank you for complimenting our breakfast, we are passionate about sourcing high quality ingredients, cooking them with care and serving them professionally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

we booked this hotel last minute based on the review and was not disappointed. We felt very at home and the staffs were very attentive. even prior to arriving, mike has been giving links to websites of things to do with kids in bath.

we were given baby chair for our son during breakfast and was also provided toddler meal.

location was within walking distance to the centre.

would definitely stay here again next time we are back in Bath.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zetster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Mike has a comprehensive knowledge and appreciation of Bath and the resources the city has to offer. I am delighted that all three of you enjoyed a successful visit. As you note our location on Great Pulteney Street really does make for a very easy level walk into the heart of Bath. What an inspiring walk for a toddler!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ and London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

What really made our stay at Duke's memorable was the staff. Everyone who dealt with us, whether at reception or in the breakfast room, was very professional but also went the extra mile to give personal attention to guests. We booked the spa package, which included a 2-hour session at Thermae Bath Spa, and the loan of bath robes, slippers and towels for the visit (which otherwise would have had to be hired from the Spa, at cost). On hearing that we were celebrating a birthday, further little touches were provided by Dukes, including a card, special candlelit breakfast! - and a bottle of wine, all of which made us feel really special. We're very grateful to Carole, David and all the staff for making our visit so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Somerset room on the top floor, which gave us a little fitness workout of 6 flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetenCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Given the opportunity we would like all our guests to ‘feel special’. We have the good fortune to enjoy the support of a superb team who are always happy to welcome, help and advise. Equally we clearly appreciate those who simply wish to be offered a quiet resting place and hearty breakfast. Thank you for your kind review and we trust that your trip was a complete success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I booked 1 night here for my daughter and son in law as a gift for his 30th birthday and Christmas. I can't praise the hotel enough. Before their stay the communication was excellent via e mails. They knew it was for a special occasion and left them a complimentary bottle of champagne. They stayed in a Superior room and they said it was wonderful, with a big bed, nice shower and good view over Bath. The hotel is 10 minutes from the train station and is close to the historic places and shopping. They had plenty of choice for breakfast the next morning and could not fault the hotel.
They said the staff were brilliant and I can't thank Mike enough for all of his help.
I hope that my husband and I will enjoy a visit to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Sharing in a birthday celebration is a very enjoyable ‘over night stay’ to organise and help deliver. We too think we have a ‘brilliant’ team and Mike is a superb ambassador for what we feel Dukes and indeed Bath has to offer. We are all very pleased that we managed to ‘deliver your birthday gift’. Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing