We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had two nights at the Dukes Hotel with a friend for a birthday treat. It was great . A beautiful hotel with a bar and outside seating area for those of you that smoke. I stayed in the Dukes suite which was oppulent and enormous. Lovely comfy bed ad pillows...so important and a gigantic bathroom ( there does seem to be a slight problem with the bath tps that needs addressing..but it is an old building and did not detract from my stay). It was nice to be able to sleep with the windows open as many hoptels have them jammed shut.
The staff and owners were delightful and very relaxed.
This hotel is a short walk from the centre which is ideal.
The breakfast was very nice except that I lov pastries for breakfast and if you dont get down by 9.00 am they will be all gone with no prospect of a top up.
But all in all great.

Room Tip: If you are not that mobile choose a ground floor as there is no lift!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicci354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

So sorry that you missed out on our pastries – freshly baked in house each morning. Each day we prepare pastries – proportionate to the number of guests staying. It would appear that on this occasion other guests shared your ‘love of pastries’. Next time – let us know and we will keep one or two extra back for you!!!
Thank you for the ‘great’ review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
There are newer reviews for Dukes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at Dukes Hotel. We had a brilliant time and wished we had stayed for another night. As many others on Trip adviser have already said, Dukes is in the best location, 5 minutes walk into the center of town along Great Pulteney St full of beautiful Georgian terraces. We had a great deal that included the Spa package, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Bath has some great little traditional pubs, down little lane ways, which is particularly nice coming from Australia. Our room was a good size with everything we needed, the breakfast was great and the staff even better! It is this kind of customer service that brings you back to a hotel time after time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam82trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Delighted that you were able to enjoy a ‘brilliant time’ here at Dukes. We seek to offer our guests ’unforced hospitality' within a pair of antique Georgian townhouses. Pleased that you both embraced your Georgian experience and that we were able to enhance your stay within the United Kingdom. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just returned from this lovely hotel. Reserved the Athol room for our 1st Wedding Anniversary and what an absolutely delightful place to stay. 5 minutes walk from the town centre and parking permit for the street outside. Staff so welcoming, especially Mike who is an absolute star. Will be staying again next year for our 2nd Anniversary. Thank you for making our stay special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

The Athol is one of our most prominent rooms. Overlooking Great Pulteney Street, with a spectacular four poster bed the room lends itself to all manner of occasions. We delight in making an important occasion ‘special’ and we look forward to you sharing your 2nd Wedding Anniversary with us !! Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely, comfortable and friendly hotel. Perfect location, only 5 minutes walk from the town centre. Stylish and very spacious rooms. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. There is no car park but we were given a parking permit and parked on the quiet street right outside. Would definitely return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paulm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for the very clear endorsement and we look forward to your return !! Delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for one night and I wish it had been for longer. Dukes is terrific because it does the important things beautifully. The staff are hugely welcoming and helpful. Our room [Somerset] was large, comfortable and the decor was delightful. Everything worked. The hotel building itself is charming and set right on Great Pulteney Street, one of Bath's greatest streets, and therefore you are only five minutes walk from the centre. Breakfast was excellent. Here's a tip - parking in Bath is a challenge at the best of times. Dukes provide you with a car park permit on arrival - this is marvellous. A great find of a hotel and we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for a warm, wonderful, complimentary review. We welcome your return !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Bath – Dukes

Our two-day stay at Dukes Hotel in Bath was one of the highlights of our UK trip, and we dream of returning. The staff was excellent, warm, and always welcoming (Mike, especially, is a personable gem!). Our room (the Argyll) was beautiful, with great windows and an utterly comfortable bed. The bath and shower were terrific. We were delighted to park our car and be able to stroll Bath’s elegant streets, as the hotel is quite conveniently located. The staff also gave us great recommendations for evening meals--some of the best food we had the pleasure to enjoy on a fun, food-filled journey. We have recommended Dukes to friends in the UK and US, and we will visit again someday.

Room Tip: Visitors will need to use stairs to enter the hotel, to go to their rooms, and to reach the breakfas...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mco2dca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for the comprehensive applause and appreciation. Mike is indeed a 'personable gem' with an innate ability to welcome and help place guests immediately at ease.
In particular thank you for generously recommending Dukes to an international audience – welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here for one night to visit the Christmas markets, and we were delighted with it. It's a lovely hotel in a very handy location for Bath city centre. Our room, Somerset, was really well thought out with a very comfy sofa, and the bed was very comfortable. The room was also really quiet and had glimpses over the parapet of the lovely hills in the distance. Our only slight comment was that the bathroom could do with a bit of sprucing up - but nothing major. A real high was the cooked breakfast which was by far the best I have had in many years. All the staff were very friendly yet professional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curatorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for the very positive review. We agree with the bathroom requiring a little sprucing up. Somewhat akin to the Forth Bridge we always have another door, bathroom or window frame to decorate. Our decorator visits regularly and your room is next on his agenda – very pleased that this did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay. Thank you for complimenting our breakfast, we are passionate about sourcing high quality ingredients, cooking them with care and serving them professionally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £97 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing