We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I arranged for two nights away to celebrate the New Year, for my other half as a Christmas present. From my first initial enquiry, the service I received was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble,& both Mike and his colleague David offered their knowledge and advice, to help make it a wonderful stay. Upon arrival, the hotel was everything we could have asked for. Although we were only in a standard room, it was beautifully decorated, and very quiet. Breakfast was absolutely superb, the best scrambled egg I've ever eaten, & during our stay we met both the owners, Carol & Chris who were very welcoming, & always asked if there was anything else they could do for us. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.The hotel was in a lovely location,& so convenient to the city centre. I will definitly never look to stay anywhere else when we visit Bath again, which I hope will be sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Delighted that we appear to have delivered a successful Christmas present ! We have a superb team who all work to deliver Dukes at her best. From our genuine and charming ‘front of house’ team through to our breakfast chef who served up ‘the best scrambled eggs’ you have ever eaten – we do our best and it is wonderful to be appreciated – thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    185
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
175
801
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here for a anniversary treat - in the Wellington Room which is one of the beautiful superior double rooms. Bed was very comfortable and the room itself was very spacious - and if one of you wants to go to sleep and the other person wants to stay up, there is a small lounge/living area (with another TV) which is able to be separated from the bedroom area room by doors which is good The staff were all very helpful and friendly and it is a great location - just a few minutes walk to the centre but it is surprisingly very quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed the breakfast and we definately will be back on our next trip to Bath.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mscoachbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Overlooking Great Pulteney Street the Wellington is a favourite suite for many guests. The rooms command a tremendous view of the grandeur and scale of what many argue is the finest boulevard in Europe. Delighted that you found the team friendly and helpful. Thank you for the very positive endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral uk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Conveniently situated for the heart of the city and a friendly and welcoming hotel. Actually more a B & B as there is no dining (apart from breakfast) or residents lounge. Our room (a superior double) was on the second floor which was a bit of a hike up the stairs but the room itself was very comfortable. Hot water did not flow from the hot water tap in the bathroom which was annoying (the shower was fine) but overall we were very happy with Dukes and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilpostino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you. We have a wonderful reception room where guests may sit, read, chatter; equally guests may use the computer terminal or secure a ‘guaranteed’ Wi-Fi connection. In addition we have a private bar area suitable for larger gatherings or more private meetings as required. We endeavour to make clear on our website that we have no lift. We rest within two magnificent Grade 1 listed Georgian town houses and so are restricted in our alterations. All our reception team will enter into a very clear resume of the rooms, access and any potential short comings . We do have two rooms on the ground floor and numerous first floor rooms. Very pleased that you were very happy with your stay and thank you for the very positive endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had two nights at the Dukes Hotel with a friend for a birthday treat. It was great . A beautiful hotel with a bar and outside seating area for those of you that smoke. I stayed in the Dukes suite which was oppulent and enormous. Lovely comfy bed ad pillows...so important and a gigantic bathroom ( there does seem to be a slight problem with the bath tps that needs addressing..but it is an old building and did not detract from my stay). It was nice to be able to sleep with the windows open as many hoptels have them jammed shut.
The staff and owners were delightful and very relaxed.
This hotel is a short walk from the centre which is ideal.
The breakfast was very nice except that I lov pastries for breakfast and if you dont get down by 9.00 am they will be all gone with no prospect of a top up.
But all in all great.

Room Tip: If you are not that mobile choose a ground floor as there is no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicci354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
So sorry that you missed out on our pastries – freshly baked in house each morning. Each day we prepare pastries – proportionate to the number of guests staying. It would appear that on this occasion other guests shared your ‘love of pastries’. Next time – let us know and we will keep one or two extra back for you!!!
Thank you for the ‘great’ review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at Dukes Hotel. We had a brilliant time and wished we had stayed for another night. As many others on Trip adviser have already said, Dukes is in the best location, 5 minutes walk into the center of town along Great Pulteney St full of beautiful Georgian terraces. We had a great deal that included the Spa package, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Bath has some great little traditional pubs, down little lane ways, which is particularly nice coming from Australia. Our room was a good size with everything we needed, the breakfast was great and the staff even better! It is this kind of customer service that brings you back to a hotel time after time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam82trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Delighted that you were able to enjoy a ‘brilliant time’ here at Dukes. We seek to offer our guests ’unforced hospitality' within a pair of antique Georgian townhouses. Pleased that you both embraced your Georgian experience and that we were able to enhance your stay within the United Kingdom. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just returned from this lovely hotel. Reserved the Athol room for our 1st Wedding Anniversary and what an absolutely delightful place to stay. 5 minutes walk from the town centre and parking permit for the street outside. Staff so welcoming, especially Mike who is an absolute star. Will be staying again next year for our 2nd Anniversary. Thank you for making our stay special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
The Athol is one of our most prominent rooms. Overlooking Great Pulteney Street, with a spectacular four poster bed the room lends itself to all manner of occasions. We delight in making an important occasion ‘special’ and we look forward to you sharing your 2nd Wedding Anniversary with us !! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely, comfortable and friendly hotel. Perfect location, only 5 minutes walk from the town centre. Stylish and very spacious rooms. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. There is no car park but we were given a parking permit and parked on the quiet street right outside. Would definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for the very clear endorsement and we look forward to your return !! Delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing