We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is well worth a stay. Great location within easy reach of Bath Centre and reasonably priced. On the day we arrived the hotel was not full so our room was upgraded which was a bonus. Delightful and extremely comfortable hotel made all the better with a truly warm welcome from Mike, who made our stay thoroughly enjoyable. Shame more hotels don't have a person like Mike to greet you. Breakfast was lovely served with a smile.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a warm and personal welcome from Mike and the Dukes team. We offer 17 unique bedrooms housed within two majestic six storey Georgian townhouses. We will always endeavour to enhance your stay and ensure that Dukes adds to the delight you experience when visiting the world heritage city of Bath. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
There are newer reviews for Dukes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed here with my daughter (13) on the Sunday to Wednesday of February half term on a 3 for 2 night offer, after being recommended by a friend.
We arrived mid afternoon on the Sunday and were given our parking permit straight away. We stayed in the Somerset (Deluxe double) on the top floor (77 steps!), with the receptionist carrying our case for us, which was a well received gesture. Our room was nice, light and large, with a sofa and seats in the sitting area and a 6ft bed in the large alcove. The bathroom was in the keeping of the age of the building, although we needed to be careful at times, as the hot water was at times too hot.
Breakfast was on the ground floor, there was a good choice of fruit, cereal, pastries, yogurt, meats, plus a choice of cooked breakfast (English, pancakes, salmon etc). The waitress would take your drink and toast order and come back later for your cooked choices, you are served in the order that guests arrive, which is very fair. Breakfast is a nice leisurely affair and you’re not rushed at all.
As we’re on the top floor, we would bring our coats down to breakfast and hang them on the coat hooks outside the restaurant, there is also a toilet in the basement, so there wasn’t a need for us to return to our room.
Dukes is ideally located and is perfect for sightseeing with no more than an 10 minute walk to the Roman Baths and Abbey.
We both would like to return, but with my husband and other daughter next time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Cornishgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your very kind and appreciative review. Bath is indeed a terrific family destination with a number of ‘must see’ sites for those in their early teens. We very much look forward to welcoming all four of you back on your family visit to Bath. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We came for a midweek spring break at this pretty townhouse hotel. We were early but as it was quiet we were given a room upgrade and we're able to park up using the hotel's parking permit. We received a warm welcome from Mike who was helpfulness personified. He picked up bags, offered information and printed out an itinerary for our trip when we left and stood at the entrance and waved us goodbye. A genuinely friendly character. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The breakfast choice was abundant and well presented. The owner chatted and took an interest in our stay over breakfast. The room was elegant and spacious and very comfortable. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here which is a short stroll to the centre of Bath.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadeusz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for the ‘thoroughly recommended’ appreciation. We benefit from a wonderful team – all of whom are focused on presenting Dukes at her very best. Very pleased to hear that Mike greatly enhanced your stay with us here in Bath. With many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a Saturday night in the Wellington room which is lovely. Had emailed prior to coming to ask for a parking permit early which they were happy to do. Easy parking and a short walk to the shops etc. room was very comfortable. Warm and clean. Breakfast was excellent. Would use this hotel again if we are lucky enough to spend another night in the lovely city of bath

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank babe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

The Theatre Royal offers a broad array of entertainment often staging plays before they run on the West End. Over the coming weeks Pygmalion, Moon on a Rainbow and The Witches of Eastwick will cross the boards. Many of our returning guests venture into Bath for dinner, the theatre and an enjoyable overnight stay. A delightful indulgence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My 3 friends and I stay in Bath at least twice a year and have used Dukes for our pre Christmas trip for the last few years. Having stayed again last weekend I think we have decided that we will use Dukes for all our trips in future. We all commented on how since the change of ownership (although Mike has always been charming, polite and friendly) there is an extremely friendly and informal atmosphere and we were greeted like old friends (even being waved off at the front door!!). The rooms are immaculate and the breakfast delicious. The location is also perfect for walking to the shops and a parking permit is included in the price so that there is no worry about were to park your car. We will definitely be back later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Very pleased to read that you found an “extremely friendly and informal atmosphere” throughout your visit. Dukes is a wonderful 200 year old building located on a magnificent boulevard; an inspiring few minutes walk from the very heart of Bath. Living in and around Bath our team are proud to warmly welcome and share the delights of the city with each of our guests. Thank you for the applause and we look forward to welcoming you all back to your ‘home from home’ here in Bath!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed for three nights in superior double rooms and loved it. The rooms were warm, well-appointed and very comfortable. The staff were, without exception, friendly, engaging and accommodating. The breakfasts were superb.
A complaint about noisy guests was dealt with promptly and discreetly and resulted in a reduced price - what more could one ask?
A huge bouquet of beautiful flowers and some chocolates was a very welcome and unexpected birthday treat for one of our party. The atmospheric building and delightful decor, together with the warm and friendly service made our stay a true delight. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

We love to share in a party, anniversary or celebration……..we keep secrets and help out with surprises pretty well too! Delighted that you enjoyed a very happy birthday visit to Bath and that in a small way, we were able to enhance your stay. We look forward to your return. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a fantastic time in the hotel. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, through your our stay nothing was too much for them. We were very lucky with the weather in March and spent our afternoon drinking prosecco in their pretty courtyard garden. We had bought our own and the manger was quick to offer us a ice bucket and glasses (which I though was good, considering it was not bought at their bar!) all the rooms were lovely Georgian rooms. Mine had a spectacular view over the Rec rugby grounds. Breakfast was of an extremely good quality, exactly what you need after a night sampling baths pubs!! What really made our stay special was the hospitality, including an incident with someone in out group 'losing' her mobile on a night out and a kind member of staff looking back at the hotel for it, and finding it! Will be being the boyfriend back for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a very complimentary and generous review. Delighted that you were able to enjoy a springtime ‘glass’ out in the courtyard – a wonderful, peaceful ‘sun trap’ in the heart of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back with your boyfriend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 31 in Bath
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £97 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing