We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I've ever stayed at....Excellent service!”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best hotel I've ever stayed at....Excellent service!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

My mum and I visited Bath for a few days recently and following reviews on Tripadvisor decided to stay at the Dukes Hotel. And what a fantastic decision it was! It was such a wonderful experience. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and presented. The room we stayed in was stunning and there were bottles of water, tea and coffee and biscuits provided each day. Best of all though was the service which was exemplary. From the reception staff to the breakfast staff, each member of staff were genuinely interested in us, our stay and doing whatever they could to assist us. It genuinely was the best service I've ever experienced. The breakfasts were beautiful and there was a wide range of choice for hot breakfasts from a full English to porridge, pancakes to smoked salmon. Freshly baked pastries were also provided each day. The location of this hotel is fantastic too. Just a 2 minute walk into the centre of Bath on a lovely quiet road. I genuinely recommend this hotel very highly. It was a fantastic, personal service and a truly wonderful experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireabellem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you very much indeed. As a team we are delighted that we have helped ensure you enjoyed a wonderful visit to Bath. With thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    190
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
177
812
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

First time I have ever reviewed anything! But believe me when I say this is an amazing hotel with a great team and first class service. Thank you thank you for an unforgettable anniversary break. Dan and Kiersty...Wellington suite is lovely!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Delighted that your stay with us has prompted your first review ever! Thank you for the very positive appreciation and applause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for just one night. We were given a suite which was very nice indeed. The gentleman on the desk (Mike I believe) could not be more helpful and friendly. The building itself is beautiful and is just a short amble from the city centre. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scootaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your positive recommendation. Mike and indeed all our team are ‘helpful and friendly’ by nature. We are, as you state in a ‘beautiful building' with the good fortune of standing on a wonderful boulevard, a very short and impressive walk from the heart of Bath. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
468 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed a Saturday night and had faultless service throughout from check-in to departure. On-street parking (using a hotel token) was speedily arranged without fuss. Our room was comfortable and spacious, with a good bed and large fluffy towels, tea-making equipment, flat-screen TV etc. This is an individual hotel, full of character (built in 1789 apparently!) and well located on Great Pulteney Street for a level 5-minute stroll into the centre of bustling Bath. Excellent breakfast, especially the black pudding. Minor niggles - we had a room right at the top of the house and it's a long walk up! (there's no lift, so not suitable for those with mobility problems), the bathroom was quite small (not surprising in a Georgian building), but overall very impressive. Not cheap for a superior room, but worth it for a week-end City break treat.

Room Tip: Just be aware that there is no lift and the stairs are a little steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for a very balanced and informative review. As you note your ‘minor niggles’ are largely attributable to Dukes standing within two magnificent Grade 1 listed six storey Georgian townhouses on Great Pulteney Street, a five minute level stroll to the centre of Bath. I am delighted these minor issues aside you enjoyed an ‘excellent stay’. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was a great and pleasant surprise to find our hotel after a long journey. Nice kerb appeal and very welcoming staff (note: the staff here are some of the most guest-friendly we have encountered in the UK). The parking permit was a bonus and we found a spot just metres away. Our room was on the ground floor (Abercorn) with garden views and fitted for disabled guests if required. We are able bodied and found the room to be perfect. It isn't a huge room but we were advised that it works well for short stays, which it did.
Breakfast is served downstairs and is buffet style plus freshly cooked hot food. We tried both styles and couldn't fault anything.
When looking for parking the next day, we were given the most perfect step by step guidance. We believe that the new owners have been here for about 18 months and their aim is to have the hotel as a home from home for guests. Perfect. We will return. Highly recommended and a short flat walk to pretty much everything Bath has to offer. The room for 2 people with breakfast was £125.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mediamagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Great Pulteney Street is one of the most iconic streets in Bath; 100 feet wide and 1,000 feet in length. We are extremely fortunate to benefit from a superb location. Very pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us here at Dukes and thank for the ‘highly recommended’ commendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was a great find. Great location, right in the heart of Bath, but still nice and quiet for a good nights sleep. Everyone at the hotel was incredibly welcoming and friendly to us and our dogs, and you are a stones throw from pooch walking places too. lovely rooms full of character, with very comfortable beds too. Terrific :o)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoochMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Delighted to hear that Henrietta Park was enjoyed by your two dogs – they certainly seemed to be enjoying their ‘break away’ from normal routines. Equally I am pleased to hear that their carers found the beds and other facilities ‘terrific’. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We travelled to Bath for the weekend to watch our team play at The Rec which was part of my husbands Christmas present. I chose to stay at Dukes based on Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed!
Yes there are lots of stairs but it's a listed building in the most perfect location in the centre of Bath so that's to be expected. We knew this in advance so it wasn't a problem despite being on the top floor.
The parking permit was brilliant and we didn't need to move the car at all during our stay. Amy gave us a very warm reception and her recommendations for food and drinks were spot on.
My husband is still raving about the breakfast which he described as "the best he has had" and believe me he has had a few! We will certainly be trying to track down the black pudding served there online!!
A very big thank you to all the team working at Dukes. We had a fabulous time in Bath and can't wait to visit again (although we might not get to see a win next time!)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RochdaleVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
A number of our rooms overlook the ‘rec’ and so our location on Great Pulteney Street is pretty convenient for the rugby ! We source our black pudding from the Isle of Lewis, off the western coast of Scotland and agree that it is a wonderful accompaniment to a cooked breakfast.
We look forward to greeting you on your return – fear not Bath often wins ‘at home’. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing