We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, really good service, and very nice rooms”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A really good hotel. My wife and I and 3 teenage sons have just enjoyed an excellent couple of nights stay in the Wellington and Rutland rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for experiencing everything that Bath has to offer. There is no evening restaurant service at the hotel - but the breakfast are good; and there are plenty of good restaurants in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Bath has a very lively restaurant scene that competitively caters to all tastes and budgets. As you note there are numerous great restaurants on hand. For our part we concentrate on providing a superb breakfast and great range of unique bedrooms designed to meet the individual needs of our guests. We are very pleased that you all shared a happy and memorable stay in Bath. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

I was very impressed by the staff, very good customer service! Something that you will not experience in 99% of the hotels in London. Excellent breakfast, free parking. The room was very spacious and has a really nice and romantic atmosphere. Will be definetly back. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schickeria84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you. Very pleased to hear that you shared a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us in Bath. As you note we benefit from a super team here at Dukes, they share a natural interest in presenting all the Georgian charms of this ‘old lady’ at her very best. Many thanks and I am sure that Bath will offer you a tonic from the challenges of London life in future. We will welcome you back! With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a wonderful 3 nights here our first visit to Bath and we
were so lucky too pick Dukes the rooms staff and were excellent
service first class and very good value for money We also took advantage of there spa deal
was so good value for money and david in reception took care of all our needs
we will be back that's for sure Kath & george

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glas5552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

What a marvellous ‘birthday break’ - very pleased that you enjoyed the spa and that you had the opportunity to stay in Bath for three days. As a World Heritage City, Bath has so much to offer. However, simply having the time to stroll gently around the city and absorb the architecture and history is a delight. Lovely to hear that David looked after you both, with thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is my first review ever! Just returned from a two night stay in Bath and cannot fault this small hotel. Excellent service, wonderful staff, the best breakfast ever. Lovely suite (Wellington), clean, spacious and quiet. Dukes hotel is in a great location, very close to the centre of Bath. The arrangement with getting a parking permit worked extremely well and we were even able to keep it for a couple of hours after check out. The spa offer is very good value too. Hoping to return later in the year with our children. I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamsk764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Delighted that we have prompted you to a ‘life time first’! Thank you very much indeed for the whole hearted recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My mum and I visited Bath for a few days recently and following reviews on Tripadvisor decided to stay at the Dukes Hotel. And what a fantastic decision it was! It was such a wonderful experience. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and presented. The room we stayed in was stunning and there were bottles of water, tea and coffee and biscuits provided each day. Best of all though was the service which was exemplary. From the reception staff to the breakfast staff, each member of staff were genuinely interested in us, our stay and doing whatever they could to assist us. It genuinely was the best service I've ever experienced. The breakfasts were beautiful and there was a wide range of choice for hot breakfasts from a full English to porridge, pancakes to smoked salmon. Freshly baked pastries were also provided each day. The location of this hotel is fantastic too. Just a 2 minute walk into the centre of Bath on a lovely quiet road. I genuinely recommend this hotel very highly. It was a fantastic, personal service and a truly wonderful experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Claireabellem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you very much indeed. As a team we are delighted that we have helped ensure you enjoyed a wonderful visit to Bath. With thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

First time I have ever reviewed anything! But believe me when I say this is an amazing hotel with a great team and first class service. Thank you thank you for an unforgettable anniversary break. Dan and Kiersty...Wellington suite is lovely!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Delighted that your stay with us has prompted your first review ever! Thank you for the very positive appreciation and applause.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for just one night. We were given a suite which was very nice indeed. The gentleman on the desk (Mike I believe) could not be more helpful and friendly. The building itself is beautiful and is just a short amble from the city centre. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scootaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your positive recommendation. Mike and indeed all our team are ‘helpful and friendly’ by nature. We are, as you state in a ‘beautiful building' with the good fortune of standing on a wonderful boulevard, a very short and impressive walk from the heart of Bath. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £99 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing