We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dukes Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The reviews on this Hotel were accurate. Great position within Bath so easy access to all that Bath offers.Staff are a credit to the Hotel. The selection of breakfast options is far superior than many " chain" hotels and we will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Great Pulteney Street is recognised by many as one of the finest examples of a Georgian boulevard in Northern Europe. We take great care and pride in offering our guests the very best, freshly prepared and cooked breakfast. We look forward to your return. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    182
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
170
772
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cahersiveen, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Well the hotel is positioned great for all things to do in bath, there are restaurants within 5 min walk including an excellent Indian restaurant Rajpoot winner of places of excellence awards. The hotel staff were again excellent and the breakfast. My only observation not a complaint was that the bedroom needed some attention to detail, ie wallpaper peeling and the net curtains required a few stitches all these item were cosmetic and could be rectified in 10 minutes. This was the only thing that stopped my giving this Hotel full marks hence the four stars it really should be 4.999 stars. Would I stay there again certainly.

Room Tip: Can't advise all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Many thanks for the review and for your very helpful observations. Dukes proudly stands on Great Pulteney Street in two rather magnificent Grade 1 listed Georgian townhouses. As an antique property we have pretty much an ongoing campaign, nurturing the rooms and public areas for them to be at their best. We will address the cosmetic points that you raise once the current guests depart and hope that we will secure a 4.999 star rating on your return!! With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Once again our stay at Dukes was an excellent experience. The staff are so kind, helpful and friendly that they really do feel like friends! This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and it has been excellent every time. I can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I think a returning guest is gratifying and enjoyable for both parties – particularly when the guest describes the experience as ‘excellent’!! We look forward to your return. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights on our honeymoon in the Beaufort suite. The rooms were beautifully furnished and decorated, and spotlessly clean. Bed was very comfortable, and there was no traffic noise or disturbance of any kind. Fabulous location, only 5 minutes from town, and the parking permit system worked fine. The owner and staff couldn't have been nicer. The breakfasts - especially the various fish options!- were lovely. We highly recommend the hotel, and intend going back on our anniversary. However hard we try, we can't think of anything to complain about!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CortoMalteser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for the ‘highly recommended’ commendation. Delighted that you both enjoyed such a wonderful honeymoon! Very pleased that you found the Beaufort suite so appealing and that our breakfast offer met with approval. We take our fish pretty seriously too - haddock and kippers up from Paignton, smoked salmon from Severn and Wye fisheries and so very satisfying for us when a guest is thoroughly pleased. Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you in a years’ time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just one night in this beautiful Georgian hotel. Nothing to fault at all, the room we had, Norfolk, was on the ground floor, and was very spacious , with separate lounge area. The decor was lovely, and so in keeping with the building. The staff were really helpful, the parking permit system worked a treat, and the breakfast was really good.... Try the black pudding!!..... It takes no more than 5 to 10 mins to walk to the centre of Bath and it's wonderful attractions and architecture. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for the ‘highly recommended’ commendations. Our location on Great Pulteney Street offers many room guests a phenomenal view over this iconic boulevard. All guests enjoy the majesty of the gentle stroll along; what many argue is the finest Georgian boulevard in Europe into the heart of Bath. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Everything about this hotel is wonderful. From the warm welcome when you arrive, the lovely rooms, comfortable beds, fluffy towels and terrific breakfast, to the convenient location and the free parking. We left our car outside in the street with their parking permit displayed and didn't go near it again till we left two days later. Carol, the owner, and the smiling Dave greeted us warmly on arrival and Carol offered warm madelines and a chat at breakfast. The rooms were beautifully furnished and ours, the Nelson, was on the ground floor, so we had no problem with there being no lift. Even the lighting in the bathroom was the best of our trip - there's a woman's touch evident here!
The only slight problem we had was that the wifi in our room was very poor, but I know if we had complained, they would have gone out of their way to fix it. The staff here are brilliant. I wouldn't even look for another hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room if the absence of a lift is a problem - they are labelled on the web site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Navigat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Delighted that you have taken home very happy memories of your time here in Bath. Great that you were able to leave the car with us and go off on foot for two days without a concern, it really is so much better that a £15 a day parking fee. Lovely that you found the room so appealing and breakfast ‘terrific’. Our complimentary WiFi is generally very good and so I am sorry that on this occasion it appears to have been a little patchy. Very pleased to hear that you found the team ‘brilliant’ and that all pretty much met with your approval! With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We loved our stay here.

The staff were really nice and very helpful.

Our room (Grafton) looked great and had a lovely view. The bed was super comfortable and the kettle, tea bags and cookie jar were much appreciated. The butler's tray was great for a leisurely snack in bed.

There's no lift, so you may need to walk up a few flights of stairs.

A 15 minute leisurely walk from the train station. Note that the hotel entrance isn't on Great Pulteney St but just off it, on Edward Street. Took us a while to find it for that reason.

We still miss the breakfast. So good! The stewed prunes are to die for. The porridge with whisky and brown sugar grows on you. And the eggs, bacon, black pudding, fried tomatoes, pancakes, toast, pastries…

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
We use French Agen prunes, they are stewed on our gas range in a sugar, cinnamon stick, and citrus liquor until it is greatly reduced and then steeped in the spiced syrup for a while longer. Our apricots are treated in a similar manner with fresh orange peel and one or two other natural flavours…………all to add to their appeal. The Grafton and indeed all the rooms on the ‘terrace side’ of the property are bathed in daylight and sunshine - as and when! Those higher up the property have increasingly far reaching views over the 'rec' and towards the Somerset hills, as a dividend for the ascent without escalator.. Thank you for your review – lovely for us and the team to feel so appreciated and part of a very happy and successful trip to Bath. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing