We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb B&B”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I spent a night at Dukes (no apostrophe) right at the end of July, when the city of Bath was dripping with glorious sunshine.

From the railway station, Dukes is about as far as any hotel in Bath, and we traipsed past a number of perfectly good-looking hotels as we wondered how much further it would be. In truth, nowhere is Bath is very far from anywhere else (it being a very small city), and our total walking time from the station to the hotel wasn't more than twenty minutes.

Dukes is close enough to the city centre to be convenient for all manner of excursions, whilst being far enough to provide a peaceful place to rest. I am so glad we chose this quiet corner of Bath, rather than one of the hostels or hotels along the busy and noisome main thoroughfares.

Check-in is from 2 p.m. but we arrived earlier in the morning, having just come up from London. While Dukes can make arrangements for earlier arrivals, we didn't feel the need to bother with this. Instead we just deposited our bag at reception, signed in and the went off to explore the city. When we returned to the hotel later that evening, our bag had already been taken up to our room and everything was ready for us.

Dukes is situated in a lovely row of Georgian houses, just a stone's throw from the Holburne Museum and a short walk from Pultney Bridge with all its delightful cafes and shops and views of the river.

The hotel itself is, I think, properly considered to be a 'bed and breakfast' (B&B). As such, don't come expecting a 5-star resort experience. It is what it is. And for a B&B it is simply wonderful.

The staff are professional, polite, cheerful, friendly, helpful and seem to take a genuine interest in the comfort and well-being of their guests. While rooms may be hit or miss, great service will always make me remember a hotel fondly and recommend it to others.

And that is by no means a way of saying that the room was sub-par! Indeed, the room we chose ('Buccleuch') was so nice that we changed our minds about going out for the evening and decided just to stay in.

Our room was one of the two 'four-poster' rooms, and is really more like a small suite with double doors separating the bedroom from the sitting room. The ceilings were very high and gave a great sense of space. The bed was comfortable; there was plenty of storage space; two televisions (one in the bedroom, one in the sitting room); and there were lovely period touches throughout.

Being a 'period' hotel, Dukes boasts some lovely design details but also must suffer the vagaries of creaking floorboards and other signs of age that newer hotels aren't troubled by. But still, if you're coming to Bath (and to Dukes) to soak up Georgian splendor, then far from being a source of complaint, these details must surely count as positive charms!

At this point I think it important to reiterate that this is a B&B, which used to mean cramped rooms and communal bathrooms! The cost of rooms at Dukes is very low; so the furniture is perhaps looking a little worn; so the tap in the bathroom is perhaps a little loose; so the front door is locked after 11; so what? You're given the access code to the front door when you check in; your room is comfortable and spacious; the toiletries are by Penhaligon's; there's free wi-fi; oh and the breakfast is absolutely first rate.

My wife and I were the first down to breakfast, as we had an early train to catch, and we feasted on the buffet options as well as on the full, cooked breakfasts. For those who are concerned about the welfare of the animals that they eat, or who are concerned about what potentially nasty, mass-produced stuff they might be ingesting, the back of the menu describes where all the meat and fish come from, with the black pudding coming from an award-winning Scottish producer and sausages from a local farmer and so on.

Well-rested and fully-fed, my wife and I headed off to the train station and I resolved to write a positive review of Dukes. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Bath.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomspencer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
For all of us time is a very precious commodity. We are flattered and appreciative that you have invested a great deal of time and effort in 'singing our praises'. Thank you for the very positive recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    190
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
181
826
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

What a Great Hotel - everything was just perfect- the location- close to town, the staff- couldnt do enough for us; the room- wonderful. Breakfast was superb. would certainly recommend it - we had a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for the ‘perfect weekend’ review – lovely to feel that we so comprehensively enhanced you visit to Bath. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Finally getting around to writing a review because i think this hotel deserves it.
Room: we got an upgrade to a suite which was very tastefully done up. Spacious and clean

Service: Very welcoming staff and infact the lady at check-in after seeing us arrive haggard from the rain and long travel with a small kid upgraded us to a suite. The staff was always smiling and accomodated requests like serving tea for us in the garden at odd hours as well

Location: walking distance from the main part of the town(10-15 minutes)

Food: Ordered room service the first night which was quite nice and breakfast spread was decent

Room Tip: The place does not have an elevator, so request for a lower floor if you have some baggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhinav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Our location on Great Pulteney Street offers guests a magnificent 5 minute level walk into the very heart of Bath. Delighted to hear that along with many other guests this year, you enjoyed sitting out in our terraced garden – a peaceful sun trap – just right for reflecting on the beauty of Bath! With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We can highly recommend this hotel for a perfect place to stay in Bath, the staff are a credit. Our room was perfect for us ,it was a great size with everything you need for a short stay, nothing was any trouble if you needed anything extra .
The breakfast was amazing , can honestly say the salmon and scrambled egg were the best we have had anywhere ,
Thanks guys, hope to visit Dukes and Bath again very soon



Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for the ‘highly recommended’ commendation. We have a super team who delight in helping make each stay into a ‘special stay’ With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troed-y-rhiw, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Dukes Hotel. Very friendly staff, nice room and great breakfast selection. So close to the town centre it was a breeze to pop back and forth. Our room was a bit small with some stupidly placed furniture and if we were to stay here again I would want a bigger place. Overall well worth a stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We have 17 unique bedrooms on offer, our reception team will do their best to describe the rooms available and best meet your needs and preferences. We welcome and await your return !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel last weekend with friends. Everything about it for us was perfect from the moment we arrived. All the staff were very friendly and couldn't put themselves out enough to help you. Great breakfast and very clean rooms. All the staff were very friendly but 'John' real name David was a great character who was very helpful to us in choosing restaurants and giving us advice on places to go. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have problems with stairs it is best to call the hotel rather than book o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dendanjims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
All our team endeavour to offer our guests, unforced hospitality. We are immensely proud of our location on Great Pulteney Street and want for little more than to enhance a guests visit to the magnificent, World Heritage City of Bath. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is within very easy walking distance to the city centre. All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly. Room was just as we required with a good bed and large bathroom. Good range of options available for breakfast. In all highly recommend this place, made our stay in Bath perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for the ‘highly recommended’ commendation. We have 17 unique rooms on offer and will do our uttermost to ensure that your needs are best met. Our reception is open from early until late and so please do not hesitate in giving us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing