We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dukes Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$450
US$382
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Bath Priory(Bath)
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$206
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$231
US$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,358)
Filter reviews
1,358 results
Traveller rating
1,129
197
20
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,129
197
20
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking permitmadeleinesgreat pulteney streetbeaufort roomtop floorno liftgeorgian hotelblack puddingfour postercity centreflights of stairsstreet parkingbox of chocolatesfull englishbreakfast was deliciouskippersfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,223 - 1,228 of 1,358 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2010

This is our second visit to the Dukes Hotel as we decided we would spend our 30th Anniversary in Bath. Both experiences have exceptional as the staff are always helpful and very friendly.

The Georgian rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bath as the location is perfect and the use of a permit takes the worry out of trying to parking in this city.

We so enjoyed this last stay that we have already booked our next visit. A big thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken58London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here from 2 to 3 August 2010 with a party of family & friends totalling 12 including our 14-month old granddaughter. All the team at Dukes Hotel went out of their way to ensure that my special birthday was a splendid occasion from the moment we arrived. We were able to relax over afternoon tea & birthday gateau in the delightful patio garden. In the evening we were served champagne & delicious canapes (also in the garden) followed by an excellent dinner with all the trimmings in their comfortable and well appointed private dining room. My little granddaughter was also made welcome and was able to participate in the proceedings. We and all our guests commented on how comfortable and spacious the bedrooms were. Breakfast and car parking arrangements were also excellent, as was the quiet situation of the hotel conveniently within walking distance of Bath City centre but away from the hustle & bustle. My thanks to all the team for making it such a memorable two days.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vgterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The Dukes Hotel has a lot of charm. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a charming room with an adjoining bathroom. The English breakfast was very good. We ate in the restaurant for dinner. It was quite expensive but we had a good meal. My only complaint was the lack of air conditioning. We happened to stay during a hot spell and would have used A/C had it been available. Also, beware - there is no elevator! We were on the 4th floor so be prepared to walk up.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

After a frustrating journey, flight cancelled courtesy of a strike by British Airways cabin staff, we arrived at Dukes feeling somewhat jaded. Our welcome was lovely. Parking permit issued and car emptied of luggage we were delighted to be up-graded to a suite. They had noticed our luggage size, quite large, as we were to travel in Europe for some weeks and had a wedding to attend in the UK, and they thought that we might be more comfortable with more room.
The hotel is in a superb position, very convenient to all the many attractions that Bath has to offer. It is so atmospheric, you can almost see Jane Austen coming round the corner. Mike, the receptionist, is very knowledgeable about Bath and we were grateful for his input. Breakfast was pleasant and the service was fine.
After the endlesss journey from Australia, the welcome at Dukes was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agtowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Me and my wife stayed at the Dukes Hotel for 1 night in July. The building is Georgian style, and we were given a parking permit so we could park on the road outside the hotel (which is very useful in a city like Bath). The location of this hotel is one of the best things about it. Located on Great Pulteney street, it is within 5 minutes walking distance of the city centre, but far enough out so that you are unlikely to be disturbed late in the night by any noisy people on their way home. Very conveniant if you are planning on walking around the city centre a lot. (Which we did)

The room we stayed in was Athol, a four poster suite, and it was far bigger than I expected it to be, the bed was very nice and comfortable and we even had a small hallway with wardrobes in between the bedroom and (again large) bathroom. We were very impressed.

The cooked breakfast in the morning was very nice but nothing out of this world. The receptionists were very welcoming and friendly, and offered to help with our bags up the stairs. Overall, very good service, and with a smile.

Although this is not the cheapest hotel in bath, we would happily stay here again if visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gav_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews