We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly comfort”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Stayed for a 2 night post christmas break and what a great stay! Very friendly staff, an excellent location only 5 minutes walk from the town centre. We stayed in the Norfolk suite on the ground floor which was very convenient because of an elderly dog, Ben. The suite had huge rooms, very well appointed and very comfortable. Whenever we went out or returned, Ben visited the reception staff who made a great fuss of him. It was great to stay at a hotel which really welcomed dogs rather than merely tolerated them.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

Last year we stayed at Dukes in Bath for the first time, when we couldn't get in our normal hotel who were demanding 2 night stays. It was such a fantastic stay, we didn't hesitate to book this year. Our fellow guests were also Dukes fans and we all agreed that the staff, headed by manager, Mike make this hotel. In addition, the restaurant is superb. We booked an all inclusive dinner, bed and breakfast, as we didn't want to go elsewhere.
Dukes is not modern and there isn't a lift, but if you're looking for a place to stay, where you could expect an Austen heroine to walk in at anytime, this is the place. You feel transformed to another age in decor and with the service. We are always recommending this hotel to friends and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serenfach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We found this hotel on the web (a very last minute trip to Bath) and extremely impressed. Soo much better then the website! We were made to feel very welcome and felt that nothing would be too much trouble. Mike, Front of House, was very knowledgeable and professional. We were given the choice of two rooms (both of which were upgrades) - both were wonderfully decorated with high quality furnishings and very spacious (5*). Parking was easy as we were given a residents permit and it is a short walk into Bath so it took away the hassle of parking in the town.
Breakfast good with excellent service.
Very good value - it is not a large hotel so does not have the full amenities of a large hotel but as a boutique hotel, excellent - it does have a small cosy bar and a small restaurant. All in all a fantastic find!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldblueeyes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We stayed for two nights at Dukes and found it a really nice place to stay on one of Bath's best preserved streets. The room we stayed in was on the first floor and was, there's no other work for it, enormous! It had a four poster bed, a sofa, several chairs and a separate annex with a wardrobe and the bathroom. The large windows opened on Great Pulteney st and offered lovely views of the famous Bath architecture.
The room was very warm, which was good as it was 1C outside when we were there and it's good to know the room will be warm when you get back.
Breakfast was included and was very good, there was a small table with pastries, cereals and meusli ( which was not your average stuff, but really good with lots of fruit, nuts etc). Then there was the toast which was brought to the table (choice of breads) and the various options for cooked breakfasts like bacon, eggs ( black pudding for the adventurous).
All in all our stay was excellent, and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed two nights there. From the beginning we checked in, we loved this place. The reception manager, Mike, is a very nice, gentle and interesting person. He would like to share the knowledge of the city and everything to you. During the night shift, the receptionist, Roman, is another nice guy. At night, even though they gave you the code to enter the hotel, as long as Roman can recognize you and see you are going to enter the hotel, he would drop by and help you open the door.

The room (Montrose) is romantic and comfy; the bath room is very clean and super nice for taking a bath!!
The breakfast is very good; the quality of the food, the atmosphere, and the service.
The only thing we may not satisfy is the wireless. There was a problem of providing stable wireless when we stayed. The hotel did apologize for the inconvenient.

In general, all the staffs in the hotel are nice, gentle and willing to help. They make you feel like home, and if they have time, they would love to chat with you. From that point of view, I would say they are excellent!! Definitely I would love to visit that hotel again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at Dukes Hotel in Bath this last weekend and feel we have discovered a real gem - beautifully appointed Georgian building with comfortable, characterful rooms and tip top cleanliness. A 5 minute walk from the town centre yet quiet and away from traffic noise. The staff were all excellent but the chef was outstanding - the menu offered beautiful, imaginative, seasonal food served with flair and style. Both dinner and breakfast were superb. We would definitely stay here again and would urge visitors to Bath to try the restaurant here even if not staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This is a delightful hotel set perfectly just out from the hubub of the town centre along the beautiful Great Pulteney Street. The staff and service were excellent, although the hotel was not busy, we did not feel over fussed and were thrilled with our room upgrade! We ended up in a suite that meant we were almost tempted to be there and not exploring Bath!
We ate in the Cavendish Resteraunt and were treated like kings, with impeccable service and delicious food. It was quiet but we did not feel at all conspicuous.
Breakfast was possibly the weakest part of the package but that is being cruel to be kind. A little more thought could elevate the breakfast to the same high standards as everything else. Having said that, we did not hesitate to enjoy the breakfast on both days!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £98 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing