We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed as a family and had a few extra for breakfast in the morning, at 17.50 for a very average breakfast. Rooms ok nothing special but at over£ 300 per night, a rip-off

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,886
    1,213
    666
    311
    151
See reviews for
579
2,688
64
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

I had previously used this hotel last year for a conference and was very concerned as to whether it would be the same, last year was a tragedy.

This time however i have to say that i was more than pleasantly surprised. There is a new manager (Paul) that seems to have taken the place in hand and seems to be making it work. Paul met us before the conference to go through all the details, he introduced us to the young lady that was going to be looking after us, (Danni) nothing seemed too much hassle and they always seemed to be in the building.

The conference rooms were well stocked with equipment, we didn't have to chase things up, everything we requested was on hand and if there was something we didn't then it wasn't long in arriving. Breakfast was a bit slow but it seemed to me like the whole hotel had descended on the dining room at the same time.

My advice if you are looking for conference in Bath is to visit The Bath Spa, but go down early for breakfast. Also speak to Paul, (he may be able to fix you up with a free pass for the spa. Wink Wink!!

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade to the Imperials
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ametamuckybride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

For a five star hotel paying £250 per night this hotel is disgraceful.Check in was fine , the room was fine. Negatives include: yellow barrier to car park. Are we entering a prison? Not a good start! We had a meal on the first night in the Velore restaurant. The member if staff that greeted us couldn't quite understand us and after repeating ourselves several times got seated. Forget an intimate dinner, the tables are so close together you can hear each others conversation! I made a joke to my partner and the woman on the next table laughed! We had our first course and waited an age to have our plates cleared . The wine waiter was too busy to see us so the waitress took our wine order! Our main course was fine but we had to ask for the table to be cleared! I could not face another long wait for dessert so asked for the bill . We waited so long that in the end we just got up and went to leave. Action at last!! like a shot someone was there to see to the bill. The cost of drinks in the bar were comparable to Knightsbridge in London!!! Breakfast was the same Fawlty towers fiasco we waited 40
minutes for our order to be taken and gave up in the end, leaving without breakfast. On complaining, we got a refund for our breakfast . Five star??? The hotel needs to seriously look at these repetitive negative reviews and act in them! It is NOT acceptable for a 5 star hotel to warn you to avoid certain times at breakfast as it is busy Employ more staff!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christineangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

An excellent place to celebrate a special occasion - superb facilities, quality and customer service. We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary for our third return stay there and had our room upgraded ro a lovely four-poster room.

Marvelous!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Johnson186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tamborine, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Check in was tedious and 'affectedly superior' to the extent that I wondered what we were staying in. This impression dissipated when we found how friendly and informative the staff were. Rooms and breakfast good. We chose the hotel as it had car parking, but were surprised that there was a charge for parking.
Easy 15 minute walk down hill to city centre, we always took a taxi back up the hill.
Google maps send you to the back of the Hotel.
Did not use spa or dining room for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob644409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would definitely return. The hotel is set in its own grounds, making it a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. There is a car park (parking is £5 per stay) and it's a pleasant 10 minute walk into the centre of Bath. We were given a free upgrade so the room was very spacious with a four poster bed. The bathroom felt luxurious with Molton Brown toiletries, a heated towel rail and a TV speaker with a volume control. Hotel staff were very attentive and turned down the bed whilst we were out in the evening ready for our return (they also turned on the lamps and put Classic FM on the TV which was a bit spooky the first time as we thought someone was in our room!). Breakfast at the hotel was excellent. Hot food was cooked to order and there was also a buffet of fruit, cereal, croissants etc. We used the hotel swimming pool and spa facilities which were ok but the indoor jacuzzi didn't seem to work. We were disappointed that the spa facilities hadn't been better sign posted from the pool as we didn't discover the steam room and saunas until our last day. Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Booked 4 suites for 50th Birthday treat.
Cannot find fault with anything.
Staff most accomodating and polite.
Spa is great.
Will be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R&HLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing