We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spa Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Spa Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed for a few days in April for a spa break. The Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel really made our stay relaxing and comfortable, they even turn back the beds at night and lay out your complementary slippers. Staff are very friendly and always around to help with anything. The Hotel is absolutely beautiful and the food excellent. The spa is one of the best we have visited,they have thought of most things and is kept extremely clean. The beauty rooms are also one of the best we have indulged in. The therapist professional and the facilities are just perfect for relaxing and pampering. We shall be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,872
    1,200
    653
    307
    149
See reviews for
577
2,657
63
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My family and I have just returned from an excellent stay at the Bath Spa Hotel. The service was extremely good and everyone was very helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived we were greated by a very helpful man at reception who gave us some useful tips and places of interest to visit while we were in Bath and the Concierge showed us around the hotel. We ate one night in the hotel and the food was very good and we also found the breakfast more than adequate. We used the pool at the Spa but were slightly disappointed that the children had to vacate the pool by 5pm but that was our only niggle. We had interconnecting rooms on the Garden Level which were probably more 4* than 5* but having said that they were very clean and spacious. Bath is a fabulous place to visit and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel as somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine39London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I had an excellent stay at the Bath Spa Hotel: The service, room and facilities were the best I have ever encountered at any hotel I have stayed in. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a relaxing and luxurious stay; from the moment you arrive you get the 5 star treatment. Thank you so much to all the fantastic staff.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Sycamore suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainePaske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Having read a number of reviews about this hotel I was a little wary about the booking. My husband and I were travelling to Bath for one day and night only and wanted to stay somewhere special. I looked at the Royal Crescent and here and basically opted for his due to the price - it was approx. £100 cheaper!
We arrived about 11am and our room wasn't ready, but this wasn't a problem as we wanted to explore the City anyhow.
Contrary to other reviews we were greeted very warmly. The staff were very helpful - young and enthusiastic, giving us a good recommendation for breakfast in the town.
As we were only there one day we wanted to make the most of the hotels facilities so came back mid afternoon to use the pool etc. It was a decent enough pool, though don't expect a particularly relaxing soak. There just isn't the ambience that you would expect from a 5* hotel, for example there are a few loungers around the pool but its just not very luxurious. For example it wasn't possible to sit and have a drink by the pool.
We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel or breakfast as we had an early flight but we did have afternoon tea and this was absolutely lovely - just as you would imagine....little sandwiches, cakes, scones with clotted cream and jam. It was reasonably priced and one between two was plenty. Again the staff in the lounge area could not have been more pleasant.
In my opinion (unlike some of the other reviews) it is the staff here hat really make the place - for example when getting ready to head out for the evening we realised that we had forgotten to pack deodorant (didn't want to check luggage) so I embarrasingly called the concierge and enquired if we could get some. The young guy said he would be happy to send someone out for us but if we wanted we could borrow his! He brought us his rightguard up straight away and saved any hassle - just a really nice guy and down to earth.
Bath is a gorgeous City and this hotel was very good - we would be happy to return.
Regarding location the hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk into the main shopping area - a lovely walk through a pretty park.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackeral1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights. Like so many other reviewers we were left astonishied and disappointed by the disorganised, lazy, uncaring service.

The website states check in at 2. We arrived at 2.30 and yet still were made to wait for nearly an hour until we could go to our room. The worst things about this were the unsympathetic receptionists, who couldn't give us a straight answer and kept on insisting it would be "15 minutes" over and over. 5 or 6 other guests were left stranded in the same way, and there weren't enough places to sit, or a closet that they would put your bags into, so we were trapped stood pathetically in the lobby. We ended up starting our break stressed and annoyed - only by insisting on speaking to the manager were we eventually given refreshments and straight answers, but even this was done patronisingly with just a grudging, defensive apology.

Please if you stay here do not pay £25 a head for breakfast - what a farce that was. On the first morning we were asked to order our breakfast 'Premier Inn' style (although the food was not as nice as it is in that establishment - I'm serious!!) There was no menu choice for breakfast at all really - hardly 5 star!!! It took about 20 minutes for our order to be taken, toast and coffee was brought out which became cold as we waited. Poached eggs that I asked to be runny came out solid, and when I ordered some warm toast it came out long after I'd finished my breakfast! Even more oddly the next day there was no ordering, it had turned to a tiny buffet style scrum affair, with cold scrambled eggs and tomatoes the only thing available when we arrived - I refused to pay this time, Cold breakfast choices were limited and unimaginative and overall I would compare this breakfast to a 2 star hotel, not a 5! You're about a 10 minutes walk from a bakery in town - please don't waste your money and up your stress levels by bothering with breakfast!

I liked the look of the hotel, it is rather old-fashioned, but I find that quite charming. Our room was large and cosy. It did seem in need of an update, with half ripped off signs on the bath, filthy grouting and an ancient, non-digital TV system, along very measly and basic coffee and tea supplies (although I liked having a teapot!). Garden View was a bit of a stretch given we faced the car park, but we didn't hear a sound at night-time.

The Spa really is wonderful, moving beyond your basic sauna, steam set-up and including a salt-infusion room and an ice room, plus a warm outdoor pool that you can actually swim to from inside. Again we were met by poor service though, with a very severe man patronising me about not losing a key as if I was a school child rather than a grown woman (I didn't lose it, but I felt like spitting on it!)

The bar (you have to walk through a restaurant to find it!) was lovely and quaint, with a real 20s feel. For once I appreciated the slow service as the bar man spent about 10 minutes carefully constructing our delicious cocktails.

Bath is a wonderful place to visit, but if I came here again I would never stay at this hotel. Instead I'd go somewhere cheaper and pay the money for one of the many day spas in town - I think this way we would still save money on what we spent. Service is so important, you need it to feel at home when you're away from home, and it should be part of what you pay for. At this hotel I got the feeling guests were seen as more of an annoyance than an asset. Every problem we had, when we looked around, was being faced by many others. The hotel is under-staffed. Noone seems to know what they are doing, the management is patronising, defensive and unapologetic, and what should be such a relaxing place only gets your stress levels up - I strongly recommend you don't stay here. We couldn't wait to leave in the end, so much so we forewent extra time in the Spa on check-out morning. 5 star establishments must really be expected to make a lot more effort to ensure their customers are satisfied - you can tell this place doesn't care from the fact noone even responds to the views on here.

Room Tip: Be assertive! If they mess up do complain and they will grudgingly do something about it, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just returned from a lovely 2 night break in Bath, I can highly recommend the macdonald bath spa hotel. After reading several bad reviews I was slightly worried about what to expect, however as soon as we entered the hotel gates I knew we would be in for a lovely stay. Upon arrival the maid was still cleaning our room however reception were very apologetic and offered us free drinks whilst waiting. Our room a standard twin was lovely not at all dirty as some suggest! We really enjoyed the spa especially the heated outdoor pool! Breakfast was delicious and staff very friendly.

The walk into town is a leisurely 10 to 15 mins through a lovely park, look out for the orient express which runs through it.

Would not consider staying anywhere else in bath!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 302 lovely decor however no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
224 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

but in this case it frankly isn't.

In Bath for a very special occasion, we opted for a special place to spend the night - and frankly wish we hadn't

The hotel itself is magnificent, the grounds and the setting are simply superb, the decor and general appearance less so, and the standard of service just something which didn't merit the ticket price or the 5 star rating.

I followed up the poor service levels with the GM,

Martin J. Clubbe

General Manager

whose response was between the negative and the denial, with a hint of patronising.

His reply was factually incorrect, as he stated that noone else had complained about the service..... well obviously the guy doesn't read other reviews on Trpadvisor.....

No idea why this place can command the prices it does, other than Bath is a tourist magnet which is wholly under supplied by hotels.

My advice - do what plenty of other people did who attended the same event - get a b and b or book the Travelodge - at least if our room rate is reasonable your expectaions are not set too high !

So...... stay here and be rewarded with dissappointment !

Please look at my other reviews of other hotels I have stayed at worldwide - I always give praise where it's due, and measured criticism where i think it valid.... this is the most negative review I have ever writen !

McDonald bath - nul points !

Room Tip: to get a good room in bath - stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing