We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A first visit to a superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A first visit to a superb hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We are very widely travelled and have stayed in a huge range of hotels across Europe, Asia, Africa and N America.
Quite simply this was the best hotel we have ever been in.
Our room was well appointed in every detail and, situated on the third floor, gave us wonderful views over the city.
All the staff with whom we dealt were polite, helpful and thoroughly professional from the moment that we arrived until our check out.
The selection at breakfast was excellent and the food well cooked and served.
I have read the negative comments elsewhere about the parking charge. On the one hand I agree with them as I find parking charges in UK a rip off from one end of the country to the other; on the other hand £5.00 for a long weekend in a major tourist destination where everything is within walking distance is a snip.
I did not use the spa but my 'other half' did and found it first class.
Final comment: I hope that we will be back soon and am looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasseistamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,888
    1,213
    667
    312
    151
See reviews for
579
2,691
64
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have stayed in quite a few Macdonald Hotels (which we cannot recommend highly enough)and found this one the best so far, quite superb in fact. The hotel is splendid to behold, both inside and out, in a lovely, quiet and very convenient location only ten minutes walk from the city centre and tourist sites. Car park facilities are very good with only a small charge levied for the entire stay - £5 I think (not per day as suggested by the web site). Every member of staff (and I mean EVERY member) performed to a very high standard and were a credit to the company; very helpful, cheerful, friendly and profesional. The hotel is very elegant, superbly decorated and classy but without being 'stuffy' or pretentious - fully deserving of its five star rating as far as I am concerned. The check-in experience was very slick and a lovely member of staff (Hazel?) gave us a guided tour and showed us to our room. We were upgraded to a garden view room situated on the ground floor opposite the spa - a lovely quiet location. The room was large, spotlessly clean and very very well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and we thouroughly enjoyed the accomodation provided. Breakfast was excellent when served in either the Velore or al fresco dining area...........additional supplements cannot though be justified in my view when already paying £20 for a cooked meal. We enjoyed tea and cakes served in the longe area (good value) and a wonderful evening meal in the Velore room - not cheap but well worth it. Found alcoholic drinks almost prohibitively expensive though (over £10 for small cocktail) and the room service well, difficult to justify nearly £14 for a cheese sandwich when 'tray charge' of £5 factored in!! Enjoyed using the spa which was very well equipped and also a treatment at extra charge - again quite expensive BUT superb and well worth it for a treat. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and, although far from cheap, found the hotel exceeded our expectations in every respect - would highly recommend without hesitation and look forward to going back. The staff made our stay extra special - a very big well done to all of them!

Room Tip: Try and get a garden view room - great standard and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenningHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

As the taxi drove up the long and beautiful drive to our hotel, I thought "We must of come to the wrong place!" My husband assured me this was the correct hotel! It was so very, very beautiful! The staff was also wonderful! The room, was beautiful! The bathroom, to die for! Would we stay there again, you bet we would, in a nano second! This is a 5 star hotel for good reasons!

Room Tip: If you can, travel off season for a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsDMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I chose this hotel for my party of ten girls joining me on my hen party weekend. The hotel is beautiful, and the spa facilities and the outdoor heated pool are lovely. However as a party of ten and a hen do, I was expecting maybe a bit more attention. Firstly we spent over £2000.00 with them for hotel rooms and spa treatments, and they still charged me £5 parking for each car! Even pointing out the fact we were spending so much money with them already, they wouldn't budge!! there was no free bottle of wine or champagne which I would have expected for such a special occassion. One of my girls had to drop out last minute, the hotel would not provide her a refund, and because two people were sharing one room, they still charged for two people even though there was only one guest in that particular room. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the centre of Bath, being a hen party we did have one night out in the town, and it was nice to know that the hotel has someone at front desk all night so we didn't have to worry about getting back for a certain time. The food was lovely, but unfortunately at breakfast in the morning, we were seated but then waited over an hour for a cooked breakfast and the service was not up to standard. it seems that they struggled to cope feeding big parties and I was not impressed as Our party had other things planned which we were now late for. There were a number of eastern European staff at this hotel, but I must say they were more hard working then the English staff and a lot more attentive and polite, the English staff let us down. Brilliant hotel but would not advise to go with a big group, as you don't get any benefits or extras and it seems the hotel struggle a bit with big parties.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

There is a huge gap between the way this hotel is marketed, priced and sold and the reality of what it is actually like. Potential guests must really take this into consideration before booking. We agreed to pay £325 per night for a 2 night break and ended up leaving after one night. On arrival (at the not unusual hour of 8pm), it was clear that for a large property there were hardly any staff; the first room we were shown wasn't cleaned properly and some of the lights weren't working; the second room was better but was tired and the bathrooms were particularly dated. During breakfast we discovered a 'human hair' in the eggs benedict and none of the TV channels were tuned correctly in the room. In short, we couldn't relax and there were a series of problems that spoilt the stay. I spoke to Brian, a duty manager; who to be fair dealt with my complaints calmly and with speed, cancelled my second night and any extras we had consumed and seemed to show an all too familiar empathy with my problems. I suspected it wasn't the first time he had heard such complaints. The prices set an expectation that the hotel simply cannot meet. I suggest staying here once they have a makeover!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Very enjoyable stay.Wet weather on our first day so we stayed in and made use of the excellent spa . Would have preferred it to be adults only as it felt like a kids club in the pool. Noisy and lots of crying. Don't think they were staying at the hotel but simply paying to use the facility. It rather spoilt the ambience.
The bar and lounge were relaxing with attentive but not pushy staff. Evening meal excellent. Portion size ample - I hate being over-fed! Delicious petit fours. It will be nice when the dining room gets the new chairs they are expecting
Next day the concierge was most helpul directing us to Castlecombe & Lacock - two very pretty villages.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Spent one night recently at Spa Hotel. Did not match up to its 5* rating, more 4*. Staff very helpful but parts of hotel very shabby. Dining room very bland and some seats badly stained and with burns in them. Food excellent, well presented and very tasty. Room good size, nicely presented but walls very thin especially between floors. Spent an interesting time listening to the man in the room above who had bladder troubles using the bathroom a couple of times during the night. You could hear everything!

I was not happy that we and others had to queue for breakfast about 5 minutes and then having sat down with a cool coffee and toast had to remind the head waiter to take our order for a full english. No real apology forthcoming. Although the breakfast was very nice it was not worth £19.50.

Overall a lovely hotel but on the odd occasion resembled McDonald not Macdonalds.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arundel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing