We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, few staff, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
601 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 753 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, few staff, poor service”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

What a shame - this once great hotel has seen standards continually slip. Few staff, who seem poorly managed and demotivated and disorganised. Feels like i went to a different hotel to tome other reviewers. To top it all a £5 per day parking fee just rubs it in how far it has slipped. The spa is good, rooms nice but overall a poor experience

Room Tip: Room overlooking the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,885
    1,213
    666
    311
    151
See reviews for
579
2,688
64
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My girlfriend and I escaped from London for a weekend getaway in Bath in early November and stayed at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel and loved the place but with a few minor niggles. The hotel is a beautiful Georgian property with lovely gardens and a great spa attached. We arrived on Friday afternoon and stored our luggage as the room wasn't ready and went straight to the spa. We had massages booked and were well treated by the spa staff who were friendly and offered a great massage. We then spent the afternoon relaxing in the heated outdoor pool, jacuzzi and steam and sauna rooms including a freezing cold ice room which was a great way to unwind after the workweek. The spa is very modern, clean and relaxing.

We then checked into the room in the evening which had our luggage already in it which was a nice touch. The room was nice, clean and well presented but had a few issues that made it less then perfect. First we found a video game in-between the bed and night table but we also discovered that the lamp was dusty and the lampshade very old and broken/cracked, the wardrobe doors didn't shut properly so the light inside was always on, the Do Not Disturb sign was missing, the towel rack was also not working and the closer you looked at the room the more it looked like it needed a refurb to bring it into a better condition. Having said that though the room was still of a good standard and had Molton Brown toiletries and a nice view over the front garden of the property.

We then had a lovely romantic dinner in the Vellore Restaurant which although formal and upscale was also friendly and a nice quiet place to have a relaxing meal after the day at the spa (dress up though as its a more formal restaurant). The food was well prepared and presented and the staff helpful and talkative.

We spent Saturday in central Bath which is a lovely scenic 10 minute walk away. I will mention here that the hotel staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and as a former hotel manager myself I would say that the staff are above reproach. Every time you pass Reception someone will say hello, ask how you are, ask if you need anything and dispense advice about the hotel, restaurants, Bath highlights and things to see and the spa. They are very knowledgeable and seem so happy to help. It is an excellent service and should be noted as a top feature of the hotel.

We also had breakfast both days which I will say was good but with a few rough patches. The hotel has a cold buffet but all hot food has to be ordered. I know that this is to ensure that food is hot and fresh but the problem is that it means service is slow and prone to delays when people pile in at peak times such as 30 minutes before closing. This is not necessarily the hotel's fault but they may need to look into having some hot buffet options to reduce the wait times as on the Saturday we had to wait quite a bit for our sausages and eggs and such. However once again the service was wonderful, staff friendly and accommodating and the food was fresh, top quality and delicious.

Sunday we were checked out by a friendly Receptionist (Ellen?) before spending the rest of the day at the spa. Once again the concierges were extremely helpful with luggage storage, directions to the train station etc.

Overall I would say that the MacDonald Bath Spa hotel is a great place to spend a weekend with a great spa, helpful staff and lovely food but the hotel's rooms probably need refurbishing and updating to bring them back up to a 5 star standard. I would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for newly refurbished rooms or rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Our 3rd visit to this hotel and what a truly fantastic time we had. The staff are so welcoming and friendly in all areas of the hotel. Following us settling into our room we received a call from the concierge to see if all was OK and to let him know if there was anything we needed, a lovely touch. The hotel room was clean, warm and very comfortable. We relaxed to the full in the spa which was glorious. Had lunch in the restaurant, fish and chips with home-made tarter sauce which is definitely the best we have ever tasted. Cannot praise the staff highly enough who treat you as an individual and make you feel really special.

Did not have breakfast which is why I have not rated

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonroe1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

From the best of welcomes to the perfect Martinis coupled with unrivalled facilities in a secluded location this hotel rightly deserves its five star status. The barman was particularly knowledgeable and professional. Nothing more to say except - enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopTripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

fantastic hotel spa lovely, staff brilliant, but sadly there prices of there drinks at the bars are extortionate, i took my mother away for a 3 day break, our first night we had 2 x barcardi and cokes the price £26.20. So as you can imagine we went out and bought our own to take in and we went out to eat and drink, If it was sensible prices for a the hotel we would have stayed to eat and drink for the whole break

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyReanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We spent a weekend at this hotel to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, and it was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they could'nt do enough for us. We had free champagne, and extra treats of chocolates which I can't eat so they brought me a lovely bowl of fresh fruit instead. It was expensive but worth every penny and a special weekend that we will always remember , I definitely recommend going there for a celebration, and have the butler service if you possibly can, your worth it :-). They come with the Imperial suites. which are situated in a separate block just across the gardens. The food was wonderful too, In fact I can't think of anything bad to say about this hotel. We did'nt use the spa as we forgot our bathers, but it looked absolutely amazing. Also it's very near to the centre of Bath, about a ten minute walk, yet you feel as if you are out in the country with the beautiful grounds and gardens. All in all a great place to spend that special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess59Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My boyfriend took me here for my birthday, as a treat. It was more than a treat but heaven!! From the moment we stepped into the hotel until to moment we left, we felt like royalty. The hospitality of the hotel staff was amazing, very attentive, polite, and helpful. My boyfriend and I are 19 & 20, unfortunately at some hotels we are mistreated as we are young but at the bath spa hotel we were treated just as others.

The Hotel has lots of relaxing spa facilities, more than we expected. You could easily spend a day in the spa, relaxing. There are lounge chairs that people liked to read, or sleep, and chat on. It's completely relaxing. (nor overly busy)

It's a short 10 minute walk into Bath, very conveniently located. A MUST to do is to book a meal in Sotto Sotto - an italian restaurant (rated number 1/288 places to eat on trip advisor) that is very fairly priced.

Overall me and my boyfriend will be definitely returning to the spa hotel. Hopefully two nights oppose too one. HEAVEN!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy Grace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing