We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

1st room had generator outside our window for air con .Put in another room .10" crack in basin, had to plug in kettle on floor, window wouldn't open,,thermostat not working ,no hot water even though we were told it had been fixed !!
We were told by staff they were fed up fending off complaints.

Manager did offer refund but not the point when you travel to a hotel is it.

I welcome an owners perspective of this ?

Room Tip: Do not go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason7708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,638 - 3,644 of 4,556 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

Quite simply one of the best hotel breaks I've had in a long time. The staff at the Bath Spa make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive until the second you leave. We dined in the restaurant twice during our stay and on both occasions the food and service was of the highest quality. Then there is the spa, the most relaxing I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. Even on a cold November evening the out door heated pool is simply Devine in fact I believe the colder it is outside make it even better. All this with only a short 10 minute walk into the town itself makes it the preferct place for a very relaxing break.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I was there for my girlfriend and my "meeting of the parents". Which was set to be a difficult event but all the staff were brilliant along with the rooms, meal & service.
I am sorry I can't single anyone out as they were all great.
Thank you I will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoNameOnTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

What a shame - acclaimed hotel but the alfresco restaurant was deserted, playing two different soundtracks simultaneously definitely jarred on the nerves. Soup first course too salty, stale bread and cold butter; though the poached egg and choizo starter was very good. That said, mains were fine but not special. Generally rather disappointed. Final note - staff were quick to try and help - professional and friendly

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Pettkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Both myself and my wife booked a last minute 2-night stay over a weekend and whilst the hotel was pretty much full I couldn't fault the exceptional care the staff take of you. We booked an inclusive room, breakfast and dinner rate and I'd encourage that - breakfast is £20 if you pay separately!

The internal decoration of the hotel is classy and I've uploaded a couple of example photo's. We had a garden room view which in effect is the rooms over-looking the front. Not sure its worth the premium and the rooms are average in size - not as large as you may believe. Bathroom was very large and had an over-sized bath - my wife loved it!

The staff made it for us. The genuine interest they had in us, the constant checking to see if everything is OK and overall friendliness for us stood out. On arrival we had a little mini-tour of the hotel to be orientated whilst someone took our bags to our room - a small but typical touch of the hotel.

Dinner was in the main restaurant and overall the quality of the food and wine was excellent. Service wasn't rushed and the wine waiter was very engaging and offered practical help in selecting wines. The meal extras can be a shock though and we easily spent £80 extra over the included meal cost for wine, water and aperitifs for two.

We had treatments in the spa which had been excellent but again the weekend rates for treatments are very high. As some other reviews have mentioned there is a £5 charge for parking but if you can avoid parking in Bath for shopping its probably break-even - the walk into Bath is just 15 minutes at most and its very convenient in that way.

Breakfast was a stand out albeit at peak times you may have to wait a while for a table. A full buffet but a gorgeous fully cooked breakfast is specially cooked to your order.

The grounds are wonderful and the hotel for us was very quiet. The staff as I said could not have been more committed to its guests and for us made it a special weekend. Its pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Fussy_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise stay for my fiancés birthday, and from start to finish, the experience was all all round pleasant one.
To start with, I spoke to a lovely lady Jennie, who helped me to find a good deal for the day I wanted to stay, and as a result, I booked the Spa a la Carte stay which included accommodation, breakfast, and two full body massages.
The staff who greeted us at the hotel were simply fantastic, and couldn't have been more helpful and lovely. The room was beautiful, spacious, and had everything we could have wished for, a hairdryer, iron, fluffy dressing gowns, and a queen size bed. Everything was clean, and the room service staff were very responsive, polite, and eager to please.
The spa was out of this world, like nothing we have experienced before There was a stunning outdoor heated pool which had bubbles and a waterfall type feature, and we sat for hours in the rain at night just soaking up the romantic atmosphere. There were many sauna rooms, an ice room, and a salt room that was magical.
Breakfast was superb! So fresh, tasty, and everything you could want... I only wish I could have eaten more but I was so full up!
Overall this was a lovely experience, and one that I would recommend to anyone looking for a luxurious and romantic stay in Bath...

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a garden view room which was simply lovely, highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlottemodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed a weekend break at the hotel. The leisure facilities were good, very relaxing. The staff were excellent, attentive and friendly. I forgot to pack cuff links and was loaned a personal set by Brian...thanks Brian much appreciated. We used the restaurant on the first night and the meal and service was excellent. Our room was very comfortable. The hotel is well positioned, a short walk from the city centre. Only down side was the feeling of being ripped-off for the £5 charge for parking at the hotel even though I was a paying guest. I think I will mark the hotel down one mark just for that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winslow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 32 in Bath
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#20 of 32 in Bath
237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 32 in Bath
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £125 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing