We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dukes Hotel(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,807)
Filter reviews
4,807 results
Traveller rating
2,041
1,341
816
389
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,041
1,341
816
389
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice roomimperial suitevellore restaurantsalt roomoutdoor poollovely hotelbath spaon arrivalcooked breakfastmolton brown toiletriesspecial occasionbirthday treatrelaxing staycar parkafternoon teacity centrefour poster bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,884 - 3,889 of 4,807 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Visited the Bath Spa Hotel over the weekend for our wedding anniversary for Saturday night, our first visit.

Fabulous place, started with excellent welcome from Mohammad, the Reception Manager who brought us coffee and shortbread, checked all the details of our stay and gave us a quick tour. A proper welcome, many organisations could learn from that experience. All the staff were very polite, helpful and friendly.

Room amazing we did go for an Imperial suite. Dinner very good, wines at top of price range but high quality and sommelier was keen to talk about the wines we ordered by the glass and I noted a couple of brands I would buy again. Breakfast good, buffet and cooked choice with plenty of fresh fruit.

For a special weekend an excellent choice and Bath is a great place to wonder round.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Just returned from a fantastic few nights on a DB&B special break & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We found the hotel & service to be impeccable. The porter service was quick, efficient,& took our cases from the car to the room. We found room service to be very efficient (5 mins to bring up ice). The reception staff were also very welcoming and helpful giving us a room upgrade on finding it was our anniversary & had a lovely room overlooking the front gardens. They even gave us a nice card & truffles in the room

The hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance from the town centre. You can stroll down to the centre via the park opposite the entrance in 10-15 mins, just keep baring left. although it is an uphill walk back to the hotel.
We entertained company in the restaurant one of the nights & we all found the food to be excellent, although the wine & drinks can be a bit pricey & on par with London 5 star hotels.

The spa is excellent,. There is an indoor pool, an outside pool heated to bath temperatures as well as several saunas, steam rooms, ice rooms etc.

I would highly recommend this elegant hotel & look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The hotel is in an attractive setting but that alone does not justify the cost. The bedroom was small and, whilst the bathroom was well appointed it did not lift it above the standard of other, cheaper hotels. The swimming pool area was cramped and the spa too busy to be truly relaxing. It is disappointing to be told at check-in that we would be well advised to go for breakfast early or risk delays and queues. Surely the sign of an efficiently run hotel is that it accommodates the needs of its guests, not ask its guests to adapt to the limitations of its kitchen? The staff were friendly and helpful.
Despite the high room-rate the hotel charges a fee to pay by credit card - unacceptable in my view for a hotel of this type.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have good views over Bath.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarronE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My boyfriend and i went away for one night stay at the Bath Spa hotel at the beginning of November and overall we left with a very bad impression of the hotel and the Macdonald chain overall.

We arrived on saturday afternoon and our luggage was taken from us while we waited in the lounge area to be checked in. My boyfriend had booked us a room in the Imperial Suite complex (a seperate building at the rear of the hotel) and this meant we had a Butler service for check in etc. The process wasn't particularly smooth or relaxing - sitting in a lounge full of screaming children having afternoon tea with their families, while we were perched on awkward chairs filling in a form on a plastic clipboard - not what you expect for a 5* hotel.

After a brief 'tour of the hotel' we were taken to our room. Despite having left our bags with the porter 20minutes previously our bags were not in the room when we arrived there meaning we had 5 minutes to change and get back to the spa for our treatment - not a particularly relaxing start.

Our room itself was large and impressive with a nice view over the small garden area. The large double bed was comfortable although the pillows were lumpy and made of man made fibres. The large bathroom had a bath and seperate shower, although the towel rail was too small for 2 bath towels to dry on and the Molton Brown toileteries didn't match - so we ended up with 2 differnt fragrances (1 shampoo and 1 body lotion in one fragrance, and 1 shower gell and 1 conditioner in another).

The spa itself was good and our double massage was relaxing. The relaxation room was calming to rest in afterwards although it was clear it had been a busy day as it hadn't been attended to in a while with empty cups and glasses on all of the tables. After our treatment we enjoyed the spa facilities - steam room, sauna, ice room etc - all enjoyable and clean. The pool and outdoor heated pool were also good and the changing areas were clean and well equipped with hair dryers etc.

Back up in our room we enjoyed our glass of champagne and canapes which were included with our booking, before heading down to dinner. Unfortunately our experience in the Vellore restaurant was awful from start to finish (although the food itself was very good when it eventually arrived) - we had to wait 20 minutes for a menu, we then had to wait a further 15minutes to get someones attention to place our order, and another 10 minutes to speak to the sommelier. After a 30minute wait our starter arrived, although we didn't yet have any wine to drink with it, our main course was similarly slow to arrive. The cheese trolley was looking decidely empty by the time it arrived with us and there was as shortage of cheese biscuits. The staff were surley and unhelpful with the restaurant manager doing a valliant job to try and hold things together. **I must point out that in reaction to our awful evening we were not charged for our dinner or wine. Although good, this doesn't make up for a disappointing evening on what should have been a romantic weekend away**

Ten minutes after arriving back in our room a powercut plunged us into darkness meaning we had to get ready for bed in the light from our iPhones! Despite flicking what we though were all the light switches, when the power came back on at 4am our lights all switched on, and the radio too, meaning we had a disturbed nights sleep on uncomfortable, lumpy pillows.

Breakfast the next morning luckily saw better service but the cooked breakfast was disappointing with completely overcooked poached eggs and greasey bacon.

The hotel staff were helpful with recommendations of what to see and do in Bath and luckily we were able to recover some of the weekend with a truely brilliant day out in this beautiful city.

What should have been a relaxing and enjoyable romantic weekend away ended up feeling like a stressful and over priced trip. Despite our bill being amended to take account of our dinner we felt we had paid over the odds for such an average hotel and service. For what should be a flagship hotel in the Macdonald chain it doesn't bode well and we won't ever stay at another of their hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

1st room had generator outside our window for air con .Put in another room .10" crack in basin, had to plug in kettle on floor, window wouldn't open,,thermostat not working ,no hot water even though we were told it had been fixed !!
We were told by staff they were fed up fending off complaints.

Manager did offer refund but not the point when you travel to a hotel is it.

I welcome an owners perspective of this ?

Room Tip: Do not go here
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason7708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews