We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax And Unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax And Unwind”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My partner and I were offered a spa day here as part of a package with a B&B in Bath. The spa was clean and well kept and a fab place to unwind. We were offered robes and towels on arrival and were able to explore at our lesuire. The spa boasts a big indoor pool with sunbeds available to relax on. Aswell as an outdoor heated pool with massage jets, there was also a seperate indoor section with a steam room, ice room and sauna. We were able to totally unwind and we can fully recommend visiting the spa for the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,934
    1,243
    696
    324
    158
See reviews for
595
2,775
66
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Great luxury hotel with fantastic spa facilities - nothing like sitting outside in the pool in the evening even when it's raining. Room design is not very unique or characterful but of very good quality.

My only problem with it as a business hotel is the WIFI. Very hard to get onto and to pay for then when you get it it's very slow. Nowadays international travellers rely on WIFI as do many business users so I would ask the hotel to install a better WIFI system and make it free. Just then put the extra cost on the price of a room - it would be minimal

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunarjetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Bath Spa hotel for a mini-honeymoon straight after our wedding. Our welcome was exceptional and the staff were both helpful and friendly. We were offered a tour of the hotel (well worth doing) to familiarise ourselves with the facilities.

Upon arrival at our room, we were greeted with a lovely card and bottle of champagne to celebrate our happy occasion. The room itself was lovely and was clean and modern whilst still maintaining an air of cosiness. A turndown service was also offered if required.

The facilities at the hotel are perfect. The spa area with the various steam rooms and saunas was perfect for a relaxing time. The best aspect was the hydrotherapy pool on the outside, which in December is lovely and warm compared to the air temperature.

As previously mentioned, one of the biggest assets of the hotel is it's staff. All members of staff were friendly and we were met with smiles and hellos wherever we went. The waiting staff in the restaurant were knowledgable and accommodating. The sommelier was also very helpful with choosing wine , although he was only present at the weekend. The bar staff were equally pleasant.

The concierge staff were very helpful in providing local knowledge and maps of Bath. Also, upon checking out, the concierge brought the car to the entrance to make loading the car easier.

The menu offered in the restaurant for supper is outstanding, and all of the dishes were cooked to the same exacting standards. There was a wide choice of food, which would suit all tastes. The breakfast offered was impeccable too, from a buffet including yoghurt and cereal through to continental options. Further to the buffet, a full cooked breakfast is offered and again, this was beautifully cooked and very filling!

In short, neither of us could fault the Bath Spa Hotel on anything. We had a lovely stay and were thoroughly relaxed by the end of it. We enjoyed it so much, that we extended our stay! We will certainly return and be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roving-Rye-Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

A top class hotel with top class service and facilities. This is the third time we have stayed, and each stay just gets better. You feel a valued guest, and are greeted personally everywhere. The full breakfast is not cheap, but of the highest quality. This is a top grade hotel, so perhaps for special occasions only, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Not cheap, but upgrade if you can. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago for one night. When we arrived we were informed they had upgraded our room and we now had a 4 poster bed. Good start. The lady on reception was very friendly and welcoming. We were then shown to our room which was lovely. Bed was amazing. We walked into Bath to look at the Christmas markets. The hotel is about 10 mins walk for the town, perfect location. We used the hotel car park, but nothing was mentioned about the £5 charge. We also left the car at the hotel after we had checked out the following day and there was still no mention of charge, the staff were happy for us to do this. We used the spa facilities in the evening and it was nice and quiet and very relaxing. We liked it so much we are returning next week for 2 nights this time.
We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that, but did have a drink in the bar, which was very expensive, but was expected. The service from reception, to the bar to the spa was excellent and all staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Many thanks for a lovely stay, we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We have just returned from a short stay at the Bath Spa Hotel to celebrate my wifes birthday and to collect our daughter from Bristol Uni for Christmas.

We stayed in a Superior room which was in the Imperial Suite at the rear of the main buiding. It was an expensive option at £350 for one night including evening meal and breakfast. It also included use of the spa facilities.

Our stay was very pleasant indeed and there are more positives than negatives. For the positives - there is a good sized car park which was very safe, and the hotel is well placed to walk into Bath city centre. The grounds are vey nice and well maintained.

We were met at the front entrance and introduced to our Butler who looked after us very well during our stay. He ensured we had maps of the city, that we had a room booked in the restuarant and took our bags to the room. He also brought us our complimentary champagne and canapes before the meal.

Our room was lovely, warm with a gas fire, and underfloor heating in the well appointed bathroom. There was plenty of room and above all it was quiet, we did not hear any other guests when we were in the room. or any noise from the party underway in one of the main building function rooms. The contents of the room mini bar were included in the price which to some degree helped to offset the cost.

The spa facilites are superb and again complimentary unless you opt for any of the treatments - so again helping with the cost.

Perhaps the weakest part of the experience was the evening meal, the restaurant was, well stuffy. The dress code is smart casual but the atmosphere is very hushed. The food was excellent, I had the blade of beef which was tender and my wife had the duck, which again she said was good, The extensive wine list is expensive - £35 for a bottle of Fleurie ouch. Service was a little hit and miss, my G&T only made an apperance on the final bill, not at the table and after the main course we were totally ignored, not asked if we wanted desserts so cannot comment on how good they were.

We had an excellent nights sleep, the air conditioning unit did rattle when turned down but did not keep us awake. Breakfast was very good , however, they did manage to bring the wrong order to the table. What we did have was well prepared.

So in conclusion we found the hotel well appointed, comfortable and whilst appearing expensive it was perhaps not as dear as other 5 star hotels can be..... especially if you drink the contents of the min bar :) Others here talk of the £5.00 car park fee, we were not charged this.

The only negative was the restaurnat which needs a little more work, get that right and this will be a very good hotel indeed.

Room Tip: Might be worth paying the extra to be in the annex - Imperial Suite and so away from any noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outtheoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2012

From the moment we arrived until we left we were made to feel at home. A special mention for Brian at front of house and Joel from the bar your help was greatly appreciated and made a good stay into an excellent one. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing