We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and spa”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in October as a treat for my birthday! Upon arrival the hotel is stunning set on a hill. The staff were all very attentive and helpful & our room was ready early which meant we could store out bags and go into Bath. Hotel has plenty of tourist maps as you exit for all the attractions in bath. Room was lovely with a skyline view over bath. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but they ordered our taxi for us to go out. In the morning we used the spa which is great, sauna, steam & Ice room, jacuzzi & indoor and outdoor pool very nice way to start the day! Breakfast was ok but the buffet side wasn't replenished often enough so things kept running out, I had egg on toast which was very nice but not worth the price charged.
Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,942
    1,253
    709
    333
    158
See reviews for
602
2,801
66
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for just one night but were extremely impressed with the service given by the whole staff team. The dinner bed and breakfast package was amazing value. Our evening meal was delicious and served to very high standard, portions were just right so that you didn't feel too full to have all three courses and the desserts were beautifully presented. Staff were smiley and helpful with just the right amount of chat, the background music just right. the wine list was good and reasonably priced for a hotel. Toiletries were Moulton brown to add a touch of luxury to the well equipped bathrooms. Beds and bathrobes comfy and cosy. Slippers were provided too. The mini bar was well stocked (Green and Black chocolate too). Breakfast was not the usual help yourself buffet and make your own toast affair, but freshly cooked to order with delicious tasty ingredients, even the orange juice was extra tasty and fresh. We did not use the spa much on this visit, a couple of noisy kids were enjoying the pool and it was quite busy but pleasant enough, especially the outdoor bit, even in windy rainy weather. Be warned-the bar automatically serves doubles but you do get nice nibbles to compensate for the price! We had great views over the city and shopping in Bath is very good too. Highly recommended,

Room Tip: We always opt for a top floor in an old building so you don't have to listen to creaky floorboar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Adventure09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a brilliant hotel. The staff are very helpful (Jeremy and Ra in particular), set in a beautiful location.

We paid for a top end room and while it was pricey we did get value for money.

I have limited experience on the spa front but this one did seem very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

2nd visit [1st was 2012] and still the hotel has excellent standards. Very friendly attentive staff. Wonderful spa. Lovely wine selection and good menu - manages to cater for celiacs with a little bit of advice about sauces. A great place to say if you are travelling solo too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Magnificent looking hotel with lovely grounds, set on a hill. It only took us 15 mins to walk into city centre (I am a fast walker!!) check in was very quick. We were greeted with a smile which was genuine not just 'for show'. This goes for all staff. We had a skyline twin room. This was the only one available at the time of booking, supposedly. Anyway it was very nice and quiet, on top floor. View was fab, overlooking the gardens and city centre. Bath/shower were good, with Molten Brown toiletries. You had to book your evening meal. If you do not like eating late or finishing your meal by 10pm, book earlier than 8.30pm!! You do have to wait a while. Three courses to choose from. Beautifully cooked food, but if you only like basic cooking and very large portions, do not have your evening meal here. Wine was very expensive. The food fine for us and we enjoyed having different food. Breakfast was a delight. Our tariff covered us for continental and cooked breakfast. This should last you ALL day!! You want for nothing!! There is nothing you cannot have. Some things cost extra though!! Side orders of vegetables cost extra, which I do not think should have done. A portion of veg should automatically be brought to the table, when you are paying all this money. The spa area was good. The hot outside pool was fabulous , not for swimming, just relaxing. If you are a serious swimmer, then you will hate the indoor pool. It is 15 metres, not 20 metres, as I was informed by head office! There is one lane for lengths!! So all speeds swim together!! One evening there was 6 of us. Absolutely horrible! I am sure that when it is adults only, the pool can be split into slow-medium and a fast lane. Anyway, luckily, one eve, I was the only one in for a while.
Beware, the charge for parking your car!! £5 per night!! This is not acceptable, in my opinion, especially when you have paid all that money to stay there. Service charge, (although optional),is added on when you check out. Check all bills.
I must mention Brian, deputy manager in the restaurant. Very funny, polite, knowledgeable,extremely welcoming and friendly. Eduardo, a waiter. He was so cute! Lovely boy! We left feeling like we had known these people for ages and we only stayed 2 nights.
Bath is a beautiful city, with plenty to see and do. Go on a diet first because the tea shops are great, as are the sweet and chocolate shops!!

Room Tip: Skyline rooms have a great view overlooking city centre. A/C is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueEdgware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Staff were excellent . Food good .very happy loved the pool area ,it has a wonderful hot tub which is really nice to use on a cold miserable day . The hotel is within walking distance of the town so it is a good place to explore the area .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I dont normally bother writing reviews, but we were so well looked after during our recent stay that I feel compelled to pen them all a quick thankyou
From the moment our car door was opened at reception, to leaving the following afternoon, we experienced nothing but helpful, polite, smiley faces from every member of staff
The hotel itself had everything we could wish for; great room, excellent spa facilities, superb breakfast, very clean throughout
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of a trip to Bath

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing