We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for exploring Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton Cleveleys
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal base for exploring Bath”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were generally pleased with the hotel especially with the excellent evening meals and service in the restaurant. On the downside the hotel was a bit 'tired' in places and the breakfast experience was very unsatisfactory - the cooked breakfast and the service (for breakfast) was poor.
Excellent base for exploring Bath - only 10 mins pleasant stroll into the centre.

Room Tip: Garden View Rooms at front have good views over Bath and interconnecting doors were useful for our f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crouchend7609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,934
    1,242
    694
    324
    158
See reviews for
595
2,773
66
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to this hotel in a year and we will be booking again. The staff are always so helpful and friendly and will go out of their way to make your trip outstanding.
The rooms are clean and tidy. We've had treatments at the spa twice and again would recommend it. We always receive a warm welcome from the staff. If your looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful city in a beautiful hotel look no further. We have always booked when special deals on to help cut costs but still received 5 star treatment. Thank you to all the staff wonderful as always.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lou788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for an early valentines night away. We stayed here mid week and get a brilliant deal on the internet. We couldn't have afforded their full prices. The hotel is set in large grounds in central but out of the way location. We arrived mid morning to make the most of the spa which you can use before check in and after check out. The lobby is elegant and inviting and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. You have to pay £10 for parking. If you could be bothered, then you could park on the road and walk back up the driveway to the reception. We didn't bother. Our room was beautifully decorated with luxurious bedding and cushions. The room felt very special and perfect for a romantic night away. The bathroom was also up to scratch. There were dressing gowns and slippers to take down to the spa with you. The spa was fantastic. Certainly the best in any hotel I have stayed in. The swimming pool wasn't that big, as is pretty normal. However, there was an outdoor pool. You entered indoors and then entered through to the outdoor section. This pool was very warm and there was plenty of room to sit outside in it, with bubbling water. This was particularly lovely in the dark. There were also tables and chairs around the pool to be used in summer. Then we visited the sauna and steam room area. Here there were 5 rooms to use including an ice room, which was refreshing after the hot rooms. There were also two specialty showers which were also great between hot rooms. We ate in the hotel, in a lovely dining room. The deal was for 3 courses or £50 for two of us plus drinks. This was good value for the type of food and meal, both being elegant. We would definable stay here again on a similar deal. The hotel is not fa from where we live, but a million miles away. It was just what our relationship needed. We didn't have breakfast as we didn't want to get up early for this but did have a lovely lunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at the Bath Spa hotel for a week. They got my bookings wrong and they were very rude with me while it was not my fault in the end. The cleanliness of my rooms (I changed 3 rooms) was from poor to average. The rooms were beautiful and nicely decorated. They have a nespresso machine as well! The breakfast was great though and the restaurant staff very friendly and helpful. I am very disappointed I was expecting more from this 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodieGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend visited the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel in December. Just what we needed after visiting the Bath christmas markets. I've been to lots of hotel spa's and this is by far the best I've been to. It's just pure luxury. It's got everything you would want from a spa and more. There is a swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam rooms, a salt room and an ice room. There are also massage showers and my absolute favorite the outdoor hydro pool. I will definitely be returning!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The service we had was amazing, reception, porter bar and spa staff all very friendly and helpful.
The hotel it self is clean and well kept.
Bed was so comftable I didnt want to get up.
All and all a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneysTravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here last November for a romantic weekend away and we were not disappointed , we payed with tescos vouchers and deliberated about whether to have the deluxe rooms with a butler but decided not to , we needn't have worried the concierge was so attentive and showed us round the WHOLE hotel , the rooms were cleaned spotless ewe have a nespresso coffee maker and ordering room service was no problem the room service food incidentally is lovely we had the pizza and is the same price plus small surcharge as the bar area food so nice to cosy up on the massive bed and nibble ( we had been out all day and then visited the spa so were vvv tired) , Bath is a beautiful city and a MUST visit , Sally Lunns is a delicious lunch stop and the Roman baths were so lovely , the spa in the hotel is very very good I was going to have a treatment but just sat instead in their outside heated swimming pool looking at the stars and I LOVED their aromatherapy shower . The hotel settings are beautiful landscaped gardens and very lush decour in the hotel feels like 5 star that's for sure ! Only problem with this stay was you had to pay for parking £5 I believe ! Very unnecessary , oh and very breakfast although the continental was included I added£4 and had extra eggs Benedicit which was delicious , would thoroughly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizziebizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,313 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing