We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Spent one night at the Hotel, absolutely stunning. sheer perfection from check in to check out ! Beautiful breakfast and service. The concierge (s) were extremely helpful... fantastic location. Hightly recommend for a romantic break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,484 - 3,490 of 4,702 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Although the grounds are lovely, and the hotel has a wonderful quiet atmosphere, I felt that everything seemed just a bit faded. Nothing specific, just a feeling. Given the hotel is a fair bit more expensive than others locally, I'll not be rushing back. On the plus side, all the staff I met were very helpful, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel on Valentines Night, The Room was Lovely, Spacious and had a small bottle of Champagne with chocolates with the package, my husband and I checked in then went off to the Spa, we spent 6 hours in the Spa it was great, so many different rooms to go into Steam room Ice room Sauna, Infared, Salt room and also the out door HEATED pool with Jacuzzi. we then had to get ready to go to Dinner which was absolutely worth the money the food was top notch :) ( we have been to quite a few top restaurants ) had a comfortable night sleep then breakie in bed :) we then went back to the spa for a few hours in the morning until we checked out... :( Will definitely be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Macdonald Bath for a girly weekend. The facilities are good and the staff are friendly, helpful and approachable. Our room wasn't 5 star and we were horrified when one of the bathroom wall panels fell off onto my friend. Also, our cafetiere was filthy and full of old coffee. I don't expect either of these in a 3 star, never mind a 5! The spa is great, pool a good size and lots of treatments on offer. I can't say we were blown away by our treatments which were more than London prices! Also, we didn't like the fact that treatments are more expensive if you go at the weekend. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, there are good facilities and the staff are pleasant. Perhaps avoid spa treatments and make sure you get a good room!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Irlandesaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Bath Spa Hotel and it was simply excellent. I hadn't written a review the first time as I hadn't started contributing to Tripadvisor at that time but will now will have my say. Only spent a night here on our way back from Wales for the rugby, we had a great stay the first time and so as a belated birthday treat for the wife we had another stay here. It's a lovely hotel just a short stroll into town, great facilities, lovely spa and absolutely excellent staff and service, particularly the concierge staff who were so friendly and helpful, can't say anymore. The hotel knew it was a return visit and belated wife's birthday, so when we arrived, a lovely room upgrade and bottle of champagne awaited, simply wonderful on the hotels behalf and we'll be back absolutely definitely. Thank you Jonathan for your note and champagne.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed in the hotel for one night with my girlfriend, on a brief visit to Bath. The hotel is fantastic with very helpful and professional staff. Our room was simply amazing. Double height ceilings, four poster bed, original features, large separate siting area with TV, fridge sofa and arm chairs, great views, lovely décor…… One of the largest and nicest hotel rooms I have stayed in.
The evening meal in the restaurant was fine dining and definitely 5 star. The service was excellent and the staff were attentive without being intrusive.
We used the hotel spa and it was lovely. Quite busy but it was a busy weekend with 6 Nations in Cardiff and subsequent overspill into neighbouring towns and cities, particularly with French visitors and rugby supporters. Very pleasant outside heated pool.
The staff were what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. I would mention Mohamed Safwat at the reception. He made our stay memorable due to the dedicated service of his team at reception.
I would recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway and whilst the dining is pricey, it is worth it for the quality of the food and surroundings.

Room Tip: Our 'Executive Double' was a suite. Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked a classic twin room which, although did not have the view, was very quiet and comfortable with a rather impressive bathroom (who doesn't like Molton Brown goodies!). There were a few details overlooked, but the efficient staff ensured that any problems were attended to immediately. In fact, the staff should be applauded on their impressive customer service - I have never experienced such faultless service before - a model that other hotels should follow. Breakfast was fairly good and something available for everyone. The thermal suite and outdoor pool at night were experiences to remember, however if adults are looking for calm and tranquillity then it is recommended they visit the spa after 5.00 pm when all the young children have departed. Would love to return!

Room Tip: If view is important to you then make sure you book a garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaseyPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £115 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing