We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a relaxing break it's a must.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“For a relaxing break it's a must.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I went to the hotel for a two night break, this was our 3rd visit. The hotel is a leisurely 10 minute stroll to the town centre where there are lovely restaurants and shops galore. The hotel itself is set in lovely grounds, the rooms are spacious, spa facilities are very good, outdoor swimming pool lovely and warm. Continental breakfast was very nice with several meats, cooked breakfast was great and the poached eggs were perfect.
A very relaxing beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddy245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,934
    1,242
    694
    324
    158
See reviews for
595
2,773
66
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I have just spent a night at the Bath Spa and was truly pleased with our stay. The spa facilities are amazing especially the outdoor hydrotherapy pool which was like having a warm bath outside! The steam and sauna room were great too a lot of choice, with a salt infusion room two saunas, and an ice room.
The hotel staff were excellent and very helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We had an amazing three course meal served to us with care.
The location of the hotel is excellent as the city centre and tourist spots are just10-15minutes walk away. Bath is a beautiful scenic city, we will definately visit again. The only fault I could say was the £5 parking charge, residents of the hotel should not need to pay.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel is better as there are views of the beautiful gardens, the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rekha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had overnight stay in Nov 2013. Stunning hotel and we were delighted to have recieved an upgraded room which turned out to be a suite ! Absolutely beautiful room with lounge/hallway. Staff were amazing. Had great meal in the evening and restaurant was lovely. Spa is brilliant- enjoyed facial/massage...overall a wonderful trip. 10 min walk into town centre but taxi back costs about 38. Lots of shops/bars in town centre plus the Roman Baths are a must see. Would highly recommend The Bath Spa Hotel if budget allows.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

From the minute we arrived at the Bath Spa the staff couldn't do enough for us. They truly went above & beyond to cater to our every need. We stayed on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast break which was exceptional value for money. The food (both breakfast & dinner) was delicious, with plenty of variety. Our room (616) was gorgeous and very clean. The spa was lovely (we were the only one's in the pool area for most of the day). We couldn't fault any of our stay. As mentioned above all the staff were very friendly, polite & helpful, but I must mention Ra by name as he really was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for this wonderful man and he really does deserve some recognition. We look forward to staying at this beautiful hotel again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmadsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I'm so sad to have to leave such a poor review of The Bath Spa hotel as it really was my very favourite hotel. I have been staying there with my family for 17 years, way before it was owned by Macdonald (previously owned by Forte). When the hotel was being run by Forte it was truly faultless and bursting with charm and personality. Attention to detail was second to none and the ambience was always exceptionally welcoming, warm and attentive. Since being taken over by Macdonald we have seen the hotel slip into a sad state of affairs. My last stay with my partner just after Christmas saw me vow never to return, it's just lost too much of that old charm we used to love so much. The spa is quite nice, and yes, the views and landscaping are still lovely but the hotel has lost its soul. The beautiful hand painted murals of classical Grecian scenes which used to grace the walls of the now defunct Alfresco restaurant (now more of a corridor you can eat in) have been wallpapered over...a decision I cannot believe the management made! But it's a fitting indicator of the way in which this hotel is going...corporate, banal and where it seems every opportunity to squeeze the last drop of character is grasped. Such a shame. The rooms over the last few years are always dirty, hairy bathrooms, grubby taps, outlets, baths not cleaned well etc...pillows were clean on this occasion as I asked before the stay for them to be checked. We had to complain the last time we stayed as the pillows were stained with sweat with no protectors. Details like these make or break a five star hotel. This hotel does not say 5 star to me any longer...lacklustre and tired...I think we will stick to happy memories of it as it shone in it's exclusive former glory and find a new place to stay when we come to Bath. Sad indeed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luxorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My Wife had booked this romantic get away break in January, and in February I had to book into the Macdonald Hotel in Camberly for business (Firmley Hall) after not being impressed with the experience there I was apprehensive to what was in store here in Bath.
From the moment of arrival to departure, the experience was perfection. I would be unable to mention one staff member whom did not seem to go out of their way. The Grounds were lovely as was the Hotel itself.
We had Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, although there was a set menu, my wife being fussy did not like any of the starters, the waitress offered to see if there was anything else she would like not on the menu, and they would prepare that, as long as they had the ingredients, they also tailored the main for her. Thank you again. Breakfast was pleasant, and the room how it should be, clean and comfortable with great views of Bath
The Macdonald Hotel in Camberly need to visit here to see how it should be done, I know they are a 4 Star and This is a 5 Star Hotel, but in my opinion they need more stars here.
My only niggle if any was paying £26 for 2 drinks in the bar in the evening.
Would highly recommend for a romantic break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed the night at the Macdonald a Bath Spa with my family and what treat. This gem of a hotel is centrally located in Bath, so everything you need is close by. The experience all started from the reception, such a friendly and well drilled professional front office crew. We had barely reached our superb room, and there was a phone call, who else but the reception checking to see if our room was up to scratch and if we needed anything. The hotel has a pool and a series of heated spas, and jacuzzis, and not to mention the sauna, ice room, infrared sauna and salt spa. I would definitely recommend this place as a great getaway, for family, business or just leisure. This is likely to be a popular haunt for the future. If you are a Bath, give it a go, I can assure you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KacjSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,314 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing