We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I took my girlfriend to away for her birthday weekend, and we had a fantastic time. The food was very very good, and the level of service by all of the people working at the hotel is the best that I have experienced, and I travel the world on business staying at many many hotels. We will be returning and will recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear RoyP

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit and that your girlfriend enjoyed her birthday weekend. We do appreciate such a helpful review and thank you for your kind recommendation of the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel to your friends and family.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,444)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,207 - 3,213 of 4,444 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here as a treat for my wife last week. Upgraded to Garden view room. Well worth it. Room was very spacious with a nice view and the bathroom was nice and big. Staff were great. Everyone was helpful and all staff were extremely polite. The city centre and Roman Baths were only a 10 minute walk. We found the Spa and restaurant a bit pricey but it would not put me off staying here again. It is in a nice quiet area, so it is an ideal retreat for people who want a bit of peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Try and pick a room with a garden view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pratik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Pratik D

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you and your wife enjoyed your visit. We do appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hi stayed at this hotel February and upgraded to front facing garden room (well worth the difference). This hotel is child friendly and although I agree the service can be slow the staff are working sooooo hard! We booked three rooms and they ensured we were all together and at breakfast they knew we wanted a larger table without ever asking. A special mention must go to Brian in the restaurant that greeted us by our name every day and made our stay that little bit special. Also Andrew the concierge gave the same kind of treatment, nothing is too much trouble. These two members of staff are a credit to the hotel. Would I stay here again? Yes it is expensive for drinks but it is five star, the rooms are lovely and clean, the staff are polite. It is close to the centre of bath. Only down side they do charge for parking £5 each day and also a 12.5% surcharge on all food and drink (too much should be 5% max), however you can opt to not pay it and being so much I would say don't pay it!!!

Room Tip: pay extra for the garden view rooms, they were much bigger than the standard and only a little extra...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obe1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Obe 1234

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it, particularly Brian and Andrew.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Came here for my husband’s 50th birthday and stayed for 2 nights with dinner, bed and breakfast (it was cheaper to book directly with the hotel). First impression was that the bedroom was very small (I’ve stayed at nicer and larger 4*bedrooms in the UK). The view from the room was lovely, looked out and could see the town of bath. We walked to the town centre on both days and the location is excellent (only 10 minutes walk away), it is an easy walk and the weather was not too cold, we tried to see as much as we could. We went to the Roman Baths which cost £14 each, we found it very interesting. We did not have to pay to see anything else as all the other places were free (donations requested). There are road maps all over the place so it easy to get around. Breakfast was OK, unfortunately as we do not eat pork we decided to try the vegetarian sausage which I didn’t like (You have to pay a supplement for kippers or salmon). The evening meals were absolutely delicious. The Spa facilities were one of the best we’ve ever used. Even though you have to pay £5 for the car park it is worth it because it cost quite a lot to park in the town centre. All in all this hotel was very nice the only problem is the very small bedroom

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraShakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Sandra Shakira,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you didn’t enjoy our vegetarian sausages but did enjoy the spa facilities. We do have a variety of room sizes available at the hotel. Thank you for such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Will try to keep review concise, but overall we did not feel what we experienced was altogether worthy of 5 stars.

Good points:

Food- excellent quality, choice and presentation.

Sarah- head of waiting staff. Could not have provided better service.

Location - 10 minute walk into Bath. No road noise. Lovely gardens.

Spa - Pricey but lovely, although they could not fit me in for a facial. Nice pool.

Reception - Good efficient service. Listened and acknowledged our complaint (see below).

Molton Brown toiletries ( small size)

Negative points:

Poor service at breakfast. We were completely overlooked by the staff and 4 other tables were seated and served their hot food before we got to order ours. We had to get up and "find" a member of staff to do this.

Cold dining room.

Noisy bedroom. On first floor above reception. Could hear phones ringing in the day time, and hear drawers banging all day and were even woken at 1 & 4 am on our 2nd night by this.
We had upgraded at our expense to get a better room.

Dirty sink in bathroom. Black under the rim. Scaly shower screen and shower head.

Hot chocolates and biscuits not replaced in room.

"seen better days " robes.

Summary: Had we not had such a good deal with the Macdonald "March madness" we would not have been happy to pay the full price. In a 5 star hotel you expect everything to be perfect.

Bath itself, lovely city. Nice and compact and lots to see.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor to avoid office noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkesk&P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Wilkes K & P

Thanks for submitting an even handed review of the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel following your stay.

May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with various aspects of your stay all of which I will investigate to make certain we don’t fall short of our normal high standards.

Thank you for your positive comments and particularly about Sarah.

I would welcome the opportunity of restoring your confidence in the hotel and ask that you contact me directly should you wish to book in the future so that I may take care of the arrangements for you personally.

Once again sincerest apologies

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for a two night break. From the moment we pulled up at the reception to leaving, the service provided was outstanding. We dined the first night in the main restaurant which was thoroughly enjoyable and the second night in the terrace bar, slightly less formal but the service and food was of the same professional standard. The Spa is first class with many options to suit all. The superb staff really make this hotel special and would thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting Bath.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JangoSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Jango Swansea,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £134 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing