We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves more than 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We celebrated my Wife's birthday at The Bath Spa on 1/2 April, A totally relaxing and pampering experience. All the staff were absolutely brilliant, my wife used to live at the hotel when it was used for the accommodation, of pupil nurses,training at the RUH, 35 years ago. When the Duty Manger learnt of this, we were given a guided tour of the Hotel and all of it's amenities, The Manager kindly gave us a room upgrade, which gave a wonderful view over the city of Bath, which my wife very much appreciated, bring back old memories. Nothing was to much bother, we had traditional Afternoon tea, Dinner and Breakfast, all of which were to a very high standard. The choice on the menu of dinner was varied and excellent. My wife had an Aroma massage is the Spa, which she found totally relaxing and beneficial. We cannot praise the staff enough for a very enjoyable stay, we will be returning. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerculesWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear HerculesWeymouth

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit. We do appreciate such a helpful review and I am so glad that your wife had such a relaxing birthday celebration and a trip down “memory lane” to her old nurse’s home!

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,451)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,214 - 3,220 of 4,455 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed in the Imperial Suites for a couple of midweek days for a family celebration, on a dinner bed and breakfast package. Wonderful in every way! There's nothing I'd fault, and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear JamesT

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit. We do appreciate such a helpful review and the Imperial Suites are very special.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked this hotel last minute and it surpassed our expectations... stayed as a treat with my boyfriend, the view was okay, but the hotel was amazing.
As soon as we got there the concierge came out to greet us and collect our suitcases, they were very friendly, they checked us in as we had arrived early and said we could go to our room early, no extra charge!!
The spa facilities were absolutely lovely, best Ive experienced so far...the staff were very helpful and even good at recommending which local restaurants to eat in, the local italian was fabulous, brilliant service and I would use it again if visiting the area. I have already recommended it to my friends and family. Room was clean and a good size, toiletries were good (although only for one person) but I did get extra toiletries, when i asked. What made my day was actually having decaffinated coffee with cafetiere, how lovely and really nice...

Room Tip: Ask for front facing view as it is where you get to see bath, whereas we only saw the back of the ho...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 359Katie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear 359Katie2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your visit. We do appreciate such a helpful review and I am so pleased that you liked the Spa and that we provide decaffeinated coffee in our rooms

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I took my girlfriend to away for her birthday weekend, and we had a fantastic time. The food was very very good, and the level of service by all of the people working at the hotel is the best that I have experienced, and I travel the world on business staying at many many hotels. We will be returning and will recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear RoyP

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit and that your girlfriend enjoyed her birthday weekend. We do appreciate such a helpful review and thank you for your kind recommendation of the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel to your friends and family.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here as a treat for my wife last week. Upgraded to Garden view room. Well worth it. Room was very spacious with a nice view and the bathroom was nice and big. Staff were great. Everyone was helpful and all staff were extremely polite. The city centre and Roman Baths were only a 10 minute walk. We found the Spa and restaurant a bit pricey but it would not put me off staying here again. It is in a nice quiet area, so it is an ideal retreat for people who want a bit of peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Try and pick a room with a garden view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pratik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Pratik D

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you and your wife enjoyed your visit. We do appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hi stayed at this hotel February and upgraded to front facing garden room (well worth the difference). This hotel is child friendly and although I agree the service can be slow the staff are working sooooo hard! We booked three rooms and they ensured we were all together and at breakfast they knew we wanted a larger table without ever asking. A special mention must go to Brian in the restaurant that greeted us by our name every day and made our stay that little bit special. Also Andrew the concierge gave the same kind of treatment, nothing is too much trouble. These two members of staff are a credit to the hotel. Would I stay here again? Yes it is expensive for drinks but it is five star, the rooms are lovely and clean, the staff are polite. It is close to the centre of bath. Only down side they do charge for parking £5 each day and also a 12.5% surcharge on all food and drink (too much should be 5% max), however you can opt to not pay it and being so much I would say don't pay it!!!

Room Tip: pay extra for the garden view rooms, they were much bigger than the standard and only a little extra...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obe1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Obe 1234

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it, particularly Brian and Andrew.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 32 in Bath
1,361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 32 in Bath
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#7 Family Hotel in Bath
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £139 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing