We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best weekend ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Winnersh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best weekend ever!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked the Macdonald Hotel in Bath for our 30th Wedding anniversary we stayed in the Executive suit and it was fabulous!! We were met at the door when we arrived by our private butler who had the keys to our room ready. At breakfast and dinner the head waiter knew your names and greeted you. We ordered champagne at breakfast on the day of our anniversary which was complimentary as it was our anniversary. We were so well looked after we felt like royalty!! Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Book the executive suit it was fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyj781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Jennyj,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

Many Congratulations on your Pearl Wedding Anniversary I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with all the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,885
    1,213
    666
    311
    151
See reviews for
579
2,688
64
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Within minute walk to city center, the hotel is grand, the drive up is lovely, very romantic. The grounds are beautifully manicured. Spacious room. Cheap car parking. Great breakfast. Loved the bar! Beautifully decorated and quaint. The service was wonderful! Sorry didn't try the spa... Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Bronson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Lisa Bronson K

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for such a helpful review and your kind comments about the hotel and particularly the bar.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with all the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Were shall i start from.......... Ok right well you have pay for parking on there ground per day, weather started to warm up so the room was getting really warm so we tryed using the aircon which did not work so we called reception they said its not true aircon but advertised aircon rooms, after couple calls they supplied a small fan, breakfast was okay not standard that you expect. Spa was lacking off maintenance. Would i stay here again eeeeemmmm..................

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dappa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Dappa 2012

Thanks for submitting a review of the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel following your stay.

The heating and cooling system in the rooms is set for the whole building to either heat or cool and during your stay was still set to heat. I am sorry this caused you an inconvenience. The Spa area has a major redecoration programme that commenced this week.

I would welcome the opportunity of restoring your confidence in the hotel and ask that you contact me directly should you wish to book in the future so that I may take care of the arrangements for you personally.

Once again sincerest apologies

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Full of characters! The staff are particularly friendly and helpful. Located on the out-skirt of the town centre and is convenient for any place of interest in Bath. The staying in the hotel for the whole day is also interesting, you don't really need to go to town centre, will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiayiwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Jiayiwu

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for such a helpful review and your kind comments about the characters in the hotel.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with all the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I visited the Spa hotel for a birthday treat, was breathtaking driving up to the hotel, stunning hotel,
Short walk into Bath with lovely restaurants and Shops,

The spa was amazing, great treatments offered, and the heated outdoor pool is a bonus!

The staff were extremely attentive, could not fault one bit for the service!!

Would definitely recommend for a lovely romantic weekend away

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Traveller1165

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope you had a very happy birthday. Thank you for such a helpful review and your kind comments about the staff.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with all the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely hotel but they need to concentrate on the basics.
The hotel and room were beautiful but we were charged twice for room upgrades, I had to send breakfast on day one back as the scrambled egg was grey, cold and lumpy, and during a 'relaxing' spa treatment the shower wasn't working properly and water was stone cold! The issues were corrected once pointed out although we were only offered a reduction on the cost of the ruined treatment.
Service when it arrived was good but very slow to arrive!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Lesley S

Thanks for submitting an even handed review of the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel following your stay.

May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with breakfast. We have rectified the problem that you experienced in the Spa.

Thank you for your positive comments about elements of the service at the hotel.

I would welcome the opportunity of restoring your confidence in the hotel and ask that you contact me directly should you wish to discus the issue further or if you wish to book in the future so that I may take care of the arrangements for you personally.

Once again sincerest apologies

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

stayed for a night as it was my birthday, we spent the afternoon shopping in Bath, followed by a few drinks before going back to the hotel. Had a nice swim and really enjoyed the outdoor thermal pool. The Spa was fairly quiet so we enjoyed our swim undisturbed even though it was the Easter holidays. Went out to eat as we had eaten at the hotel on some of our previous visits and wanted to try something different. Breakfast was an unmitigated disaster. Before going into the dining room I double checked that we had prepaid for a full breakfast, reception confirmed that we had indeed. On entering the Dining room we were challenged and told we were sonly entitled to the continental breakfast. When they eventually (after about 15-20 minutes) got around to taking our order for the cooked breakfast, they even then managed to deliver the wrong items on our plates and my poached eggs (ordered deliberately to have soft yolks) were overcooked. We ate the food but cannot honestly say we enjoyed it. We will think hard before booking here again. We checked outré leaving behind an electric toothbrush, it took numerous phone calls to get it returned to us and even then, it was now damaged.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_EvansWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear G EvansWales

Thanks for submitting an even handed review of the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel following your stay.

May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with breakfast. I will investigate how this miscommunication took place and to make certain we don’t fall short of our normal high standards.

Thank you for your positive comments about the Spa.

I would welcome the opportunity of restoring your confidence in the hotel and ask that you contact me directly should you wish to discus the issue with lost property and breakfast or if you wish to book in the future so that I may take care of the arrangements for you personally.

Once again sincerest apologies

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing