We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building in beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful building in beautiful grounds”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just back from a weekend with friends at this hotel. The grounds are stunning, with amazing views of the surrounding area. Yes it is cheeky that they charge for parking, presume this is because there is valet parking available. We found no fault with the restaurant, and we are extremely fussy. The spa area was lovely, and there were lots of little touches, such as Nespresso machine in our room, to make it a really special experience. There was a small problem with splitting the dinner bill, and charging for a room that had already been paid for, but these were dealt with swiftly and I would return in a flash. Scaffolding wasn't a problem as they upgraded us. If they are to make repairs then there needs to be scaffolding! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostgirlBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,910
    1,223
    671
    314
    153
See reviews for
585
2,718
64
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We've stayed at lots of 5* hotels around the world, and this was OK, but by no means great. We booked an executive twin (£220 per night, not including breakfast). We were warned AFTER booking (our booking was non-refundable!) that there would be scaffolding up. I voiced concern but was told people would not be working over the weekend. However, the scaffolding did somewhat obscure the lovely view over Bath. We were charged £5 per day for car parking, which I think is mean. I feel that we should have been offered a small amount of compensation for the scaffolding - they could have waived the car park charges, or even offered our 2 newspapers for free, but there was no gesture at all! The room itself was OK and quite large, but the paint was peeling off the interior of the windows, and the bathroom was tired looking - the grouting was going brown etc. Beds were amazingly comfortable, but if you want to read in bed, forget it - the light is too poor. Pool and spa area is lovely, and we went in the evening, so it was quiet. It's quite small so imagine it gets very busy during the day. Staff were very polite and helpful, especially the room service boys. However, I feel they need to show more flexibility over breakfast. We opted not to pay £19.50 each for a fully English breakfast, because we felt that was way overpriced, particularly as I don't eat meat. There was no 'continental' or 'lighter' alternative, like rolls and fruit etc, so we feel the hotel is missing a trick. Not everyone wants a massive fry up these days. We therefore walked the short distance into Bath, where you can get a lovely breakfast for much less, e.g. Browns does 2 breakfasts for £9.00. We didn't have dinner in the hotel, as I must admit we'd been put off by the number of bad reviews of the restaurant, and the slightly 'stuffy' feel of the place. The location of the hotel is great, with lovely gardens, but when the new 5* hotel in the centre of Bath opens next year, the Macdonald will have some stiff competition, and will need to up its game to stay at the top!

Room Tip: Book a garden facing room if possible, and avoid the ground floor. We stayed in 409 (Executive twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enigma1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I have recently returned from a visit to bath spa hotel.
The rooms are lovely and clean. I was on the garden floor I had a few disturbances at early hours due to people dragging cases outside my window but other than that no problems. The service at both dinner and breakfast was exceptional as where as the food left a little to be desired.
Their was scaffolding around the building due to cleaning of the brick work; it was definitely worth the disruption as when I left you could see the difference it had made.
Overall had a lovely stay and will return again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 683k_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A group of us have just returned a week ago and we had a lot of trouble! Bills always wrong, evening meal time service was terrible, paid for a garden view room and scaffolding up and dirty windows! Zero apology! Was almost impossible to split a bill! Really upset and disappointed I felt like it was really hard work. Would not return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Harriet_Maguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

English Hospitality at its best with some of Scotland thrown in for good measure.
Surrounded by a lovely garden this hotel gives excellent service with attentive staff. The rooms are well appointed, spotlessly clean and quiet. Make a point to dine in the restaurant. Silver service and the food is excellent. My compliments to the chef.

Recommend the walk to South gate mall via the canal.

Only one minor irritation - they can be slow to answer the telephone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiji-Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights at this five star hotel which my husband booked for my birthday. A few days before our arrival the hotel e mailed to advise of scaffold work, as a result we were upgraded to a fabulous classic four poster room with views over the gardens. The staff are excellent, very courteous and friendly. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent it really was. Service at breakfast was slow and the quality of the cooked food variable. Well located, a taxi costs around as fiver to the centre if too tired to walk. A very relaxing experience, the sdpa facilities are superb. Well done Bath Spa!

Room Tip: If scaffolding tstill in place ask to be up graded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I came to this hotel for a work trip, and was quite excited about staying in a '5' star spa hotel. After arriving in my bedroom, I went to the bathroom and found that the toilet had not even been flushed - and there was something very unpleasant in there instead.
I rang reception and they sent someone up to clean the bathroom about 30 mins later.

I had a lot of work to do and wanted to get some done in the room but it was almost impossible due to renovations taking place directly outside my bedroom. At one point, there was a man on my balcony for approx 30 mins, showering down the bricks.

I later decided to have a shower in the bathroom. I turned on the shower and there was no hot water available. I rang reception (AGAIN!) and was told they would send someone over to me. When they arrived, they messed around with the shower for a few mins before telling me that it was broken and advised me to go and shower in the spa as the maintenance men had gone home. I advised at this stage that I was very unimpressed with what is marketed as a '5' star hotel. I was told that this would be fed back to the reception, but was not offered an apology.

Really, really disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank claire r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing