We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming and Peaceful”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

One of our favourite hotels charming helpful staff peaceful elegant surroundings, excellent spa and good restaurant. It has excellent grounds and is within easy walking distance to Bath.

As frequent visitors we always look forward to our visits especially as UK residents we don't have to endure the hostility of travelling through Heathrow Airport.

Room Tip: All rooms we have been allocated have been good and provided a peaceful nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overtaxed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,910
    1,223
    671
    314
    153
See reviews for
585
2,718
64
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A big disappointment! The non-active recovery break was not the pampering experience I was looking for. Mini-manicure and pedicure were minimal- nail-filing and painting, nothing more. the mini -facial was fine but too short to be effective and they use Elemis, not Decleor as advertised, which my sensitive skin did not like.
I paid extra for a leg wax -which took all of 15 minutes and I had to pluck stray hairs this morning myself. (The girls are apparently on zero hours so only paid for the work they do- no incentive to spend time with clients!)
The lunch, included in the £130, was nice but I had to specially request dairy-free after my daughter had expressly told them this at the time of booking, and we waited ages for our food;having allowed 1.5 hours and pre-booked it by 12.00.we only just made it to the spa for 2pm.so one of us had to have her pudding later.
I felt this was really a bit of a rip-off- I could have had all the treatments at a local salon for a lot less and would have felt pampered. As it was we made a 1.5. hour car journey and the best bit was sitting in the restaurant garden- not worth the money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantebury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on Monday 21st July to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary. Everything about it was wonderful. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of useful information about the hotel and what to do in Bath. The room was luxury and the restaurant served us the best meal we've ever had, and did not fall into the trap of style over substance, as a lot of high end restaurants seem to do. Our main waitress, Jess, was very lovely and looked after us well.

One thing that I love about the Macdonald hotels - I found this in the Windsor one we stayed in as well as the Bath one - is that, even though it's a chain, it does not lose the personal touch. We got given a free bottle of champagne as an anniversary gift as well as a lovely card written by the managing director. We had a lovely time, even though we only stayed the one night.

Room tip - we stayed in a skyline view room, although at the moment there is scaffolding, so best not to choose a room based on the view until the scaffolding is done :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFinlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwrda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Loved this hotel. Rooms were spacious and clean. Spa treatments good. Nice area to sunbathe. So convenient to walk into Bath (10 mins). Staff very pleasant. Only negative part was speed of service at the bar, and at breakfast. Also price of drinks were astronomical.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

3 night stay
The room was large, clean, opulent but dated (oak panelled bathroom)

Reception staff were friendly & helpful.

The restaurant staff were courteous but snobby (the Maître d' only seemed to be interested in the foreign guests)

Breakfast was ok but disappointing for a top rate hotel & a little slow in coming out.

The 10 minute walk into town is a 20 minute hike back up quite a tough hill & after a day walking around Bath in the heat we ended up paying £5.00 a time for taxis (& we like walking)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton on sea
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel many times, whilst visiting my daughter and I must say they went above and beyond this time, to make sure our stay was perfect. Many thanks to Mohamed, for looking after us so well and to Jeremy on concierge for the extra treats. All the staff are pleasant. We have eaten many times in the hotel, the food has always been good, if not alittle pricey, but you expect that in hotels, plates were hot too. Haven't used the spa yet, so can't comment. My wife and daughter are looking forward to their next visit in September . Once again thank you all for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bvass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I've stayed at the Bath Spa Macdonald hotel twice and both times the experience has been exceptionally good.

The grounds of the hotel are stunning, situated in gardens behind The Holburne Museum. The interiors are best described as traditional - some areas are very well presented (i.e. bar and restaurant) however the rooms are a little old-fashioned and don't reflect the quality of the hotel.

Recently, I booked the hotel for my best friend's hen do and the staff really went above and beyond to ensure we had a wonderful time. It was very impressive and I'll definitely be returning again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Girl_W10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing