We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel - Wish we had stayed longer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Wish we had stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We just returned from trip through western England, and Bath and the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel were the highlights of our trip. The hotel is like a manor house, set on gorgeous grounds. It's just a short walk to the center of Bath, but the hotel feels like a luxurious world apart.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but we checked in, parked the car (very nice parking facilities) and took off on foot to tour the town. When we returned, our bags were set up in a beautiful, spacious room - the nicest of our entire trip. The bath was wonderful too and I was delighted to take a bath in Bath (sorry, couldn't resist...) All was clean and tastefully decorated .

The only downside was dinner in the restaurant. Although the food was good, it took over 45 minutes for our first course to arrive, and another half-hour for the main course. It's a shame that such a wonderful resort should suffer from such poor kitchen service. The wait staff was very apologetic, but the wait spoiled an expensive dinner. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, however.

We only wish we could have stayed longer (and eaten in town!).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,872
    1,200
    653
    307
    149
See reviews for
577
2,657
63
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed at the Bath Spa hotel, and i would recommend to the general public, my room was very clean tidy and well presented. I went into the vellore restaurant and was well greeted and felt welcome, i had the fois gras for starter and i felt it was divine, i also had the lamb rump, with marjon jus i felt that went well together... i will be back in the near future, also will be letting friend & family know about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

My husband and I went there for our wedding anniversary and we thought it was the best hotel! the rooms were outstanding, service, food in hotel stunning!! we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will definatly be going back as soon as we can!
big thanks to Ra, Simone and Carlo who gave us great service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boobrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

I took my husband here as a birthday treat, we are on a tight budget but I thought we deserved abit of a splurge having recently added to our family! Great location, sabout a 5 min nice walk into city centre.
The room was tired and dreary, not the cleanest I have been in. In fact, the travel lodges we usually stay in are usually much nicer! bed was huge and comfy though.
The spa was nice, and the outdoor pool lovely. Staff were, in the main friendly, however, in the spa treatment rooms (which were stunning) staff were not very helpful, we had to ask a few times in the 'relexation room' for water, and never did get any hot for a cuppa after our treatment!
The treatment itself was very poor, It did not last nearly as long as advertised, and the massage itself was really bad for both of us. I wasn't very happy as it was expensive.
The hotel grounds are lovely, the hotel itself beautiful, until you get into the rooms! I cannot comment on the food as it was out of our budget!
All in all a very disappointing waste of money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravels359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Cannot fault anything with this hotel. The building and surrounding gardens are lovely. Our room, which was in a separate building was large, well furnished and very clean. All of the staff were extremely helpful and approachable. The gym, swimming pool and spa were excellent, just wish we had more time to enjoy them. Plan to make more time when we return, which I am pretty sure we will do.
We had continental breakfast which was enjoyable and provided plenty of choice. We did not eat in the restaurant as the hotel was close enough to walk in to the City.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We have paid £320 per night for one of the better rooms and this stay is definitely not worth what we paid (would have been ok at £150 or less)

What was good

+ Location and surroundings. Hotel is set in a wonderful, quiet garden, well maintained. From the outside the building looks imposing and impressive

+ Only 10-15 minute walk from the city centre

+ Good gym with fair amount of space and new equipment

What was bad

- Rather small and dull room - most certainly not what you would expect for £300+ per night

- Poorly run restaurant. We made a reservation for 20:30 (20min prior to that). When we arrived at the restaurant we were told that 'we need to be patient' and 'we are not quite sure when you will have a table'. When we complained the manager said that 'you will have a table in 15min' while we overheard the waiter telling her 'but this will clearly not happen'. We decided not to wait for the outcome and just used the room service

- Restaurant was also completely full the next morning. We had to camp at the alternative location. Buffet was rather low on food and staff was not managing to refill it. The hotel was clearly at full occupancy, however if your restaurant cannot manage to feed your guests at full occupancy you are probably not managing the capacity well enough (i.e. just try to add tables / staff and don't take reservations from the outside)

- Bizarre mini bar arrangements. The mini bar was completely empty. What you had next to it was a menu which offered 'bundles' of beverages / snacks from the room service! That's probably somebody's attempt to earn more money from the mini bar... We just didn't bother but not being able to have a bottle of water straight away when you wanted it was frustrating.

- Antiquated infrastructure. Elevators could soon be a prized asset for some elevator museum.

Overall felt like a hotel that used to be outstanding some time ago but is now poorly managed, overpriced and underinvested in.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svaborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinclubbe, General Manager at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
Dear svaborg
Thank you for your comments. Delivering the highest standards of service for all our guests is at the heart of our core values and I would always welcome your feedback where you feel that this has not been the case.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel grounds and thought the gym was good with fair amount of space and new equipment, which of course is complimentary to our guests and included in the room rate
With regards to your comments concerning your restaurant experience we have taken the following steps to rectify the issue to ensure this does not happen again which include staggering our bookings more to ensure guests who have booked a table do not have to wait and ensure those guests take priority over guests who have not booked in advance
with regards to breakfast we do advise all of our guests that Sunday breakfast' are extremely busy at certain peak times and to allow extra time if they are in a hurry
Our mini bar packages have proved to be extremely poular with our guests as they may preorder the beverages that they prefer to drink rather than have mini bars stocked with beverages that they do not want
It is a great shame that you did not feel it was appropriate to bring your concerns to our attention whilst you were still staying in the hotel as I would have liked to have had the chance of discussing your feedback with you and have the opportunity of rectifying the situation before you departed
Please be reassured that we have taken on board your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon
Kind regards
martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Have just returned from a very short 1 night stay. The Hotel itself is beautiful and we were even upgraded! Cannot speak highly enough of the Staff, they are a credit to the Hotel from the front door staff, reception staff, coffee lounge and bar staff and also the fabulous breakfast and staff!
Included in our deal was a continental breakfast which was more than adequate. Very fresh fruit and good selection, fabulous cereals also so many different pastries And then the ham and cheese table! Amazing but if you did want a full English were surprised to see this was only £6.00 extra. Would definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing