We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pratt's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pratt's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

There was plaster coming off the walls, it was filthy, basic stuff that hot water and a cloth could have fixed. The hotel is very dated and in desperate need of refurbishment, fair enough, but there is no excuse for the dirt. One positive is location - this is excellent.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HarasNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    95
    65
    36
    29
See reviews for
31
116
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for two nights over Easter 2014. The hotel is very conveniently located on South Parade in Bath and is just a short walk from both the railway station and the town's commercial centre. Reception staff were very helpful and were happy to provide us with a map and suggestions for our stay in Bath. We stayed in room 217 at the back of the hotel and although there wasn't much in the way of a view, for a city centre location it was very quiet and we were not disturbed once by noise from outside.

Pratt's hotel is a beautiful Grade 1 listed building and dates from about 1743... which might well have been the last time it was refurbished! At the risk of echoing other reviewers, the stairs, the corridors, the floors in the rooms all creak. Our room was dark and dingy with a decades old dark green patterned wallpaper, peeling in places and the space only lit by some dim antique floral wall lamps. The walls and ceiling sported quite an impressive collection of cracks. The bed had a table at one side only, leaving me to put my things on the rather uneven floor. There was no clock. Whilst it was clean, characterful and reasonably comfortable with such mod cons as a flat screen TV and WiFi to remind us that we were in fact in 2014 and not 1954, it wasn't a room either of us felt we could spend a lot of time in. Most of my wrath is reserved for the temperature, which even on a cool night was uncomfortably hot and made any prospect of a decent nights sleep completely impossible.

Breakfast was adequate but not all the food tasted fresh and we felt might have benefited from a little more selection. I can't comment in value for money terms because my stay was a generous gift, and there are far worse places you could stay. You could look at it as a nostalgic throwback to an age you thought had long gone, but I'm afraid it just felt a bit tired.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked a room in this hotel for a one day trip with my wife to bath. The plan was to spend just one night at the hotel and spend rest of two days moving around the city of Bath. However, even a single night's stay was difficult because of following -
1. The room was very shabby and old and had a tired look.
2. The floor was covered with carpet but was not even.
3. The heater in the room did not work at night. We had to call the reception to get a Electric heater in the room. It seemed like hotel management was aware that heater in the room does not work but they provided heater only after being asked.
4. The bathroom was spacious but apart from this nothing else was good. Commode seat was broken and mixing hot and cold water in the shower was impossible since cold water pressure was almost zero.
Although hotel staff was very nice, since the room was terrible I will not stay in this hotel in my future trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We did stay in this hotel for 5 min! Until we found a different one! I never been so disappointed! Wish to check a trip advisor before we booked it! Room was so dirty and stinky, I can't say much about a service because as I wrote we haven't stayed there for a long time. However they not very friendly, well to be honest I'm not blaming them, if I would have to work in a place like it, I wouldn't be very happy either.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malinowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely old building that could be a really characterful hotel. Instead it is dirty, run down, unkempt, uncared for and obviously unloved by its owners, Forestdale hotels. We stayed in room 315, which had a particularly unpleasant stain on the wall that I had to ask to have removed. That one stain was taken off, but the two adjacent to it were left, which just about sums this place up. The fittings are poor, the fixtures are poor, the cleanliness is poor, and sadly, the staff training is poor. If only the management would spend some money on a deep cleanse ( check the shower cubicle in 315, stained, mouldy and rusty ), get a professional company in to decorate, and train the staff so that customer indifference is upgraded to customer service, then this place could be really lovely. Until that is done, they won't see me again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We paid £116 to stay one night in this very poor hotel.
Very rundown, wallpaper and paint peeling from walls, tear in the bedroom carpet constituted a health and safety hazzard, and the bedside chair was so stained we preferred not to use it. The biggest dimension in our double room was from floor to ceiling!
Furniture was in such a state that you couldn't give it away.
A few days earlier we had stayed at a Cambridge Travel Lodge hotel in a much bigger room with better facilities for less than a third of the price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Perfectly located, although very run down, the towels looked like bath mats, as no bath mat was available they need replacing some of the furniture is discusting , the staff were great though all in all a pleasant stay. Restraints also close by

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleahambleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#16 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pratt's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratt's Hotel

Property: Pratt's Hotel
Address: South Parade, Bath BA2 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pratt's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has been part of the city's heritage since the mid 1700s; a Georgian landmark set in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pratt's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pratts Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing