We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bloomfield House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
175
41
7
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
41
7
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish creamfour poster bedb bbeautiful housecity centrecharming hostsbath experiencenothing too much troublebreakfast was excellentbeautiful city of bathlovely surprisebed was very comfortablebus stopother guestscooked breakfastthird floorguest house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed one night on way back from holiday in Cornwall. We arrived tired after long wet journey and were immediately made to feel at home. It was my daughter's 18 birthday so the owners had very kindly taken receipt of presents from the rest of our family and they were all there waiting for us at breakfast. A lovely surprise. So a wonderful B & B - great food, comfy and beautifully decorated , and charming hosts - you couldn't ask for more. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank travellingfamily2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We arrived on Friday with a crazy dog and crying baby and was made to feel at home the moment our feet crossed the threshold! Karen and her husband couldn't do enough to take away the London stress! The rooms could maybe benefit from a little attention but overall they've kept the feel of the house! Breakfast was set at the best time and they served the freshest local ingredients!! Top marks all round! Will defo go back nxt year!!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgrant41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Reading the previous review from an unhappy and complaining guest, I feel compelled to write as well. We were among the full house of guests that stayed the weekend when the boiler failed and because we followed advice given by Karen & Rob and asked for help, we were not left wanting. The room was period style and beautifully done, and the bed couldn't have been comfier - we both slept magnificently. Admittedly, the water was initially cold to start with, but again, we waited as advised and - lo and behold - steaming water came flowing soon enough. I would love to go and stay again and most hopefully will! Don't be put off by a rogue bad review as this b&b has taken pride of place as one of my favourites...Oh and breakfast was absolutely delicious! Thank you Karen!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug12317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenWeston, Owner at Bloomfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Thank you so much. We were really touched that someone told the rest of the story of that weekend! We know we cannot please all the people all the time, but its good to know that we do please most of the people most of the time and that makes it all worthwhile.
Thank you once again.
Yours
Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Bearing in mind that this is somebody's livelihood, I will pull my punches, bite my tongue and just report the facts.

Positives:
1) Our breakfast was great: quality produce, well cooked, with a good range of options.
2) We had a fantastic bed: it was very large, with high quality linen and a comfy mattress.
3) We enjoyed meeting the resident dog and cats.
4) The room (No. 5) was clean and reasonably large, with a very good-sized bathroom.

Negatives:
1) The room was dark and grubby (not because it wasn't clean but just because the fittings were old and worn)
2) The decor was very dated, particularly in our room but also in the public areas. Definitely not enough style to justify £120 per night.
3) The hot water ran cold after two inches in the bath, so we went home dirty.
4) The room was freezing. The central heating was switched off at 5pm (when I'd have assumed most guests would actually want to use their rooms) and the portable radiator was inadequate and, of course, had no impact at all on the bathroom's chilliness. I had to get into bed to get warm.
5) There is no guest lounge, so we had to end our evening sharing the one chair in our room.
6) Located on an ordinary residential street, with the centre of Bath a good 20 min walk along a busy main road.

£120 and we couldn't have a bath in Bath!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy5329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenWeston, Owner at Bloomfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2011

Hello, we were very hurt by this response. Bloomfield House was full on this weekend and the heating boiler failed (it has now been replaced). We informed all guests of the problem and immediately provided additional electric heaters for every room. We asked all guests to let us know if the intermittent fault occurred, causing a partial loss of hot water and warmth in some rooms. These guests did not inform us of the problems they were suffering until it was too late to help. As regards the decor - many guests like a traditional setting with four poster beds and antique furniture; some prefer modern surroundings - our home is of the former variety: it is impossible to cater for both. As you can see from our reviews, all our other guests were - and almost always are - very happy indeed with the service we provide at Bloomfield House. We would be pleased to provide a free stay for the guests in question - but though the rooms are warm and the water is hot, it is still a historic building with traditional decor!
PS There IS a guest lounge AND a delightful and quiet short-cut into Bath's city centre - just ask : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

A lovely character property with excellent service from the proprietors Karen & Rob. This hotel has years of history behind it and therefore the rooms are not stereotypical, anonymous, upvc windowed boxes. A warm welcome and lovely breakfast, with restaurant recommendations and advice on options for going in to town were kindly provided.

A short easy walk into town, with a more uphill walk back. Bus stops right outside the gates or a 5 minute drive into town.

We thoroughly recommend this hotel and we would definately return in the future if in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAndMrsHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews