We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really warm and friendly welcome - home away from home”
Review of Bloomfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bloomfield House
Ranked #40 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I booked this B&B to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. i was not disappointed. When we arrived we were shown to our room which was large and spacious and extremely comfortable. Our bathroom was across the corridor but this did not cause a problem.
The breakfast was wonderful, home cooked to order and it was just what was needed before a day sightseeing.
The B&B is a family home as well so there are cats and an adorable dog!
This really was home away from home and I loved my stay here.
My partner described as it as 'going back to my mums house' where everything is not too much trouble.
The B5B is a good 30 mins walk into Bath but we got the bus which is chep and about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiyil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here for one night and was very comfortable in my smallish room. Very tiny shower room but adequate for my needs. Only problem was the shower never came through warm! I managed but mentioned this to the daughter in the morning and she apologized profusely. Fantastic breakfast with everything. Very friendly family. Dog and cats around but very welcome from my point of view. I was on my own and rather hoped to speak to other guests. Only found some the next morning when I was about to go. This sounds rather negative though not intended to be. Lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

On arrival the hostess was lovely and so very friendly so I do feel bad writing this but the room wasn't at all what we expected! To say 'tiny' is an understatment. The bathroom shower screen was held together on one corner with an old piece of sticking plaster and the shower handle was cracked with a large piece missing. The whole shower really needs re-grouting just to tidy it up a bit. There was an old 'wet' towel behind the door under the raditor which I think was to soak up any drips coming from it - it had been there a while as smelt a bit. There was a very small area with a curtian around it in the corner of the bedroom which was the wordrobe and worked well due to the lack of space but oh my goodness the top was covered in thick dust. On the plus side, the bed linen was lovely and the bed was very comfy indeed but for the amount of money it was we could have stayed in the Travelodge right in the middle of town at a fraction of the cost. I'm sorry again to write this as it is a lovey house, just needs some urgent tlc. I didn't like to complain when we saw our room as we had a very long jorney and was only staying there one night so didn't think to say anything. We wont be visiting again.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank xxx503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We wanted somewhere nice to stay after planning a visit to the Marilyn Monroe exhibition at the American Museum, and chose Bloomfield House after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were definitely not disappointed, the house is so beautiful, and the welcome we got from Karen and her daughter (and friendly dogs and cats!) was lovely. The room was lovely and clean (I'm very fussy), and the view was amazing from our room. My other half said he had the best nights sleep he'd had in a long time, the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was superb, with a huge array of options, and as much as we could possibly eat. Robert was a brilliant host at breakfast, and couldn't have been more hospitable. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this guest house, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwassiSwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I think that you would actually have to try to find fault with this place or not be willing to ask. The owners are so accommodating and willing to bend over backward for you- they even did our washing for us! The rooms are hardly understated- which I guess is where the faulty towers reference comes from- but you can see that from the photos. It is a distance from the city centre (but there are some nice views of Bath on the way) and it is probably more like 30 minute walk rather than the advertised 20 so if you are not able or willing for this then consider hiring a car (but not from Hertz in Bath whatever you do!) The breakfast is fantastic and the owners so friendly. We would come here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMHubbards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed one night and admittedly weren't the best of customers as we had to change our booking several times before arriving. The owners were great about the changes and couldn't have done more to make our stay enjoyable or the house warm and friendly.

The only slight issue I could think of about our stay was low water pressure in the shower but this is obviously a very minor point.

We were made very welcome and would definitely stay here again if back in bath.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebAndJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We enjoyed our one night at the Bloomfield House. We arrived late, tired and hungry, after driving around lost looking for another B & B which we never found.( Not smart not to have a plan!) Karen and Rob graciously took the wanderers in and sent us a few blocks away to a pub where we arrived just in time to get some supper. We had a great night's sleep. The room was lovely. The breakfast was very nice. We were so glad we found it by accident! We enjoyed the pets.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#32 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
1.1 mi away
White Guest House
White Guest House
#39 of 159 in Bath
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 159 in Bath
556 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chestnuts House
Chestnuts House
#5 of 159 in Bath
957 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 159 in Bath
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield House

Address: Bloomfield House 146 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £44 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, unique, Georgian family house with romantic four poster bedrooms, half testers and a cosy south facing single. We serve mostly organic and fair traded breakfasts until 11.00am. The guest house has a friendly relaxed atmosphere and is situated in a quiet elevated location with about a 20 minute walk down to the city centre. Please note for those with allergies that we have a dog and several cats – reception areas only. We accept pets but like to know that they are coming. We are sorry but Saturday nights are generally only available as part of a two night booking. Our cancellation terms are a full 72 hours notice required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bloomfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing