We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Bloomfield House”
Review of Bloomfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bloomfield House
Ranked #42 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in October 2013. The house is beautiful, it superseded our expectations. And is very fairly priced. The room was stunning, with lovely old worldly furniture. Everything was spotless and very comfortable. It is a short (uphill) walk from the train station/Bath centre, and a taxi costs no more than £6.

We were greeted by Karen upon arrival, she was very friendly and informative, without being over bearing. After a day of activities and an evening out we let ourselves back into the house.

The next morning we had a delicious home-made full English breakfast in the dining room, with a view of their gorgeous garden. And then we we're on our way.

The only small negative is the shower, although it is stunningly presented with lovely complementary products the water power is very weak, and anyone with relatively long hair with struggle to wash it! It is pretty much a treacle. We were only there for one night so this didn't bother us too much, but it is something to consider if staying for a longer period. As the hotel is eco-friendly I think that is something to do with why, so it is for a good reason, but it is something to be aware of.

Also as they are eco-friendly,if you are travelling by public transport let Karen know and she will offer you a small discount.

All in all, I can't wait for the opportunity to go back, and I would recommend Bloomfield House to anyone.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little extra for the four poster bed. But am sure all rooms are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferETravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in Bloomsfield B&B for 2 nights on the upper floor. There is no elevator.
We had a nice room with a nice bathroom, not very big but everything you need was there.
In the direct neightborhood are sufficient pubs to have your dinner.
A walk down to the citycenter takes about 25 minutes, coming up I guess about 1 hour but we took the bus.
Parking is in front of the house.
Breakfast is fantastic. done by the owner of the B&B.
We loved Bath.

The only complain was the price 130 pounds for a night is a lot.
Bath is an expensive city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Everything about our stay in Bath was fantastic : the food, the people, the B&B and off course the beautiful city. The guest house is stunning! It is a beautiful house with all the comfort you could want and the breakfast is excellent (and no early getting up!). But it was our host who was priceless. We brought our English Bulldog with us and she was the first and only host who trusted us and the dog enough to let him alone in the room.
We were doing a tour of the South of England for two weeks and Bath was nearly the end of our trip. Louie was getting really tired by then and he really needed some decent rest instead being dragged around and being constantly petted/photographed everywhere (mind you he loved it at first but even he has its limits). A good long quiet nap in a homely room on his pillow was exactly what he needed so we really appreciated that so much. Off course we do not let Louie sleep on the bed or chew things or misbehave in general. We tought him well since he was a pup.
Bloomfield House brings an extra "vibe" to a stay in Bath, because of its surroundings and thanks to Karens great tips we had nice dinners, no problems with parking our car etc.
We hope to return one day with my parents-in-law. I think they woul love it as much as we do.
PS And Karen: thanks for the good advice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woefsterinthebeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Bath, England is a wonderful town with its rich history and, of course, the Roman bath ruins. However, we found our 2 night stay in Bloomfield House absolutely delightful. First of all, it's a beautiful 18th century home with great 21st century accommodations. The lovely couple that owns and operates this B&B go out of their way to make their guests feel right at home. Creating a delicious breakfast is also a family affair and the food was quite delicious. The grounds are beautiful and we even had a view of Royal Creacent from our bedroom. A great place for your overnight in Bath!

Room Tip: Spend more than one night here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tombiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very friendly family including dog and cats greeted us when we arrived. Karen was extremely helpful. We had a delightful room with a distant view of The Crescent. The beds were very comfortable and everything was very clean. Loads of tea bags and coffee and complimentary biscuits. The house is very unique and a touch theatrical with a strange mixture of Georgian and Roman but very comfortable. The breakfast was an unhurried affair cooked fresh every morning till quite late if you desired. The only down side for us was the distance from Bath town center, we drove in rather than tackle the hill coming back. And the taxis in Bath seem very expensive when we went out in the evening. All the rooms are up two flights of stairs so probably not so good if you're not too fit. But well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you can as some of the rooms I think are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazz1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had just one night at Bloomfield House, would love to have stayed longer! The room was sumptuous in every aspect. The entrance foyer was gorgeous, you felt like you were stepping back in time. Karen provided us with a delicious breakfast in the beautiful dining room with a view over the simple but stately garden. I felt staying at Bloomfield completely enriched our trip to Bath.
Thank you Karen, From Karen and Max

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Promrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenWeston, Owner at Bloomfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you both, I'm so glad you found us. Take care and do give the little one an extra cuddle from me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bloomfield House the night before our wedding annversary and all I can say is that our stay was unforgettable!
The owners very obviously love their home and have clearly put a lot of dedication and hard work into it, filling it with tasteful, attractive antique furniture and lighting so in keeping with the period.
We stayed in room 6. The four poster room was so sweetly and tastefully decorated and the small touches wrought by Karen (the owner) made it all feel very individual and comfortable - so different from the other hotels we have stayed in in Bath, thank goodness, and totally unique. If only we had discovered Bloomfield House sooner!
~ A lovely touch was the Happy Anniversary glass pendant hung on the dressing table on our return to our room at the end of the evening out - so thoughtful.
After a night spent in the most comfortable bed EVER, the personal touches carried through to a marvellous breakfast where we were treated to home-made jams and locally sourced produce - all simply delicious!
We left wishing we could have stayed for the whole weekend but will definitely come back to Bloomfield House for our next anniversary and will stay for longer next time!
This truely is a really beautiful 'escape'. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#32 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
1.1 mi away
White Guest House
White Guest House
#41 of 159 in Bath
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 159 in Bath
556 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chestnuts House
Chestnuts House
#5 of 159 in Bath
957 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#46 of 159 in Bath
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield House

Address: Bloomfield House 146 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £44 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, unique, Georgian family house with romantic four poster bedrooms, half testers and a cosy south facing single. We serve mostly organic and fair traded breakfasts until 11.00am. The guest house has a friendly relaxed atmosphere and is situated in a quiet elevated location with about a 20 minute walk down to the city centre. Please note for those with allergies that we have a dog and several cats – reception areas only. We accept pets but like to know that they are coming. We are sorry but Saturday nights are generally only available as part of a two night booking. Our cancellation terms are a full 72 hours notice required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bloomfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing