We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific B&B in the beautiful city of Bath.”
Review of Bloomfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bloomfield House
Ranked #38 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific B&B in the beautiful city of Bath.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

It was our first night of our first trip to the UK and the Bloomfield House was a great choice to start our trip. We arrived in the early evening having driven in from Gatwick Airport with a few stops along the way in Salisbury and Stonehenge. Karen greeted us with welcoming smile and helped us quickly get settled to catch a quick nap before heading out for later dinner (with her excellent recommendation of The Bear). The rooms are just what you would expect of an English country-side B&B – frilly, quaint and very comfortable. The views from the third floor rooms are fantastic looking down from the hills into Bath city center. Needless to say we slept like stones after our extensive travel from the US the previous day. We ventured down to the dining room for a fantastic breakfast. Our plan was to explore Bath for several hours before moving on to Wales but not before being coaxed into the beautiful landscaped backyard for a quick game of tennis-ball-fetch with their adorable family dog, Tully. Karen suggested we leave the car and walk into town given the great weather. The walk is about 20-25 minutes and all downhill with great views along the way. We ended up staying late into the afternoon, returning to pick up our car, we exchanged hugs with Karen and said our good-bye. We feel very fortunate to have to opportunity to start our UK adventure at Bloomfield House. We left wanting more and anxiously look forward to a longer stay in the future. - The Brennan's, Florida USA

Room Tip: Pick a room on 3rd floor if you want a great view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    40
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
146
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

So relaxing to be able to stay in a beautiful Georgian house that feels homely. The little attentions to detail added the finishing touches. A bus stop out side the door meant we had the choice of walking or being lazy after a meal in town. Thank you for a wonderful few days and I would recommend Bloomfield House as the prefect place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in room six. Dual aspect windows. Bright and not overlooked. Quiet, didn't notice any...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great that some one is trying to be eco friendly. I hate waste and whole heartedly support using a towel more than once.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swettenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our first visit to Bloomfield House and it wont be our last , from the moment we arrived with our 3 pugs we was made so welcome . We was in Bath for the weekend for a wedding which was at the Limpley Stoke hotel , but i was so glad we decided not to stay there but to choose the Bloomfield house . Karen and Rob was the perfect host and could not have done any more to make us feel comfortable . The hotel it self is exquisite the only problem is it has now spoilt us as i will be expecting the same beautiful style , warmth and exceptional host where ever i stay . Thanks again Kren and Rob you truly made a great weekend a fantastic one ....... Alan , Tony and not forgetting the three pugs Percy Henry and Parker

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrison1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I've stayed at Bloomfield house several times as I was on a course in Bath. The reviews here capture all the aspects - style, decor, warmth of welcome, comfortable beds, Eco friendly approach, convenience, peacefulness.... I agree with these and would just highlight how homely it is too. There are a couple of cats and a dog and amazingly lovely young people - all add to the welcome and atmosphere. Definitely worth staying here if there is room!

By the way there isn't a fitness room or swimming pool but trip advisor won't let you unscore it if you hit it by mistake!

Room Tip: I think I've stayed in most of the rooms and they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Bloomfield House while in Bath and couldn't give higher praise.

The rooms are exquisite, the breakfast absolutely delicious, and the house and grounds a beautiful Georgian oasis just outside the city center of Bath.

Karen and Rob are exceptional hosts who made us feel at right at home and we were fortunate enough to meet the rest of the family, who also could not have been more welcoming during our stay.

Their knowledge of the city and surrounding areas is extensive and our experiences in Bath were so augmented by such wonderful hosts, we just can't recommend them enough. We count ourselves very lucky to have spent the time that we had there and hope very much one day to return again !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for 3 nights. The experience was nothing short of amazing!

The building itself is a beautiful house that has been tastefully converted to a B&B. The library and dining room are both amazing rooms. They have very nice furniture in each. The entire property is very well maintained.

The bedrooms themselves are quite nice. We stayed in one of the Four Poster Bedrooms. We felt the room was very nicely furnished and had everything we needed. One area of improvement would be better water pressure in the showers. While there is water pressure, it can be weak when you are trying to wash your hair. The bed was quite comfortable and sizeable and had a nice duvet to keep you warm if you wanted to sleep with the windows open!

The breakfast's cooked daily are delicious and custom to what you want. This includes eggs, sausage, bacon and more. Additionally, there is yogurt, fresh fruit and fresh juices available throughout breakfast. Both Karin and her husband are exceptionally friendly and will give you all the tips you need to enjoy your time in Bath.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffsumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Truly a B&B where you feel like you are staying with a local family and the family treats you like their own visitors! Owner was very helpful in giving us tips on touring Bath. The lounge and dining room area feels really cosy and homely, the room was extremely clean and well-maintained, with amenities just like a big hotel chain - very impressive for a small B&B! We really love the bed too - so comfortable we didn't want to get out of bed!

Room Tip: Room 1 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#35 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hollies
The Hollies
#34 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#27 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marisha's Guest House
Marisha's Guest House
#53 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield House

Property: Bloomfield House
Address: Bloomfield House 146 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, unique, Georgian family house with romantic four poster bedrooms, half testers and a cosy south facing single. We serve mostly organic and fair traded breakfasts until 11.00am. The guest house has a friendly relaxed atmosphere and is situated in a quiet elevated location with about a 20 minute walk down to the city centre. Please note for those with allergies that we have a dog and several cats – reception areas only. We accept pets but like to know that they are coming. We are sorry but Saturday nights are generally only available as part of a two night booking. Our cancellation terms are a full 72 hours notice required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bloomfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing