We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Church and Stained Glass”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bath Abbey

Bath Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.01*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #2 of 155 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Begun in 1499 by Bishop King, this is England's last great medieval church, dissolved in 1539 and now serving as a parish church.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church and Stained Glass”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We visited the abbey while in Bath for the day. We were lucky enough that there was a choir performing that day, which added to the experience greatly! It has some great information panels telling the history of the building, experiences during the world wars and repairs, and other events. Well worth a visit if you enjoy architecture!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,345
    1,611
    276
    30
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
239 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Interesting Entrance On This Church!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

True Medieval style Abbey Church. This Abbey Church has a rich history; however, there is one thing that is quite unique. There was a group that wanted the Bishop to close the church and a group that wanted the group to keep the church open. It was up to the Bishop to make the decision. Just before he was to decide the Bishop had a dream that angels were ascending and descending on ladders from heaven. As a result of the dream the Bishop decided to keep the Abbey Church open and on the entrance to the church he had stone masons depict his dream in stone. I wish the church had been open when we there; however, it was quite late in the afternoon and it was not open for visitors. I would recommend your visit the Abbey Church if for no other reason than just to walk around it and admire the wonderful architecture and to see the angels ascending and descending the ladders on both sides of the entrance to the Abbey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheBoysGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not St James or Westminister, but still a monument to great cathedrals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

While in bath on a tour, we were taken through the Bath Abbey. Beautiful stone work. Historically going back to 675, once Christianity took hold, various churches then cathedrals were built on the site. Through expansion and renovations, you have a great example of Gothic architecture.

Classic stained glass, a modern organ, and a lot of history. Bath played a major role in early British church history, tracing some activities to the Pope in Rome. Even through the Middle Ages, Bath wasn't immune to power struggles from within the church and the royal powers.

Every church we visited large and small had great history. Take the time to take the tours and learn about them since much of the politics and the UK and Europe passed through them.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bath Abbey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is located in the heart of the city of Bath. Although there is no fee to visit, the door through which we had to enter actually led to small room manned by Abbey staff or docents who distributed brochures and where visitors are asked if they would like to donate (suggested donation amounts are posted) before entering the main sanctuary. I have to admit I was a little put off by this set-up. Although I was happy to donate, I would have wanted to do this on my own timing without feeling like I am "put on the spot". Despite this, I agree with Rick Steves' and other reviewers that seeing the inside of this church is worth the donation. The first thing that amazed me were the stunning stained glass windows all around. The architecture and design of the interior were simply fabulous. I wish I had the time to join a tour - I would have loved to learn more about it. Overall, a must-see when visiting Bath.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank surfnshopntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Crown Jewel of Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

A must-see and the best of many great things to visit in Bath. Easily accessable and amazingly, set right in Bath's pedestrian concourse. Try to visit early to miss the crowds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tetrarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bath Abbey also viewed

 

Been to Bath Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing