We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...”

Victoria Art Gallery
Ranked #22 of 156 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: ​The Victoria Art Gallery is the public art museum in Bath. It is run by Bath & North East Somerset Council and houses its collection of paintings, sculpture and decorative arts.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
South West
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great little gallery with a big feel to it. Well worth a visit for the amazing works of art and seasonal exhibitions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Parigio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    99
    28
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Time and space to study”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Not a big gallery but all well laid out and with space and time to study. As others have said, it makes a pleasant break from the sun, crowds or rain. The building itself is worth, the main gallery on the first floor particularly so. The building was paid for by "The Ladies of Bath"(the genteel sort). Staff very knowledgably and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you love art”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful upper gallery and some lovely paintings. My two favorites are 'The bride of death' and 'The Watersplash', a painting of some cute ducks. Recommended!

Helpful?
Thank santakatarina67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Plenty to see and admire”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A pleasant break from walking round the city was found at this gallery. As an enthusiastic amateur artist I found work by Gainsborough, Sickert and other artists very inspiring. I was sorry to have missed the Exhibition by the Bath Society of Artists but perhaps be lucky enough to see it in future years.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rogrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilcompton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful venue for a wedding...”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were the first people to get married here and would highly recommend it as a venue. The staff were so supportive - especially Otto who on the actual day kept me clam as nerves started to get the better of me.
Our guests all said what an amazing place it was to get married and so much more interesting than the usual wedding 'room'.
Thank you to everyone at the Gallery who helped make our wedding so special and memorable. It really is a stunning place to get married.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Siobainn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victoria Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Victoria Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing