We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well kept piece of History”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Roman Baths

The Roman Baths
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.65*
and up
Roman Baths and Bath City Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 155 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Roman Baths is one of the finest historic sites in Northern Europe, and one of the most popular tourist attractions in the UK. Hidden beneath the present city of Bath lies the stone remains of one of the finest religious spas of the ancient world.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Well kept piece of History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The entry fee was good value with a free audio guide. The place was immaculate the ambiance very relaxing. We all listened to the childrens guide which was great fun and we all enjoyed it! We learned a lot too! The baths are amazing just worth coming to see the pools! we enjoyed seeing the water below the ground best! A must do is taste the water at the end of the tour!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMD805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,519
    3,602
    605
    103
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stepping into another time. This museum combines the well preserved remains of the Roman Baths with a very interesting and informative display of items found in the area and the historical and geographic context to understand these baths in.
We went there in the evening. It seemed less crowded than in daytime and the light including torches just gave the place a special and wonderful touch

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NN-CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extremely crowded and not very interesting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Visiting the Roman Baths in July is probably not the best idea, still it seemed a bit silly not going to see them on my visit to Bath. However, I am not sure whether it was really worth going in. The Baths are not that spectacular (if you know other Roman remains of baths elsewhere) and the amount of people in there made watching the museum and reading the texts very difficult. The only really good bit of it is the Sacred Spring. I hadn't expected something of this kind: this extremely hot water simply coming out of the rocks (and having done so for centuries) is fascinating. Still I am not sure a glimpse of the spring was worth the money spent for the entrance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fascinating and awe-inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

What can you say about such a place? It's unique, and the way it has been presented is outstanding. We felt a sense of awe looking round and it was so much more than the bath everyone knows from the picture - particularly enjoyed learning about the temple, too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

If your in the City of Bath, then this is a must, after all its what the City is famous for. Very interesting and amazing what they have managed preserve.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roman Baths also viewed

 

Been to The Roman Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing