We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful service”
Review of Brocks Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brocks Guest House
Ranked #56 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful service”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

What a delightful time we had with "Ian" the innkeeper. The location is perfect, with a lovely little restaurant right next door, which was perfect for two weary travelers who had been on plane and train for last 15 hours. The room we had was lovely, restful to the eyes, decor attractive, and comfortable. The breakfast? the best we had ever had in our travels, starting with wonderfully tasteful coffee. We loved Bath and would definitely return to Brock House next time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are a bit noisy, but the room was simply lovely; we had no problem sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    78
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
58
156
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at Brock's in September, 2013.

The location is very good, only a short walk from the town center and the Roman Baths. Older folks might consider something east or west of the town center. Brock's is north of it and a bit of an uphill walk. It was fine for us.

The guest house itself is nice, nothing fancy, but the charge is reasonable and it is a good value. Like many guest houses in Bath, it is vertical. Our room was on the fourth floor, and there is no elevator. Not a big problem for the bulk of the stay, but it was a bit challenging when we checked in taking the bags up that many floors. If that is a problem for you, just ask for a room on a lower floor.

The breakfast was good, but we found the English Breakfast to be a bit on the small side. On the second and third nights, we ordered omelets and they were fine.

The owners were nice. Not as friendly or forthcoming with information as many that we found on our trip, but I wouldn't classify them as unfriendly by any means.

Overall, it was a good stay, and I would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob33444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brocks H, Assistant Manager at Brocks Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I would like to point out that Brocks Guest House has only 3 floors and as it is a World Heritage Listed building, we are prohibited by law to install an elevator. However, we are always more than happy to help guests carry their luggage to their room.

We are sorry to hear that you felt the English Breakfast was a little on the small side. Had we have known, we certainly would of rectified this and cooked you extra as we want all of our guests to start their day feeling well fed. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the omelettes.

Lastly, we are disappointed that you felt we were not as friendly and forth-coming with information as you would of liked. We expect people to treat Brocks as their home. We encourage all of our guests to ask questions and we so enjoy discussing the history of Bath and Brocks. We know how bewildering it can be visiting a new place and not knowing what to do or where to eat and that is why upon arrival, we always make suggestions and offer to make reservations for our guests.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The best thing about this B'n B is it's great location and that they offer a parking permit to park for free if you are able to find street parking, which was the case for us! We noted that parking nearby is pay parking and is time restricted Monday to Saturday to about 7.00pm (Sunday looked frees itch no restrictions that I could see).

Generally it looks like it is difficult to find parking in Bath, however there are a number of pay parking lots around. From our observation, particularly if there are more than one of you, then it might be better for one of you to drop off your bags at the B'B rather than lug them from a parking lot. Brock's also provides a map of parking locations in bath in context to their location.

Our room was on the third floor and was small but spotless. The soft colors of the furnishings were very pretty and soothing. The young friendly lady who greeted us on arrival in the late afternoon lugged my bag up to the 3rd floor, all 20kg 's of it....WOW very impressive!

We were not able to access the free wifi in our room but had no trouble accessing it from the comfy lounge room.

Room Tip: Due to the cost of parking in Bath the free parking permit is worthwhile if you are able to secure s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldreamer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nouic, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Karen and Rachel are the best hosts anyone could hope to meet. They had a great deal to put up with during our stay which created a lot of coming and going to-ing and fro-ing in preparation for the wedding. They helped to make it a perfect weekend and a perfect day for all of the wedding party that were staying there. Brocks Guest House is immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. The brides room was exquisite with a huge ornate mirror. The breakfasts are delicious. The location in the centre of Bath and close to the Bath Assembly rooms is ideal. I have not one bad word to say about this guest house and the hosts who were super helpful and friendly without ever being intrusive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brocks H, Assistant Manager at Brocks Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy that we could make Gemma and Steve's wedding preparations so memorable and enjoyable. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The owners and staff bent over backwards to make our wedding party stay a truely wonderful occasion. They really cared about us, and nothing was to much trouble for them. I would definately stay here again.
If you read this, and are planning a wedding in Bath Spa your guests won't find a better place to stay than Brocks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonlthlny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We came to stay for the weekend for my Step-Daughters wedding. Not only did we feel at home, we were treated like family. If there was a perfect guest house this is surely it, nothing was too much trouble, even down to lending some 'fake tanning' lotion. The venue for the bride to prepare for her day was exquisite, red carpet outside, bucks fizz, and a huge mirror, all the essentials! We had extra people dropping in to help, (and hinder), but Karen , Rachel and all their staff just, carried on being there if we needed them, or invisible when not. Thank you so much for making our time so relaxing, and Gemma's day so perfect. Sue S.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Brocks is an absolute gem and we are unable to fault any aspect of our stay. We had a very warm welcome from Karen at the end of a very long days walking and were immediately given bottles of chilled water to revive us. The rooms were pristine and breakfast excellent and the icing on the cake was the parking pass which allowed us to have the car immediately opposite the property.
Would definitely recommend Brocks to anyone visiting Bath as in addition to all of the above it is in a really central location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#49 of 157 in Bath
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 157 in Bath
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#32 of 157 in Bath
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Halcyon Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#22 of 157 in Bath
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brocks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brocks Guest House

Property: Brocks Guest House
Address: 32 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brocks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Georgian home was built by John Wood the younger in 1765, and is ideally situated in the loveliest part of Bath between the Circus and Royal Crescent. We aim to offer you comfort and personal attention. We will gladly help you plan your stay in Bath, giving guidance with visits, tours and routes. Our rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable with all the expected amenities of a 4 gold star guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Brocks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocks Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing