We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 50th Birthday Suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brocks Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brocks Guest House
Ranked #55 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A 50th Birthday Suprise”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had a lovely 2 night break as a Birthday surprise from my wife . The house is in great location with a short walk to the city centre . Breakfast was very good with plenty of toast and tea . Pleasant , relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    75
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
152
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Brocks Guest House is in a good location within walking distance to most know places of interest.
The house itself is nice but our stay was sadly let down by the overall poor standard of accommodation. The whole place is getting a little tatty and needs cleaning and updating.
The shower in our room was poor, the water only coming out at a trickle, the towels were old and thin, the bed covers were dated, our breakfast was poor, burnt bacon and sausages, WiFi was not working.
The most disappointing thing was the poor service. With the previous proprietors having left the day before we arrived we had two separate couples looking after the place. (Unable to fix WiFi and replace towels)

For the money paid Brocks is poor value for money.

I hope Brocks Guest House will be able to sort out the various issues mentioned, until then I'm unable to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Brocks Guest House is wonderful. Warm and welcoming and in a perfect location. Our room was immaculate and the breakfast was very very good. Myself and my small daughter (who didn't want to go home) will be returning again during the next school holiday. Teddy was particularly pleased in having a seat of his own at the breakfast table. Thank you to everyone for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here over the Easter break and really pleased we did! What a great place and in such a great location. From the moment we arrived we enjoyed it immensely. The staff were so friendly and the service was exceptional. Great breakfast menu, the guest house is clean, light and comfortable. You can get to all the places to visit, and the restaurants and bars in a matter of a few minutes. We met others who had stayed there year after year. We will certainly return. There is so much to see and enjoy in Bath and this is a great place to do it from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've been to Bath so many times but this time my and my boyfriend decided to stay for a night. Have no regret that we chose to stay at Brocks Guest House. This place gave us the best experience in Bath. The location is wonderful, close with everything you want and everywhere you wanna go. The service is fantastic, the staff took a good care of us with pleasure and smile. The room is also lovely and comfy! Feels like I was actually at home :) Overall, I would definitely go back there again. This place is highly recommended and value for your money!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last weekend with my Mum.

The location is perfect for exploring Bath.
On arrival we were met by a very friendly lady who made us feel welcome.

Our room (1) was nicely decorated and had a very generous tea tray!

Nice sized bathroom.

Beds were a little soft with feather pillows that caused my nose havoc but all in all a lovely room.

Down side was that after a days shopping we came home shattered to watch tv in bed but couldn't get it to work, even with the instructions given (I don't go away to watch tv i know but this one particular night we wanted to kick back and relax!) After 8pm there was no one around to help and just an emergency number to ring which I sent a text to with no response. Think this could be improved.

Breakfast was lovely. Good selection to choose from that you make the evening before.

All in all a lovely place to stay-maybe a little steep on price but it seems that is the case with Bath! Great city though!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HollyBoo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

As commented on by numerous other travelers, this guesthouse is in the perfect location, easy walk to everything we wanted to see. I stayed here with my wife for her birthday and we were not disappointed. The room was very clean and spacious, couldn't ask for anything else. Karen was extremely welcoming and friendly throughout our stay and was the perfect host. Breakfast was good, could not fault it, service was exceptional, again very friendly and genuine. At first it seemed a bit expensive but I would happily pay that price again for the location and the friendliness of the hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sekurugeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.4 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 160 in Bath
1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#45 of 160 in Bath
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#28 of 160 in Bath
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 160 in Bath
1,771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brocks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brocks Guest House

Property: Brocks Guest House
Address: 32 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brocks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Georgian home was built by John Wood the younger in 1765, and is ideally situated in the loveliest part of Bath between the Circus and Royal Crescent. We aim to offer you comfort and personal attention. We will gladly help you plan your stay in Bath, giving guidance with visits, tours and routes. Our rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable with all the expected amenities of a 4 gold star guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Brocks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocks Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing