We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could live there....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brocks Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brocks Guest House
Ranked #55 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish I could live there....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My son spent a semester studying in Bath, and I was fortunate enough to visit him and the lovely city of Bath in December 2012. Brocks Guest House was one of the highlights of the trip. The accommodations were clean and lovely, the atmosphere was charming, and the breakfasts were delicious. A place not to be missed.

Room Tip: I don't think you would be disappointed with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenwilwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    75
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
152
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed last week at Brocks Guest House for a few days. The location is great by The Circus and The Royal Crescent. We easily walked down to the Theatre Royal and had a very enjoyable meal in a restuarant next to the Theatre. We have a lovely room - Room 3 which was light and airy and overlooking Brock Street. It is tastly furnished and very clean with sufficient toileteries and also refreshments in the room. We had a full English breakfast each morning which was very filling and kept us going all day. We especially enjoyed the bacon and sausages which were very tastey. Our hosts were charming and they ensured that all our needs were met.
Would we return again to Brocks Street - a big fat yes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This Guest House has a lot of promise and potential which I expected from the previous reviews on here. However, a new couple have just taken over and it seems standards have slipped. It is poor value for money. When we arrived later than 6pm they were not overally happy instantly told us to give them a good review and pay the bill before we had even put our bags down! Beware of the breakfast that is not what is advertised on the website! (due to change of owners). The breakfast on each morning was slow, cold and of a very poor standard (eggs not cooked properly and rubbery pancakes which were not homemade as they stated on the website. We also waited over half an hour for our breakfast which we were told we had to pre-order and pre order the time of the previous day. The managers and staff speak poor English so you don't get much of a warm welcome or interaction at breakfast times etc. When I stayed cleaning products were left laying around in the rooms which was poor attention to detail. I was expected a welcoming atmosphere and hosts who could talk to us at breakfast about the area of Bath which we didn't get. I think they are trading on the previous good name at present and also relying on people looking at past reviews.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
149 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Brocks is just as elegant and posh as the rest of Bath. Its historic building reflects the Austen-like charm you'd expect in Bath. And the interior doesn't disapoint. Cozy sitting chairs, bathtubs, deep sofas in the lounge and Edwardian furniture in the breakfast room contribute to the ambiance. Breakfast was plentiful and done well. The caretakers are helpful, though not native English speakers. Be aware that the stairs to the rooms are long and steep. The location is great -- central enough to get anywhere you want in Bath yet not on a busy, noisy street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our stay at Brocks Guest House was great. The position of the House is between the Circus and The Royal Crescent - it was great to walk to the local restaurants and take in the sights.
Breakfast was very good and tasty. The host could not do enough for us and was very accommodating. I will certainly be recommending this establishment to my friends and family
Thank you Brocks Guest House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Incredibly located, with an excellent service and warm welcome, staff always able to help and talk. Our time at the hotel was nicer than we expected, the price was reasonable, the room was spotless, organice and immaculate clean. The breakfast was delicious, although I recommend more staff for the breakfast. we are definitelly going to comeback and recommend this incredible place.

Room Tip: lower room would be better as it has staircase and no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmirandax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Room was clean and quiet. Service was not what we have come to expect at bed and breakfast establishments. No interaction with hosts who spoke very poor English. They were always friendly enough but not up on how to interact with guests. When we arrived after having walked with our bags from the train station, they opened the door and their first words were not even hello, but, we need to know what you want for breakfast tomorrow, and we need to settle your bill in advance of going to your room. Later when I needed to use their phone for a local call, the young man was not able to tell me what numbers I had to dial for a local call.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.4 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#43 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brocks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brocks Guest House

Property: Brocks Guest House
Address: 32 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brocks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Georgian home was built by John Wood the younger in 1765, and is ideally situated in the loveliest part of Bath between the Circus and Royal Crescent. We aim to offer you comfort and personal attention. We will gladly help you plan your stay in Bath, giving guidance with visits, tours and routes. Our rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable with all the expected amenities of a 4 gold star guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Brocks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocks Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing